Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-03-2018, 10:42 PM   #1

2018 FreightLiner DEF Consumption Specifications

I have been operating diesel truck powered RV's since before the big 2010 EPA crackdown on PM and NOx emissions. My first truck just had a DPF in the exhaust system using extensive EGR to control NOx. EGR was a problem since it lowered fuel economy and increased particulate loading.

In 2012 I took delivery of one of the first diesel engines using SCR by adding DEF to the exhaust after treatment to further drive down the NOx to conform with increasingly stringent EPA regulations. The first SCR/DEF after treatment systems used very little DEF, typically 1 to 2 % of fuel flow. While still relying on EGR to drive down NOx.

The latest series of Diesel engines from Cummins now us SCR as the primary component to lower NOx but the key is they need to use a lot of DEF as they pull back on EGR to do the job. Using more SCR/DEF and less EGR increases fuel economy and decreases PM generation so there are some good economic trade offs.

This brings us to 2018. Folks buying 2018 DP will notice that the DEF tank capacity has significantly increased over the last few years. My last 6.7 liter Ford diesel had a 6 gallon tank that seem to last for ever, while my New Aire has a 17 gallon tank that drains quickly.