RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2006, 03:30 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 259
Good Evening All

I have a 400 watt inverter that only powers the fron TV, VCR, Sat
Receiver and one outlet. I would like to add the bedroom TV to the
inverter. I doubt we would ever be running both TVs at the same time,
but it is possible. I'm sure this is possible to do, but I don't want
to overload anything. (ie; wireing, inverter, circuit breakers etc) If
I do this, will I still run through two seperate AC circuit breakers
when I'm on shore or generator power? In other words, are the two
circuits (front and back TVs) tied together only when I'm running off
batteries, or are they linked together at all times? Is this a major
job or one a realtively inexperienced electrician (like me) could do?

Thanks in advance.

Jack
__________________

__________________
"Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are"

Jack Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-06-2006, 03:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 259
Good Evening All

I have a 400 watt inverter that only powers the fron TV, VCR, Sat
Receiver and one outlet. I would like to add the bedroom TV to the
inverter. I doubt we would ever be running both TVs at the same time,
but it is possible. I'm sure this is possible to do, but I don't want
to overload anything. (ie; wireing, inverter, circuit breakers etc) If
I do this, will I still run through two seperate AC circuit breakers
when I'm on shore or generator power? In other words, are the two
circuits (front and back TVs) tied together only when I'm running off
batteries, or are they linked together at all times? Is this a major
job or one a realtively inexperienced electrician (like me) could do?

Thanks in advance.

Jack
__________________

__________________
"Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are"

Jack Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 07:18 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,113
Jack, I'll check my rear TV in morning but I don't think its off the inverter up front. If you need it off inverter you maybe able to pickup wire for outlet of rear TV in your electric load center and splice a wire run from inverter location.
Go down thru closet along frame rail with other tied up wires, to front compartment.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 06:59 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,113
If you want to have TV off inverter you have to run wire to location off inverter controled ckt. The TV now is off the light ckt in load center, sorry.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I add an inverter to a coach..... Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 8 02-21-2013 05:59 AM
Can I add an inverter to a coach..... RBAJJK RV Systems & Appliances 5 12-09-2008 03:03 PM
How to add an inverter when one not there shirlock1 Newmar Owner's Forum 4 01-15-2008 04:49 PM
Add a ceiling fan in bedroom BigRedLancer Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-18-2006 04:12 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.