RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2019, 07:09 AM   #1
Member
 
7mtn's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Central PA
Posts: 50
Running on 30 Amp instead of 50

Hi All,
Trying to figure out what the restrictions are when hooking up to 30Amp shoreline when we have a 50 amp system. As I understand it, my Powerline system will adjust by shutting off various components so I do not blow breakers.

But I would like to know some real world experiences and what others have learned from doing it. Being that it is summertime, my main concern is running the AC, in my model (2006 Meridian 39K) I have the air source heat pump built into the central air conditioning system. Currently, when connected to 50 amp shoreline it keeps the coach nice and cool. Will it do the same when connected to 30amp? I noticed when running on the genset and I start the AC, I see it pulling about 20 some amps, but not sure about the startup current draw and if that would exceed the 30amps? Then we have the other thing like running a coffee pot in the morning and microwave.

Also, I already have the 30-50 adapter, but does anyone know if I could use my 50a Hughes autoformer on this setup?

Thanks in advance for your input.
__________________

__________________
Charlie
2006 Itasca Meridian 39K
7mtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-16-2019, 07:15 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Floyds Knobs, In.
Posts: 6,849
Running on 30 Amp instead of 50

In our 50amp coach when on 30 amps can only run one AC and need to watch running other high watt appliances. You are going from 12,000watts available to 3,600watts so some conservation is required.
The Powerline assuming it has the ability to shed loads will take care of things for you for the most part.
__________________

__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Cypress River Manitoba
Posts: 230
Our rule of thumb is when we are on 30 amp, we can use two things such as the A/C and the microwave or the water heater and the toaster. You get the idea. If we exceed the two big ticket items, the Powerline will take over and do it for us. I'm not too keen on having an electronic gadget do something that I can do just as easily myself. We also keep an eye on the loadmeter. I read somewhere that if you exceed the max load by 80% for a certain time period, the system will shut stuff down for a cool down period.

Stan
__________________
2004 Itasca Sunrise W22 chassis GM 8.1 Allison 1000 Towing a 2007 Chevy Cobalt four wheels down.
Switchflicke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
cbeierl's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,295
Your Meridian should be able to run BOTH AC compressors on 30A service, with some power to spare.

The PowerLine system probably sheds the water heater first, followed by the 2nd AC compressor, the high speed fan, and the fridge (at least mine does).
__________________
Chris Beierl

2005 Winnebago Vectra 36RD
cbeierl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:22 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
lajuene's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hometown is Schenectady, NY
Posts: 632
We have used the 50amp auto former on 30amp hookup with no problems. We have basement sir and we flip off the breaker for the second compressor and rarely do we got 30amp. If we do (water heater and microwave) the system sheds the water heater until microwave is done. If we do a/c, microwave and toaster on 4 slice setting then we go over 30amp but our hybrid inverter kicks in to supply the extra amps to keep the campground draw under 30. Magnum 3012H inverter.
__________________
Ginny & Eric - Full Time 4/14/12 - Our Blog "Walk About With Wheels"

2004 Winnebago Vectra 40AD - 350 Cummins ISC; Toad 2012 Wrangler 6 speed
SKP, WIT, FMCA, FCOC, GoodSam, Cummins Power Club
lajuene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:39 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Cousin Ed's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,149
We found on 30 amp with both A/C compressors running not to use the microwave or the washer/dryer. Maybe not a toaster or hair-dryer, either.
__________________
Jeanie, Ed & Slade the GSD
Cape Cod, MA
2017 Entegra Aspire RBQ & Sierra Crew
Cousin Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:55 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 97
lajuene, you are just showing off, now. Don't blame you, the hybrid inverters are a great improvement in livability.
__________________
2002 Winnebago Journey 36LD
Toyota 4Runner toad
Pushed By Angels: Noisy, Thirsty Angels
blevtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 10:40 AM   #8
Member
 
salmonbio's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Great Northwest
Posts: 47
No biggie... just have to be somewhat mindful about the "heavy load" appliances. And like everyone says, when on 30a you can't have as many of those running at same time. We don't find it to be that troublesome to switch off the coffee pot when the toast goes in... for example.
__________________
Ready to roll
2019 Winnebago Vista 32YE
salmonbio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 12:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
lajuene's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hometown is Schenectady, NY
Posts: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by blevtr View Post
lajuene, you are just showing off, now. Don't blame you, the hybrid inverters are a great improvement in livability.
Yeah, I guess so but to upgrade to it I had to dowse my old one in black water when I overflowed it while flushing it out. In this case I'd rather still have the old one. Haha
__________________
Ginny & Eric - Full Time 4/14/12 - Our Blog "Walk About With Wheels"

2004 Winnebago Vectra 40AD - 350 Cummins ISC; Toad 2012 Wrangler 6 speed
SKP, WIT, FMCA, FCOC, GoodSam, Cummins Power Club
lajuene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 09:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
chuckftboy's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East Florida
Posts: 1,036
I have always been able to run2 A/C's on 30 amps, in Florida that's pretty important but I will also fire up the generator when we need another unit for cooling or even cooking
__________________
2019 Horizon 42Q
Cummins L-9 450 HP
Maxim Chassis / IFS with Tag
chuckftboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 09:32 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 8,407
When we're at a 30 amp site I'll typically only run one air conditioner.

Where is south central Pennsylvania? I'm from Williamsport.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS

Don't know where I'm going, spose I'll get there anyway.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 07:36 AM   #12
Member
 
7mtn's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Central PA
Posts: 50
Appreciate everyones advice, on our rig, we have a single heatpump unit, that's located in the basement, no roof top A/C's.

Still trying to figure out how to put a load monitoring setup on the rig, so I can monitor it when connected to shoreline. If I run the genset, I can see how much current I am using, but shoreline it goes away.
__________________
Charlie
2006 Itasca Meridian 39K
7mtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 01:01 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Road Westward
Posts: 1,337
Your basement unit has 2 compressors. On 30amps, turning off the #2 compressor will provide you more amps for other loads.


When we are on 30amps, I usually run both ac's. I turn water heater to LP. We have residential fridge which runs off inverter. The inverter will also provide power to the microwave and the outlets on the kitchen side of the coach if we exceed 30 amps. I will also usually turn my battery charger down to 10%. Drawing from the batteries to use the microwave/convection oven will increase the battery charger draw to a level that will turn off the #2 ac compressor.


The main thing, IMHO, when running 2 ac's on 30amps is to keep an eye on your voltage. Low voltage can be problematic to your compressor circuits.


On 50 amps, you have 100 amps to play with, and your EMS assumes that is sufficient. If you do manage to draw more your breakers or the pedestal breakers will/should trip.
__________________
Dan & Sharon (Kasey-Our Yorkie Puppy RIP 9Jan05-26Jul17) On the Road (2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty)
USN-Ret ('65-'93) Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 09:23 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
doorguy's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 613
We have the Hughes 50A hardwired into the service bay and it works fine on 30 or 50A. If we are on a 30A circuit, which we are alot, and we need the a/c, I will put refer and whtr on gas just for my peace of mind and to prevent the Powerline system from cycling in and out so much, but that is just me.

One thing we do with the a/c: If it needs to run all night, the basement unit can get quiet "hummy" back there and I tune into that when trying to sleep. Now, at night, since the heat of the day is no longer beating down on us, when we go to bed, I'll kill the compressor #2 and it still keeps the coach cool at night without the additional compressor humming. I will admit, that we live mostly in a non-humid part of the country, so I can't say if I would still be able to to that in the southeast or midwest.
__________________

__________________
Barry & Sue Miller("extended" RVer's, 6 mos + per/year) combined trips.
04 Journey 39K, C-7, 330 hp, towing: 2013 Ford Edge AWD, soon to add a 19 GMC Canyon 4WD, Aero 5050XL, ReadyBrake.
doorguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30-Amp, Instead Of 50-Amp Moxxi Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 11-25-2018 12:33 AM
50 AMP coaches, avoid 30 AMP and use GEN instead? NealC Just Conversation 8 06-12-2017 07:36 AM
Refrigerator running off propane instead of electricity bdunningsr 5th Wheel Discussion 5 04-05-2017 07:54 PM
Engine smoking & running rough after running gererator milehitruck Caterpillar Engine Forum 4 10-09-2015 04:54 PM
30 amp, 20 amp Y to 50 amp adaptor for running two AC units? charliej Gear and Product Discussions 9 07-13-2014 03:00 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.