RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2011, 06:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 47
50 amp automatic transfer switch, power switch

50 amp automatic transfer switch, power switch
I burned up my switch
Should I go back and get the stock one from Todd engineering or will any one do the job?
Can I install it or not ?
I saw one for $200
__________________

dutch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-06-2011, 06:21 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Pay a few bucks more and invest in a GOOD transfer switch, ESCO.

Not too surprised about your burned up TODD switch. You're lucky that it was only the switch and NOT the entire RV. TODD is out of business, went bankrupt due to insurance losses from RV fires. The same guys started the company called IOTA. They no longer make transfer switches, I wonder WHY ???

Do your own research, but buy a good one. Only my opinion.

Dr4Film ----- Richard.
__________________

Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:54 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
4Knights's Avatar
 
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,796
Exactly what I did, replaced my burnt one with this from ESCO http://www.escousa.net/Merchant2/mer...egory_Code=EP5
__________________
Ron & Wendy-Kansas
94 Pace Arrow 34 ft
25 yr Army retired 2006
4Knights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 09:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tallyrver's Avatar


 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 695
I replaced mine on my last coach with this one from Tweety's
Progressive Dynamics RV Auto Transfer Relay System, 50 Amp

Camping World had the same one for $20.00 more ,easy to replace ,just make sure inverter is off.

Wayne
__________________
Wayne and Debbie
2014 Gateway 3650BH
2008 F350 dually diesel .
www.mudflapscampingclub.com
Tallyrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Nuge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hammond, IN
Posts: 353
Once you replace it be sure to switch off all major loads before switching your power source.
__________________
1982 CrossCountry - NW Indiana
Ford Electrician
Built WITHOUT your tax dollars!!
Nuge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
You may want to check this thread for more information. It seems there are restrictions on using these switches that not published in their literature.
__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 11:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 542
Rjay,

On this and other sites the issue of transferring power under load has been discussed. The conclusion reached on all occasions was minimize the
load before changing power sources. Making a change with a high load results in contact failure due to arcing. I thought most all knew that.

Guess you have provided a needed service.

Al Sawyer
'05 MADP
allynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 04:56 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
I recently had a failure of my Iota switch and replaced it with the Esco ES50M-65N. It's a much better built piece of equipment.
__________________
Bill & June
Newmar Northern Star 2004
Venice, FL
fishinfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 03:42 AM   #9
Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 47
What does the switch do if you are plugged in to the wall 50 AMP and also have the generator going, what one does it choose?
__________________
1999 Dutch Star DP 3884
the wife and 2 dogs, one of them will kiss me.
dutch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:08 AM   #10
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,027
The AUTO SW will transfer power from shore power to the Gen power.
Have done numerous times when exercising the Gen and AC's while plugged into my house 110 outlet.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:12 AM   #11
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,909
The generator has priority.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dutch99 View Post
What does the switch do if you are plugged in to the wall 50 AMP and also have the generator going, what one does it choose?
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 08:57 AM   #12
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,027
Yes the TS gives priority to Gen.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:44 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
A transfer switch, when resting in the DEFAULT position, is hooked to the generator. When you plug into shore power, it will sense the different source and SWITCH over allowing shore power to pass through. Like others have said, when both are supplying power, the transfer switch gives PRIORITY to the generator.

Another good point to bring up is when people EXERCISE their generators and they are using shore power, they should always reduce the amount of amps being drawn through the transfer switch FIRST, before starting the generator. And then again before turning the generator off. This will prevent the transfer switch from arcing. The arcing will reduce its lifespan. by damaging the contacts.

Whenever I exercise my generator when using shore power, I flip the main breaker for 50 amp off at the pedestal, then start the generator. when finished, I stop the generator, then flip the pedestal main breaker back on, wait the 2 minutes and 16 seconds for my Progressive EMS to make sure pedestal power is GOOD. No arcing of my transfer switch and my inverter takes care of keeping all of the clocks and other electronic devices powered so I don't have to reset them.

Dr4Film ----- Richard.
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:55 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Shelbyville, KY
Posts: 2
I am new here, I recently bought a 2006 Sportscoach. Upgrade from class C. I had an electrician install a 50 amp plug for new MH in my storage building. I think it fried my unit. I know nothing about this. I suppose ignorance is not bliss. How bad am I screwed.
__________________

garywbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Transfer switch ES50M-65N allegro5 Monaco Owner's Forum 6 06-15-2011 08:15 PM
LPT50CA Transfer Switch RedHotSoup Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 7 04-29-2011 09:24 AM
Transfer Switch Troden Newmar Owner's Forum 3 04-23-2011 01:16 PM
Automatic Transfer switch kducat Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 03-31-2011 05:20 AM
Automatic Transfer Switch Blue74 RV Systems & Appliances 3 06-26-2007 03:47 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.