RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2019, 11:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Kountry 2SUM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 132
A/C help please

2010 Dutch Star 4333
We are plugged into our park for the night. We have 3 A/C units and only the aft unit will come on. The middle and forward units will not come on and the fridge is using propane instead of AC power. I just looked at the the power monitor display and this is what I see. Shouldnít line one be reading 120+- volts on this display? I could have sworn thatís what it was when I plugged it in. This is all new to me so I am at a loss as to why we only show 2 volts on leg 1, the other two A/C wonít turn on and why the fridge is burning propane. Btw, I have a surge protector on the pedestal and it says everything is wired correctly. Any ideas?

Click image for larger version

Name:	AD5BD96A-1F8F-49A2-B520-A6F7E692E0A7.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	162.1 KB
ID:	257620
__________________

__________________
Terry & Colleen, Edgewood, NM
2010 Newmar Dutch Star 4333
US Navy 1976-1980 /USS Albany CG-10 /USS Fiske DDG-842
Kountry 2SUM is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-22-2019, 12:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 43
Check for a tripped breaker on the inside of the coach.

You should have 120-ish on each leg.
__________________

atroph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 04:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Kountry 2SUM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by atroph View Post
Check for a tripped breaker on the inside of the coach.

You should have 120-ish on each leg.
No tripped breakers on the main box.
__________________
Terry & Colleen, Edgewood, NM
2010 Newmar Dutch Star 4333
US Navy 1976-1980 /USS Albany CG-10 /USS Fiske DDG-842
Kountry 2SUM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 05:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,396
Hi Kountry 2SUM,
Regardless what the devices say, consider starting at the beginning. You will need a meter to do these checks.
1. Both hot legs at the pedestal for 120V.
2. Transfer switch. Pop the cover and check the out bound wire for each of the two hot legs for 120V.
3. At the breaker panel check the out bound wires for 120V.

At one of these points you should find where the voltage is being lost.

The reason the refer is on propane is because the refer, front and middle AC is on leg 1 which is not getting power.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 05:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
spdracr39's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Posts: 2,089
Yep gotta figure out where the line 1 power stops. Could be burned contact on power cord or a bad transfer switch connection. It's possible the line 1 breaker is bad. I always start where I know there is power which is generally at the pedestal. A multimeter is a tool I never go without. If you have to buy one get a quality one like a fluke. I have chased my tail before trying to use a cheap inaccurate meter.
__________________
2004 Beaver Monterey Laguna/2015 Chevy Equinox
2014 Chaparral 327RLKS 5'er (FOR SALE)
2017 GMC 2500HD SLE 6.0L Z71 4x4 Standard Bed
https://wordpress.com/posts/enjoying-life.net
spdracr39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 06:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Kountry 2SUM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by atroph View Post
Check for a tripped breaker on the inside of the coach.

You should have 120-ish on each leg.
No tripped breakers on the main box.
__________________
Terry & Colleen, Edgewood, NM
2010 Newmar Dutch Star 4333
US Navy 1976-1980 /USS Albany CG-10 /USS Fiske DDG-842
Kountry 2SUM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 08:27 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
redbaron73's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,386
Blog Entries: 4
You have a bad reading and need to reset the pcs.

1. Unplug shore cord and do not turn on generator.
2. Turn off chassis battery on door side last bay
3. Turn off house battery using disconnect inside the coach.

Wait 15 seconds

Turn all on in reverse order. Should resolve the display issue
__________________
2019 DSDP 4369 * FREIGHTLINER XCR * HWH ACTIVE AIR

NHSO (Newmar Hoot, Sevierville Original), Kindness Matters
redbaron73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 08:27 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MI & AZ
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kountry 2SUM View Post
No tripped breakers on the main box.
Then you need to check the actual outputs of the pedestal receptacle with a meter OR first follow the power back to the breaker that FEEDS the pedestal. One side of it may be tripped or there may be a defective breaker in the pedestal or the power box that feeds the pedestal. OR you have a bad power plug or receptacle in the pedestal. You need meter and watch a YouTube on how to check pedestal power. Good luck, be careful. Here is a YouTube link.
__________________
Ted & Ruth Ann Hindes - NKK AZ State Directors
2014 Newmar Ventana 4377, 1400 Watts of Solar, Air Force 1 Brake, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland
tednruthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 08:35 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 2,317
If you aren't comfortable doing the electrical testing in post #8, how about moving to a different site and hooking up? That will tell you whether the problem lies with the shore power pedestal or inside your coach. Easy test.

If you start to get good power and all A/C units are running, then you can report a problem to the office and have yourself moved to a new site.
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 59K miles
bamaboy473 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 12:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Kountry 2SUM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 132
@Tednruthy, great video to learn how to use a tool thatís always fooled with me. Thanks. Picked one up and will test it out later today when I get back to the coach. Will update on what I find. Hopefully none of this:


Name:   880AD722-29A2-48E7-BF47-7D50839082E5.jpeg
Views: 22
Size:  9.6 KB
__________________
Terry & Colleen, Edgewood, NM
2010 Newmar Dutch Star 4333
US Navy 1976-1980 /USS Albany CG-10 /USS Fiske DDG-842
Kountry 2SUM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 03:24 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MI & AZ
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kountry 2SUM View Post
@Tednruthy, great video to learn how to use a tool thatís always fooled with me. Thanks. Picked one up and will test it out later today when I get back to the coach. Will update on what I find. Hopefully none of this:

Attachment 257649
I claim no credit for the YouTube except remembering to go there to look. You can see how to fix almost anything there if you remember to go look..
__________________
Ted & Ruth Ann Hindes - NKK AZ State Directors
2014 Newmar Ventana 4377, 1400 Watts of Solar, Air Force 1 Brake, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland
tednruthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 04:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bryan Tx
Posts: 164
From what you posted as symptoms and the picture you have lost a leg. May have been there initially but not now. Lot of damage to equipment can be done quickly if you try to run without getting to the cause. I would start at the pedestal and go from there. If you can move to a know good source that may be the easiest if you do not have a way to check it
__________________
ď06Ē Beaver Patriot Thunder , 525 HP C13 Cat
MH 4000 Allison
42 ft Vicksburg, 4 slides
kenwyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 10:15 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
redbaron73's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,386
Blog Entries: 4
I think this is a false reading. There is no reason for the display to show a 0 prefix for the amps. This is a computer glitch.

When my L1 volt is 2 amps it does not say 02 amps it says 2 amps.

When both amps are 29amps it does not say 029 amps, it says 29.

This is fixed by doing the reset I posted. It's a computer, and it appears to be glitched. Rebooting should solve.

If you still get these readings after the reboot, then start worrying about the power.
__________________
2019 DSDP 4369 * FREIGHTLINER XCR * HWH ACTIVE AIR

NHSO (Newmar Hoot, Sevierville Original), Kindness Matters
redbaron73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 04:59 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Southeast, Louisiana
Posts: 13
If you are plugged into a 50amp service you should have 120v +- 10% on each line to neutral and 220v +- 10% line to line (hot to hot). I would check voltage at the automatic transfer switch. You will have 3 cables here. 1 for shore power, 1 for generator power and 1 for the load- which feeds your ac electric panel. The shore power and load will have 4 wires each. Two hots (probably black and/or red), one white neutral, and one ground (naked or green). You want to check the voltage across the hots of the shore power and load.
Shore power cable- If you don't have 220v here across the 2 hots its the shore power, plug or cable.
If the shore power voltage is good here but the load cable's hots are not its the contactor in the automatic transfer switch. This could be the contacts, the coil or coil voltage of the contactor.
If the load hots are good here then you need to check the hots and main breaker in your electric power panel.

Note when using a 30amp service to 50amp adaptor and some generators only put out 120 volt - hot to neutral on each line. You may not have 220 volt hot to hot when using these.
__________________

Dan104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please please help with gray water problem ParryTack Class A Motorhome Discussions 108 04-01-2013 08:56 AM
New guy yelling HELP!! Me please,please bigeddie Travel Trailer Discussion 15 12-29-2012 08:03 AM
Help, Help, Help, Oh Please Help. Possum RV Systems & Appliances 11 04-23-2012 10:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.