RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2009, 03:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 118
Cable TV operation

We have a 2008 sightseer with Jensen TV and radio/cd/dvd player. Can't get the TV to pick up the cable input. This had worked in fall on our shake down cruise. Have checked the cable signal to the motor home and checked the cable to the back of TV and all is good. There is only one RF cable into the back of the TV so, some where there must be a coupler that connects the cable and the antenna to one port. On this set up, you select cable or antenna via TV remote. On the cable input it picks up a weak antenna signal. Any ideas on what problem might be?
__________________

sightseers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-29-2009, 07:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tomsm's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,015
From your post, I would guess you don't have a video selector box. If that's the case, you need to find the switch plate that controls power to the antenna amp. It's probably in one of the front overhead cabinets. Switch off the power to the antenna amp and it should switch over to cable input.
__________________

__________________
Tom
'04 Journey 36G - Cat C7
'04 Honda CR-V
tomsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 07:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Roving, Datastorm users 3192
Posts: 755
That switch is most likely on the other end of the antenna cable that hooks to the main TV. As Tom said, it not only turns the rooftop antenna amplifier on and off, causing most folks to call it the amplifer (it's not, it's the power supply is all) but it also switches between park and cable

You also need to re-set your TV to cable.. Shortly this last step will no longer be needed.. but till June you still have to do it
__________________
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business.
2005 Damon Intruder 377W Radio Active as WA8YXM
John-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 11:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ustamiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 100
On our 2006 Sightseer, we had the same problem. Our dealer installed a switch box, on a charge basis, of course, and that solved it. I didn't know switching the antenna amplifier (power supply) would do the same thing until I read this thread.
__________________
2015 Forest River Forester 2501 TS
2013 Honda CRV
Long haired Doxies - Penny & Lucy
Ustamiata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
emmmw's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomsm View Post
From your post, I would guess you don't have a video selector box. If that's the case, you need to find the switch plate that controls power to the antenna amp. It's probably in one of the front overhead cabinets. Switch off the power to the antenna amp and it should switch over to cable input.
The switchplate in our Sunova (Sightseer twin) is located over the passenger seat close to the windshield. It is a very small button beside a 12v (cigarette lighter-type) plug. Had the same problem once and after pushing the button the cable worked. Good luck and let us know if it doesn't work. Eric
emmmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety Cable Ratings - I'm confused Brian_R1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 12 02-09-2009 03:05 PM
Unused Component Video Cable Gordon MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 12-21-2007 09:56 AM
Bad Cable Connection Riverdog Travel Trailer Discussion 5 10-24-2007 02:37 PM
cable tv set up troth Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 10-04-2006 12:15 PM
How to hook up cable on 1997 Brave 29RQ? peppermintpj1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 02-18-2006 04:00 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.