Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2008, 11:05 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Gary the Wombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lake Berryessa, CA
Posts: 517
If I install a digital converter before each tv, what do I have to do (if anything) when watching a satellite signal (besides obviously switching the source at the dist. center)? Do I need to turn off the converter box, or does it automatically pass through the (already) digital signal?

Stop laughing--I'm not a techie.
__________________

__________________
2007 Winnebago 26P

Jeep Wrangler
Gary the Wombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-13-2008, 11:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Gary the Wombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lake Berryessa, CA
Posts: 517
If I install a digital converter before each tv, what do I have to do (if anything) when watching a satellite signal (besides obviously switching the source at the dist. center)? Do I need to turn off the converter box, or does it automatically pass through the (already) digital signal?

Stop laughing--I'm not a techie.
__________________

__________________
2007 Winnebago 26P

Jeep Wrangler
Gary the Wombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 11:51 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
porscheracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Back at the stix'n'brix - East End, AR.
Posts: 553
The signal sent to your TV from a satellite receiver is analog, not digital. If you get a convverter with analog pass-through, you should be OK.

I don't know how your rig is wired, but I suspect you have a centrally located selector panel. If you do, there is only one cable to the TV from it. You could install a pass through converter for each TV at the selector panel. Alternatively, you could run a separate cable for each TV.
__________________
Norm & Janet

FMCA; WIT; FCOA; Good Sam; Passport
porscheracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:07 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Not all converter boxes have the analog pass through feature. If it does not have this capability, you will need to use a switch box.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 11:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
SCVJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Clarita, CA.
Posts: 2,373
What Ken said..
The current favorite (we collect them at work) is the Digital Stream that is carried by Radio Shack.
It's analog pass-thru, has a nice menu, and allows you to "update" the channel list everywhere you go, and will not erase anything previous.
__________________
_______________________________

Jeff - WA6EQU
'06 Itasca Meridian 34H, CAT C7/350
SCVJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy which converter boxes? Bill Barclay Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 10-22-2008 08:33 AM
How are you mounting your TV converter boxes? Help! fun time Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 23 09-03-2008 04:05 PM
TV Digital Converter Boxes ChiefJohn Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 01-08-2008 08:17 AM
television converter boxes redcow Excel Owner's Forum 7 01-05-2008 01:02 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.