Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2017, 12:05 AM   #1
Member
 
dutchstargtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 73
2016 Dutchstar Televator TV Replacement

I am thinking of replacing the 48" Sony TV in the televator with a 48" Vizio 4k. Similar dimensions, so I am not too concerned about that ~ unless someone has figured out a way to squeeze a bigger tv into that spot :-0. My question is has anyone replaced their televator tv? If so, did you do it yourself?

One way or the other I will have to replace this Sony TV in the televator as it has a giant dead pixel near the center of the screen. It happens and it gives me a great excuse to get a 4k in there!
__________________

__________________
dutchstargtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-09-2017, 06:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
specmga1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 395
I plan on doing the same so would love to hear from others who may have done this.
__________________

__________________
specmga1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 06:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
FlaRider's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 264
One thing to think about is what kind of HDMI cable is installed from the AV cabinet to the TV. You need HDMI version 2.0 which came out late 2013 for 4K @60 fps. If you want 4K HDR you need version 4.0a, which was released April 2015.

Not sure what kind of picture you would get if you upgrade to tv and use older hdmi cables.


Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
2018 DSDP 4327 on order
FlaRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 06:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,620
I upgraded to Vizio 4K TVs at home, and even using a standard 1080 HD source they look better than the HD sets that they replaced. So while the old cables might not get you everything the 4k TV is capable of, it should still be a noticable improvement.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 08:45 AM   #5
Member
 
dutchstargtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 73
Good stuff to think about. I imagine running a new HDMI cable from the receiver to the tv would be a 'bring it in' sort of job. Is the TV pumping sound to the audio system via the HDMI cable, or is it on a optical? If they are separate, I would not need to hook up the blu ray player as I could use chromecast instead.

Thx for the hdmi info, I actually did not think of that!

Would love to hear from someone who has attempted a replacement on their televator. I know your out there somewhere! :-)
__________________
dutchstargtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 01:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Carefree, AZ
Posts: 359
The sound is wired separately - not through the HDMI cable - as far as I remember.
__________________
Juergen & Margit
2016 Newmar DS 4018
2016 Jeep GC Limited
Carefree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 05:31 PM   #7
Member
 
dutchstargtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 73
We are replacing ours on our own this weekend. Any tips for dealing with taking the tv off the televator and installing a new one?

I think I will wait and have the Newmar specialist wire new HDMI cords in the next time we take it in for service. Seems difficult to me!

Hoping it all goes well. Think I have a plan for putting in a new tv in that spot, but we shall see!

Any tips, suggestions, or comments are greatly appreciated. Thx!
__________________

__________________
dutchstargtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, replace, replacement



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 Ventana Televator quadder Newmar Owner's Forum 0 08-03-2015 10:47 PM
2015 DS 4369 Televator Cab. Measurements NWLanding Newmar Owner's Forum 18 01-30-2015 10:26 AM
Do you think Newmar could install a Televator... plasma800 Newmar Owner's Forum 5 06-27-2014 08:56 AM
Televator Gremlins kamakalama Newmar Owner's Forum 7 01-23-2014 11:39 AM
Televator - 2010 Dutch star 4340 DocJim Newmar Owner's Forum 4 05-22-2013 01:41 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.