RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2006, 07:16 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 19
HI I have a 1997 Dutch Star 3450 gasser thinking of adding second AC as when the temp is over 100 (which it has been alt this year)the single ducted Ac does not cool the MH has Any one done this and did Newmar prewire the coach for 2 Ac'sif so how does one find where to install it.
__________________

SJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-28-2006, 07:16 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 19
HI I have a 1997 Dutch Star 3450 gasser thinking of adding second AC as when the temp is over 100 (which it has been alt this year)the single ducted Ac does not cool the MH has Any one done this and did Newmar prewire the coach for 2 Ac'sif so how does one find where to install it.
__________________

SJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 07:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 8,507
SJim: Welcome to iRV2.com and to the Newmar Owner's forum! We are glad you joined and posted.

My advice would be to find your COACH number (not the chassis vin # ) and Call Newmar. Only they can tell you IF the wiring "should" be there for the second A/C. IF yours is not a 50 AMP electrical service, you probably can't run but one A/C at a time, anyway. IF your model has the ducted system, there is "probably" only one spot where the second A/C should be mounted. You might also ask Newmar who they would recommend for the installation in your area. Good luck, ED
edgray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 09:28 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,723
Welcome SJim to irv2 and the Newmar forum.
You can remove the vent panel in bedroom to see if you have elect and also a tel cable wire to a senser on wall in bedroom. Remove 4 screws should drop the insert panel down from ceiling.

When your ready I can make you a member of the Newmar forum.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:35 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 19
007 there is no vent in bedroom i have ducted AC the one unit is up near the front of the coach i will call Newmar after i get done with the storm damage repair. About $500 in parts I was lucky some folks had several thousand in damage to their homes and RV.
SJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 02:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Toterman (David)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Clayton, DE
Posts: 340
SJim, My fiver does not have an access up front either. I was told by Newmar that it is framed out and the electric is run. The factory has the location of this and they can install a second unit. I have not gone any further at this time but that is what I have been told. JMHO

David
__________________

Toterman (David) is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding A Recliner B/C 5th Wheel Discussion 8 07-24-2007 07:07 AM
Adding batteries OldBaldGuy RV Systems & Appliances 13 12-07-2006 04:12 AM
Adding an oven?? SargeW Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 10-13-2006 06:50 PM
Adding Batterys Juggler RV Systems & Appliances 2 04-11-2006 12:17 AM
Adding batteries Sangone Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 04-26-2005 04:18 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×