Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2017, 07:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
rescue1042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 10
Change over to 50 amp

well today and last night i changed my winnie over from 30 amp to 50 amp
all i can say is running the 6/4 wire was a little bit of a bugger lol, but all in all turned out pretty good
__________________

__________________
rescue1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-17-2017, 08:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10,780
6 wire ?

50 amp 240 volt service is 4 wire. L1, L2, N, and G.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 08:21 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
rescue1042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 10
My bad ya 6/4 lol
__________________
rescue1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 10:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
iamblum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 425
Gonna do the same on mine. If only I could find an electrician to do it🤔. Did you change your panel out or anything else?
__________________
iamblum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 10:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
F4Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Grapevine, Tx
Posts: 1,047
What's involved with this and what does it cost?
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS W20
ReadyBrute Elite towing an '07 CRV
F4Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 11:39 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Gary from SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 11
I converted mine this spring. I was lucky that my automatic transfer switch and my breaker panel was 30 or 50 amp, all I had to do was remove a jumper on breaker panel, replace the 10ga wires with 6ga wires, replace the 30a power cord with a 50a, and a couple of breakers. Cost was about $200. unless you are comfortable working with electrical wiring, I would get a qualified electrician to do it.

There was a great web site (bobhatch.com) that had great detailed info and pictures on this, but the info is no longer there. I may have a few pictures that I printed around here somewhere, I'll have to check.
__________________
Gary from SC
2000 Winnebago Adventurer 32v
2011 Honda Fit - Acme Eze-Tow Dolly
Gary from SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 12:18 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
rescue1042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 10
Ya just waiting on my breakers coming today I used the 0ld 30 amp running between breaker box and ATS to run to the number 2 compressor so e anything worked out pretty good
__________________
rescue1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 02:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by rescue1042 View Post
well today and last night i changed my winnie over from 30 amp to 50 amp
all i can say is running the 6/4 wire was a little bit of a bugger lol, but all in all turned out pretty good
Do you have a schematic of this change ,,I would love to change mine over.. I understand the procedure and I have no problem with electrical changes and issues..so I feel comfortable doing this. tks Terry
__________________
2002 adventurer,, live in Milton Fl .2013 Honda Crosstour toad .. 18 grand children 3 grt grand children
tboss619 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 05:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
AKIQPilot's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska in Summer Snow Birds in Winter
Posts: 435
A little off subject but this may be a good place to ask.

The 4 prong 50amp plug like I have on my Adventurer is 50amps at 240 volts, Right. It has two 120 legs that can carry 50amps each for a total of 12000 watts of capacity?

If I use the adapter that converts to the 3 prong 30amp plug to connect to a pedestal what am I getting to the motorhome? Is it still two legs of 120 volts but at only 30 Amps? I know I lose the ground. Does the Power Line EMS know that it's only being fed 30 Amps because it no longer detects the ground? Does the EMS then determine what loads need to be shed to assure safe operation? This system is very reliable?

And finally, if I use the adapter to convert down to a regular 15/20amp 120v plug, does the EMS detect it's only getting 1 leg of 120v? The EMS knows to load shed? It won't allow you to start something like the air conditioner or the electric heater which would overload the circuits?

Thanks in advance for helping me understand the electrical power systems on my motorhome.
__________________
Tom and Sherry W.
06 Winnebago Adventurer 38J Workhorse W24 Lots of motor and suspension mods in the works
02 Itasca Suncruiser 35U. Workhorse W22 w/Safe-T-Plus, Koni FSDs, UltraTrac, etc, etc.
AKIQPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 05:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 3,213
only a single 'leg' at only 30 amps max, 70 amps less than '50amp' service(which is really 100amps!)

do you have a 'shedding' electricity management system? most don't, except higher end diesel pushers. and YES, you can certainly start to trip the Shore Breaker on a 30amp pedestal/shore power if you are using MORE than the 30amps. It's up to you to manage your usage, but even on 50a(100amps) service, it's still 'possible' to trip the shore Breaker, just not as likely.

the same on a 15a/20a outlet, with your adapters... you only have usage of up to that amount of amps before you might trip the breaker.

fun ain't it!
__________________
The Turners 2014 Thor Palazzo DP 33.3 35'

'14 FordFocus, KingTailgater2, 200w/10a mobile SOLAR, AT&T UnlimitedPlus, 49 US states, ALASKA, and most of Canada...80,000 miles
MisterT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 05:37 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10,780
Here is a Xray of the 30 to 50 amp adaptor. You don't lose a ground, you lose a hot leg.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30-50ampDogbone.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	186331  
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 06:54 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
AKIQPilot's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska in Summer Snow Birds in Winter
Posts: 435
It looks like this. I thought it was load shedding but maybe thats not the correct term.


__________________
Tom and Sherry W.
06 Winnebago Adventurer 38J Workhorse W24 Lots of motor and suspension mods in the works
02 Itasca Suncruiser 35U. Workhorse W22 w/Safe-T-Plus, Koni FSDs, UltraTrac, etc, etc.
AKIQPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 07:12 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
AKIQPilot's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska in Summer Snow Birds in Winter
Posts: 435
OK so bear with me please.

The 30A plug is 1 leg of 120v at 30 amps. The other two positions in the plug are neutral and ground. It's only a little more capable than the regular old 120v 15/20a adapter plugged into a conventional wall socket?

My confusion is this. The Itasca I have has a 30A cord with plug connected to what appears to be a 30/50 Auto Transfer Switch. The Adventurer (that I have only seen for a little more than a week since buying it) has what appears to be the same ATS. The Adventurer is definitely wired with a 50a 240v plug. Both Generators are the exact same. The only major electrical difference is that the Adventurer has a convection oven instead of gas. I assume this is the reason for the 50a 240v configuration.

On the Itasca, will it run both air conditioners when plugged into a 30a plug? Or maybe only with the generator running?

I'm sure these seem to be crazy questions to come from someone who has owned the Itasca for nearly 12 years but we hardly ever need the AC so I don't know if both AC units actually work when plugged into 30A shore power.

PS. Nothing in either coach actually operates on 240v correct?
__________________
Tom and Sherry W.
06 Winnebago Adventurer 38J Workhorse W24 Lots of motor and suspension mods in the works
02 Itasca Suncruiser 35U. Workhorse W22 w/Safe-T-Plus, Koni FSDs, UltraTrac, etc, etc.
AKIQPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 07:38 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10,780
Yes, the 30 amp plug is just a bigger 15/20 amp 120 volt plug.

You dont say what generator you have but my 5500 watt has 2 outputs. One is 30 amp and the other is 15/20 amp ( don't recall which ).

My MH only uses the 30 amp output. It only has 1 AC.
If yours uses both, one for the standard 30 amp system and 1 for the second AC, it would need a 2 line transfer switch. They probably use a 50 ATS because they are a standard item.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allison 3000 fluid change - amounts differ from change to change mhercus Allison Transmission Forum 7 06-04-2015 07:04 PM
MH & Trailer Over - Length & Weights BigOldBear MH-General Discussions & Problems 21 05-15-2015 03:25 PM
To over drive or not to over drive? homeless Vintage RV's 14 04-25-2012 11:59 PM
When is over weight really over weight melon Toy Haulers Discussion 24 01-11-2007 06:35 PM
I want to change out my 30 amp service for a 50 amp NCTarheel 5th Wheel Discussion 10 07-19-2006 08:58 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.