Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2017, 11:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Charlie and Martha's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 627
Blog Entries: 9
2005 Factory Installed Satellite Question

I did a search for this question but came up with a lot of random things that didn't help me too much. School me please. How do I make this thing work. I have never even had dish network or any other satellite service anywhere.

Everything in my tech cabinet is original thus far. I have already been convinced to leave the tv/sat switch box in place. I know where to switch the dish power on and which position to put the switch box into, beyond that. I am a complete satellite neophyte.

I am assuming that I need find a provider. What else is needed? Oh, and BTW I don't have a manual for the equipment as it didn't come with the coach. At this point I am not sure if it would help me understand the thing.
__________________

__________________
Blogs -Wandering Toes|Vietnam 46 Years Later| Charlies Moto Chronicles|iRV2 Blog Entries
Our Coach - 2005 Newmar Northern Star | 350 Cat C7 3126 | Freightliner XC Chassis
We are - Charlie and Martha Ketchum
Charlie and Martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-16-2017, 02:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Road_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 95
...you first need to find out what satellite provider (Dish or DTV) the equipment is for, then contact that service provider to activate your account.

Good Luck
__________________

__________________
2007 MADP 4523
Retired US Army
Retired USCG civilian
Road_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 09:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Odessa, Tx.
Posts: 176
Charlie, I'm glad you asked the question because I'm in the same shape as you. The equipment on our '01 is obsolete and no longer supported.

When I called the manufacture they laughed and said I had a 15 year old "computer" and to go buy a new one. I have not done that yet so I'll tag along and see what I can learn from your experience.
__________________
John and Sue from W. Texas
2001 DSDP, 3126B Cat

"the Oilfield PAID me to retire, so I did" :-)
JNSNWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 03:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Charlie and Martha's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 627
Blog Entries: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Road_King View Post
...you first need to find out what satellite provider (Dish or DTV) the equipment is for, then contact that service provider to activate your account.

Good Luck
It's DTV with a dome on the roof.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNSNWT View Post
Charlie, I'm glad you asked the question because I'm in the same shape as you. The equipment on our '01 is obsolete and no longer supported.

When I called the manufacture they laughed and said I had a 15 year old "computer" and to go buy a new one. I have not done that yet so I'll tag along and see what I can learn from your experience.

I've an idea, I will be removing the unit from the roof and repairing holes, but who knows, someone may know what we can do with them other than using them as anchors.
__________________
Blogs -Wandering Toes|Vietnam 46 Years Later| Charlies Moto Chronicles|iRV2 Blog Entries
Our Coach - 2005 Newmar Northern Star | 350 Cat C7 3126 | Freightliner XC Chassis
We are - Charlie and Martha Ketchum
Charlie and Martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 04:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 295
You won't be able to get a HD signal from directv with that unit. You may be able to call KVH and be able to preform a software upgrade and get dish. I don't know if you would have to change LNB or not. Also KVH might be able to tell you if you can get a Dish HD signal with the unit. I might be worth a call to KVH. If you want to have HD be prepared to route cables from your sat box to tv(s).
__________________
Sonny, Anita and Phoebe
2005 MADP 4304, 2005 Ford Crew Cab F150 toad, 2009 Harley Ultra Classic
harleyman134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, led, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Satellite Prep - 2005 Kountry Star Gas vettenuts Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 02-12-2016 04:54 AM
Factory installed dome question...for DISH brobox Entegra Owner's Forum 18 09-15-2013 08:49 PM
Factory installed water pressure regulator?? Paul T Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 01-21-2007 04:03 AM
'02 ,'03, '04, Southwind factory installed solar panel ?? BillArf Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 02-13-2006 01:03 PM
Factory installed NAV System? RetireSoon Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 03-03-2005 05:51 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.