Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-21-2012, 08:43 PM   #1

Question No juice when plugged in -- ideas?

I am new to all of these things and hope some of you can give me a quick course in RV intelligence.

I have an 88 Chieftain 27 footer. I need help with understanding the electrical system.

Here's what's happening that I don't understand:

* With batteries in place I can run the 12 volt. Got that figured out. LOL Of course, the batteries drain in no time. Sob.

* So I plug into an electrical outlet. Now I can use everything. But, not so fast...... the batteries drain in no time. Sob again.

* When I am plugged into an electrical outlet and the batteries are dead I can't use the control panel that shows holding tank levels, clock, and all of that stuff. The water pump doesn't work, either.

* Just in case it was the switch (ignorance here... I call it the "choose whether or not to add extra battery to start switch), I placed it in all different positions to check whether or not the batteries would drain. They drained in all positions.

* I got new batteries in case the old ones were on their last legs and just couldn't take a charge but that didn't help.

* The converter is putting out 12vdc.