Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2008, 06:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Have a 2007 Winnebago Vista that we tried to run the roof air conditioner off of the generator while traveling down the road. The air conditioner never kicked on despite the thermostat being on 66 degrees. As soon as we hooked up the shoreline power, the unit kicked on. What do we need to do to operate the unit while traveling?
__________________

__________________
millardbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-28-2008, 06:36 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Have a 2007 Winnebago Vista that we tried to run the roof air conditioner off of the generator while traveling down the road. The air conditioner never kicked on despite the thermostat being on 66 degrees. As soon as we hooked up the shoreline power, the unit kicked on. What do we need to do to operate the unit while traveling?
__________________

__________________
millardbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 06:42 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Make sure you have the generator power to the coach. Do you have a transfer switch or do you have to plug the power cord into the generator? Next make sure the breakers ON (physically on the generator) the generator have not tripped. Turn them completely off and then back on.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 06:52 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
We have to plug the power cord into the generator (which it was). I'll check the breakers on the generator. Thanks!
__________________
millardbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 03:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Belgique's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 627
On my 08 Sightseer, there is a big switch under the fridge (behind a wood cover) that is marked Gen and shore power. It has to be in the proper position to run both ACs. The manual describes this but I don't have access to it now and have never done it. See if you have that switch.
__________________
Hickory, NC. 2007 Fleetwood Discovery 40X
Belgique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 07:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 3,564
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Belgique:
On my 08 Sightseer, there is a big switch under the fridge (behind a wood cover) that is marked Gen and shore power. It has to be in the proper position to run both ACs. The manual describes this but I don't have access to it now and have never done it. See if you have that switch. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I bet you nailed it.
My power cord also has to be plugged into the generator (no auto transfer switch) and the switch you mentioned must be in the "Gen" position for the rear AC to operate on the generator.
__________________

__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roof Air Conditioner Condensate joelsr Monaco Owner's Forum 18 08-26-2008 04:55 PM
Air conditioning problem when running generator LUV2RV-MN Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 07-18-2008 12:50 PM
roof leaks through air conditioner Rob Hentges MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 04-27-2006 07:11 PM
Adding a roof Air Conditioner BucknJeff Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 24 07-26-2005 06:24 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.