Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2011, 02:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newton Iowa
Posts: 15
Help for AC or Thermostat bypass

We have recently just purchased An 2000 Adventurer and are planning to use it for the first time this weekend. When we bought it in mid May the AC was demo'd for us. This weekend I plugged it in to clean and load it up for the next weeks first outing. I turned the thermostat to cool and set the temp to 70. The fans kicked on and the amp meter only went up to 4 amps. I left it on for 20 min's and still no compressor tried to kick in. I have been reading other post on this great web site and still have not been able to get the Thermostat to ask the compressors to kick on. I pulled the panel off the side and the capacitors look good. I tried it off shore power with the genset, still nothing. This morning I tried to turn on the heat and for a brief second I saw the 14 amp pull but then it went away and I have not been able to have the heat work either. The breakers do not pop and I reset them anyways. I have not heard any clicks by the thermostat and wonder if the 1200 mile trip home caused it to fail? The people I bought it from said it would freeze you out.

Can I bypass the t-stat and manually kick on the units to verify operation? Any other Idea's.

Thank you
__________________

__________________
2000 Adventurer 35B
sanger351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-20-2011, 03:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,591
Are you plugged into 30 amps or 50 amps. and what is the measured voltage coming into the coach.
__________________

__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 03:47 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newton Iowa
Posts: 15
I am plugged into the side of my house on a 20 amp. I have a reading of 119.8 V.
__________________
2000 Adventurer 35B
sanger351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 04:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16,744
If you have an Energy Management System it may be "Throttling" your power use, (It would sense that as 30 amps, but if the water heater is on.. It might be limiting. Should let you use one A/C though, just one)

Note: 20 is the MINIMUM power for one ac, no water heater, no microwave, just one A/C.

The other thing is what is the temp inside the coach? I mean if it's 72, 70 may not kick it in.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 04:45 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newton Iowa
Posts: 15
Nothing else is on. Was planning to shut breaker to #2 compressor when I get it started. I have the power manager set to 20 amps. Microwave will run, and so will the other acc. I unplug and run on the genset and still no ac or heat. It is about 87 here right now.

Can I jump one of the relays by the unit to bypass the thermostat?

Thank you so far for the help
__________________
2000 Adventurer 35B
sanger351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:35 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 16,762
Blog Entries: 21
Also turn off or unplug the power converter and make double sure tha frig and water heater are not on electric mode.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Miniature Schnauzer, one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:59 PM   #7
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,265
If you have the basement a/c and the Coleman-Mack t-stat the slide switches that slide from cool to off to electric heat, etc sometimes get internally corroded. My original t-stat would do that occasionally. Sliding that switch back and forth a few times would apparently defeat the corrosion.
I think someone also suggested that the EMS may be disabling power to the A/C compresors. Check that.
To answer your question "Can I jump one of the relays by the unit to bypass the thermostat?"..........A better way would be to check the pins on the pcb for the #1 compressor.......they're labeled. The #1 relay is in the top right corner of the electrical panel at the unit.
#1 has to run before #2 can come online so you can turn the #2 breaker off while on 20 amp with no regard for the unit running.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:37 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newton Iowa
Posts: 15
After staring at the wiring diagram I see that the Green LED on the control board is not lit up. I do not have 12v to the yellow wire going to number 1 relay. How does the board get it's 12v power? So that I can check that.

Thank you everyone
__________________
2000 Adventurer 35B
sanger351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:46 PM   #9
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanger351 View Post
After staring at the wiring diagram I see that the Green LED on the control board is not lit up. I do not have 12v to the yellow wire going to number 1 relay. How does the board get it's 12v power? So that I can check that.

Thank you everyone
I believe it goes to the board via the t-stat.

Did you try the slide switch movements I suggested?
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:58 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newton Iowa
Posts: 15
Yes, I have moved them all several times. I will slide them some more.
__________________
2000 Adventurer 35B
sanger351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 08:03 PM   #11
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,265
This is from an OLD memory.......there are two molex type plugs that go into the back of the t-stat. one will have 3 wires. That is the power in & out connector. Red with white tracer is 12v +, white is 12v- and the blue wire is the switched 12v+. NO guarantees on this but I think I'm correct.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 08:09 PM   #12
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,265
The links below may be of help to you.

Airxcel | RV Products Tech Info

http://www.rvcomfort.com/pdf_documen...6437_copy3.pdf
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 08:07 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Harvey, LA
Posts: 926
My troubleshooting chart says if the green light is off, and indoor fans runs, check indoor coil thermister, by jumpering it.
__________________
Dan & Sharon & Kasey (Our Yorkie Puppy (9 Yrs Old)) Campbellsville, KY (Amazon CamperForce)
2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty
Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 12:31 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newton Iowa
Posts: 15
Where did you get a trouble shooting chart?

I'll give that a try in a bit.
__________________

__________________
2000 Adventurer 35B
sanger351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bypass Filter System lonestarace Cummins Engines 18 05-10-2011 12:55 PM
Coleman Thermostat Issue Gadget Man RV Systems & Appliances 2 04-30-2011 03:24 AM
A/C Heater Thermostat HR Endeavor Bill2 Monaco Owner's Forum 1 03-10-2011 12:09 PM
Heat/AC Thermostat Thermometer Reads 00 pgeddes RV Systems & Appliances 2 04-25-2010 05:34 AM
RVP (Winnebago) thermostat interface with Onan EC30 rnabors Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-23-2007 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.