RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2017, 08:16 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Heating man's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary CA View Post
I had that same setup with my Meridian. Could possibly be in need of a Freon check after 10 years, A/C tune up.
Refrigerant levels cannot be checked on these units there are no connections for gauges. These systems have sealed systems that should not need refrigerant added.
__________________

__________________
2004 Itasca Horizon 40AD caterpillar C7 engine 350 HP with 2016 Smart car toad
Heating man is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-23-2017, 08:19 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Heating man's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 266
I have had 2 of these basement A/ C I like them but those thermostats are crap Those slide switches sometimes don't make contact. I have had to slide them back and forth to get them to make contact.
__________________

__________________
2004 Itasca Horizon 40AD caterpillar C7 engine 350 HP with 2016 Smart car toad
Heating man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 08:13 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seminole, Florida
Posts: 8
Would being low on Freon cause me to have no power to the thermostat ?
Sagael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 08:17 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
bdickson's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wherever the rig is parked
Posts: 8,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagael View Post
Would being low on Freon cause me to have no power to the thermostat ?
No.
__________________
Bruce Dickson 2013 Thor Challenger 37GT, 5 Star Tune, Safe-T-Plus Steering Control with Air Trim, Roadmaster front and rear Sway Bars, SuperSteer rear Track Bar, Crossfires, 2018 Honda CRV . Full timers since Jan 2012.
bdickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 08:29 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seminole, Florida
Posts: 8
Well I don't know if this is coincidence or not but underneath the fridge there are some 12v pop out type fuses. There is one marked Front Furnace/EHX Fan. I wiggled this and it fired up and is running like normal again. I'm not sure what that fuse is actually for. It wasn't popped but a wiggle seemed to do it. Is that anything to do with the AC?
Sagael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 02:06 PM   #20
Senior Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: behind the steering wheel
Posts: 1,614
i have worked on the basement airs since winnebago started installing them many years ago.
the major problem they have had are the switches on the thermostat and corrosion on the circuit boards. i still find problems with the thermostats, but none with the circuit boards anymore.
i have never had to add freon to a basement air. the only time i have ever had to add freon is when a roof air had a line break because of vibration on a line left unsecured. and replacing compressors. you have to add a shrader valve for that repair. thats not to say that there havent been some who had a problem, just in over 30 years, i had three repairs on roof airs with cracked lines.
my major complaint has been the thermostats. the slide switches are not the best.
a little electronic parts cleaner will help. remember, just a little.
yearly checks involve cleaning the outside coils,
and keep a clean filter inside.
__________________

azpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×