RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2019, 03:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
No land line power

We have a 2018 Winnebago Fuse that we have had plugged into our friends 110 outlet while we visit in San Antonio. We had power last night but this morning nothing. I checked the cord from the 110 supply and had power but nothing going to the RV. Fuses and circuit breakers are ok. Checked the gfci in the kitchen. Pushed the test button and nothing happened. I thought the reset was supposed to kick out. Any thoughts on where my electricity is hiding?
__________________

cbald51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-07-2019, 03:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbald51 View Post
Checked the gfci in the kitchen. Pushed the test button and nothing happened. I thought the reset was supposed to kick out. Any thoughts on where my electricity is hiding?
Neither the Ďtestí nor the Ďresetí button will do anything if there isnít power at the receptacle.

But if your inverter/converter/charger has 120V pass-through for shore power, I would check the breaker on the unit itself. Mine has both incoming and outgoing circuit breakers, so when the outgoing tripped once, the whole coach was dead.
__________________

__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 05:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jbmsr's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Apopka Fl.
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbald51 View Post
We have a 2018 Winnebago Fuse that we have had plugged into our friends 110 outlet while we visit in San Antonio. We had power last night but this morning nothing. I checked the cord from the 110 supply and had power but nothing going to the RV. Fuses and circuit breakers are ok. Checked the gfci in the kitchen. Pushed the test button and nothing happened. I thought the reset was supposed to kick out. Any thoughts on where my electricity is hiding?


Crank the generator and see if you have power.
May reset the switch box.
Jesse
__________________
You Only Live Once Travel!
2013 Winnebago Tour 42QD
Apopka FL.
Jbmsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 07:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbald51 View Post
We have a 2018 Winnebago Fuse that we have had plugged into our friends 110 outlet while we visit in San Antonio. We had power last night but this morning nothing. I checked the cord from the 110 supply and had power but nothing going to the RV. Fuses and circuit breakers are ok. Checked the gfci in the kitchen. Pushed the test button and nothing happened. I thought the reset was supposed to kick out. Any thoughts on where my electricity is hiding?
so if nothing going to the rv why are you messing with breakers, fuses, gfci? if nothing going to the rv the problem is external to the rv. please tell us you are checking with a multimeter!

do you have an ems in the power path that may be blocking power from flowing?
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 07:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,212
Do you have 120 volts at the shore power??? Do you have 120 volts at the end of your shore power cord?? Do you have 120 volts at the main breaker?
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 07:20 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbald51 View Post
We have a 2018 Winnebago Fuse that we have had plugged into our friends 110 outlet while we visit in San Antonio. We had power last night but this morning nothing. I checked the cord from the 110 supply and had power but nothing going to the RV. Fuses and circuit breakers are ok. Checked the gfci in the kitchen. Pushed the test button and nothing happened. I thought the reset was supposed to kick out. Any thoughts on where my electricity is hiding?
You have no power on the GFI circuit. You let the smoke out smoeplace.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 09:34 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 41
Most 110v house circuits have a 15amp breaker/fuse. (14Awg White Romex)
Unless the home was built with the heavier duty Yellow Romex wires (12Awg) in which case you can use 20amp breakers.

Either way, the coach might be using far more juice than 'Shore' can supply on a 110v circuit.

We popped a 15amp breaker on a 110 shore line from having the A/C on along with just a few lights. The display showed we were using 16Amps.
ShaunAED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 09:43 AM   #8
Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 61
If you have power from the source to the shore power cable check the load side (house) of the transfer switch. These can fail.
__________________
2004 American Eagle, 40L
Cummins 400 ISL
Spartan Chassis
oldnavycdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 10:53 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Buxton, North Dakota
Posts: 3,704
cbald51 said. " I checked the cord from the 110 supply and had power."
__________________
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 38G F53/ V10 605 watts of Solar
1999 Winnebago Brave 35C F53V10 Handicap Equipped
1999 Jeep Cherokee, 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade and 2018 Chevrolet Equinox Diesel
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 11:11 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ljwt330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Capistrano Beach, California
Posts: 1,408
As others have stated, if there is power at the end of the cord to the house, but no power to your main panel (have you checked?), the only device in between is the transfer switch or the cord to the transfer switch (different than the cord to the house.)

Begin at the transfer switch only if you are careful and comfortable with testing "hot" AC circuits. Is there power at the incoming terminals for AC inside the transfer switch? If not, the RV power cord has an issue.

If so, check the outlet (load) terminals that go to the panel. Is there power? If not, the transfer switch contacts are faulty/dirty/stuck.

If so, check power at the main panel breaker. Is there power? If not, bad connection somewhere between transfer switch and panel or within panel or bad breaker.

If so, is there power to the inverter breaker? If not, faulty connection between main and breaker sub panel or bad inverter breaker.

If so, is there AC power from the inverter? If not, check the circuit breaker on the output side of the inverter.


Given what you posted, however, I suspect a tripped breaker on the inverter. Check that first and save the time of trying the above diagnostic tests.
__________________
Larry, Eileen, and Finley
2004 Alpine 36FDDS
Third motor home, first Alpine, no need for another.
Ljwt330 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 07:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,212
6 days. I hope the op got it fixed.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 08:00 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljwt330 View Post
As others have stated, if there is power at the end of the cord to the house, but no power to your main panel (have you checked?), the only device in between is the transfer switch or the cord to the transfer switch (different than the cord to the house.)

Begin at the transfer switch only if you are careful and comfortable with testing "hot" AC circuits. Is there power at the incoming terminals for AC inside the transfer switch? If not, the RV power cord has an issue.

If so, check the outlet (load) terminals that go to the panel. Is there power? If not, the transfer switch contacts are faulty/dirty/stuck.

If so, check power at the main panel breaker. Is there power? If not, bad connection somewhere between transfer switch and panel or within panel or bad breaker.

If so, is there power to the inverter breaker? If not, faulty connection between main and breaker sub panel or bad inverter breaker.

If so, is there AC power from the inverter? If not, check the circuit breaker on the output side of the inverter.


Given what you posted, however, I suspect a tripped breaker on the inverter. Check that first and save the time of trying the above diagnostic tests.
We had the unit checked at the dealer and the inverter was bad. Good news was that Winnebago will cover it. Bad news new part wasn’t available for 4-5 days so they will have new inverter sent to dealer closer to where we will be staying. Thanks to all for the information.
__________________

cbald51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airstream Land Yacht 26 :: 2005 airstream land yacht 26 trispeed iRV2 Owners Registry 0 07-16-2018 06:02 PM
Can I use an external generator plugged into my outside land line input connector ? Markrving Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 05-10-2014 06:34 PM
Fridge--land line vs Generator 94bago Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 08-29-2010 09:43 PM
Avoid the Lowes land line plug fleamarketer Gear and Product Discussions 7 01-27-2008 01:20 PM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 11:28 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×