Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-13-2005, 02:11 PM   #1
Winnebago Master

We got the coach out last week for a few days and while on the way home yesterday we were on a two lane road that was being resurfaced.

The traffic had to take turns since one lane was shut down. The road bed was scraped/planed down so we were driving in a "valley." I approached the paving machine to pass at about 30 mph or so and while passing I hear a loud bang. The co-pilot said we hit the paver machine's operator umbrella's strut. Wow was that exciting

When we got the coach home I saw where we hit - the back side of the mirror took a pretty good one.

It was close quarters there and obviously I wasn't over far enough. Hey - I'm still learning

--John

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2005, 02:11 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

We got the coach out last week for a few days and while on the way home yesterday we were on a two lane road that was being resurfaced.

The traffic had to take turns since one lane was shut down. The road bed was scraped/planed down so we were driving in a "valley." I approached the paving machine to pass at about 30 mph or so and while passing I hear a loud bang. The co-pilot said we hit the paver machine's operator umbrella's strut. Wow was that exciting

When we got the coach home I saw where we hit - the back side of the mirror took a pretty good one.

It was close quarters there and obviously I wasn't over far enough. Hey - I'm still learning

--John

Old 08-13-2005, 03:45 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise

Been there. Played tag with 18 wheeler going in same direction, in a "valley" of construction barriers. His empty flatbed drifted into my driver's mirror while passing me. No big deal; minor scrape. Just changed my shorts & resumed trip.

Thudman