Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-24-2013, 09:30 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Park brake

Would anyone know if the park gear (push pull knob on dash) is part of the transmission. i have a 1999 Winnebago Vectra and while on a recent trip the park brake would not release, Good Sam Road club sent a mechanic out and he disconnected it.
Coach has an Allison 6 speed transmission, 454 Chev gas engine. I was told that the park brake is not part of the Allison Transmission and that Winnebago installs it.
I would greatly appreciate some knowledgeable advise as to how and where I can can it repaired. I live in Avon Park, Fl.

Thank you,
Terry
tvan863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:53 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

i am no expert but ive read that generally gas motorhomes have the parking brake on the driveshaft. any truck repair shop should be able to fix it.
winniman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:59 AM   #3
Winnie-Wise

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvan863 View Post
Would anyone know if the park gear (push pull knob on dash) is part of the transmission. i have a 1999 Winnebago Vectra and while on a recent trip the park brake would not release, Good Sam Road club sent a mechanic out and he disconnected it.
Coach has an Allison 6 speed transmission, 454 Chev gas engine. I was told that the park brake is not part of the Allison Transmission and that Winnebago installs it.
I would greatly appreciate some knowledgeable advise as to how and where I can can it repaired. I live in Avon Park, Fl.

Thank you,
Terry