RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2019, 01:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
enjoyrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 573
Air Force one puzzle

I am hoping someone can provide some insight. Just had system moved over to my new tow vehicle (2018 Ford Flex). Worked great for a couple days ago. Been driving Flex around town with no issues. Today when we tried to drive it, I believe Air Force One engaged brakes on Flex because we could hardy move it. Also noticed brake lights on Flex did not go off. I have a quick disconnect on a Flex battery so when I disconnected battery brake lights went off. Breakaway pin is not out of place. Took it out and put it back in.
I havenít tried starting Flex and then disconnect battery to see if brakes release. Anyone have this happen before and what it could be. I also have a auxiliary battery that is used to power Air Force One should car become disconnected from coach.
__________________

__________________
Rich NKK19266
2010 Dutch Aire 4317
2014 Grand Cherokee Summit Ecodiesel
enjoyrv is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-30-2019, 02:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Hugmongous's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ball Ground GA
Posts: 384
I have an AF1 and have used it for years. First thing I would do is check the cable between firewall and Brake pedal that pull brakes down when AF1 is engaged. Is there a chance you have adjustable pedals in your Ford Flex? If so, quite possible it was installed with pedal for a tall person and someone adjusted pedal for a short person and it is pulling the pedal down via the cable. If that is the issue, it is a simple fix.. just loosen the cable, adjust the pedals out, re-tighten the cable. BTW, I don't know what you mean by an aux battery to power the AF1 should you get disconnected. AF1 does not require that. I'm not an expert by any means, but feel free to PM me on this if you like. The current owners of AF1 do not provide good support.
__________________

__________________
Hugh 'n Deb - USAF Retired B-52 Pilot
2004 Safari Zanzibar 40', F-150, BlueOx TowBar, SMI AF1
Hugmongous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 02:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by enjoyrv View Post
I am hoping someone can provide some insight. Just had system moved over to my new tow vehicle (2018 Ford Flex). Worked great for a couple days ago. Been driving Flex around town with no issues. Today when we tried to drive it, I believe Air Force One engaged brakes on Flex because we could hardy move it. Also noticed brake lights on Flex did not go off. I have a quick disconnect on a Flex battery so when I disconnected battery brake lights went off. Breakaway pin is not out of place. Took it out and put it back in.
I havenít tried starting Flex and then disconnect battery to see if brakes release. Anyone have this happen before and what it could be. I also have a auxiliary battery that is used to power Air Force One should car become disconnected from coach.
Why do you need an auxiliary battery. The vehicle battery will power the AF1 just fine. All the power you need is to open a solenoid valve that sets the brakes in case of a breakaway.
If the AF1 is the culprit either that solenoid is getting power or is stuck open. Reach under the dash and fell the cable coming off the small air cylinder attached to the brake pedal. It should be slightly loose.
If you have adjustable brake pedals they should be run all the way out before hooking up the small cylinder and cable. If you hook it up with the pedals run in and someone runs them out it will pull the pedal down and set the brakes.
__________________
J.H. 2020 45W Cornerstone
2019 Ram Longhorn
Rollin101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 02:54 PM   #4
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,304
"enjoyrv".....When you pull that plastic pin in the grille, it makes your brakes in the Flex apply and will turn on the brake lights. In the event of a breakaway, the pin is pulled and the brakes apply. You said that you moved the system to your new tow vehicle, which means you must have had it installed in another and the system is a few years old. The mechanical/electrical switch in your grille can go bad. I had the same thing happen once in my truck, when we stopped to take a picture while sightseeing.

That switch is powered by your battery. Your problem.....the switch in the grille needs to be replaced or cleaned. As a safety measure, since that switch is powered by your battery, is to add a removeable fuse to the battery wire going to the switch. This way, in an emergency, you can kill the power to that switch and make the car drivable.

Call Demco on Monday and ask them how to clean that switch. They may recommend a spray cleaner or send you a new one. (712) 735-2311
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 03:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
enjoyrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 573
Air Force one puzzle

You guys are great. Thanks for reply. My wife drove it for the first time today since Air Force One was installed. Brake Pedal was all the way in when Air Force One was set up which is how I drive. My wife being a shorter person extended adjustable pedals out which caused brakes to activate. Put pedals in and everything is fine. Thinking that I may adjust cable to her pedal position so that when I drive it will not activate. When towing, Iíd have to remember to extend pedals to her position.
Now for the auxiliary battery. First vehicle Iíve owned where battery has to be disconnected per owners manual. Shop that did install thought power was needed to activate Air Force one if power from coach was disconnected in a total breakaway from the coach . Maybe overkill. About a $20 expense. Small battery. Also has charge line from coach to both batteries. Happy camper now.
__________________
Rich NKK19266
2010 Dutch Aire 4317
2014 Grand Cherokee Summit Ecodiesel
enjoyrv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 03:22 PM   #6
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,304
Rich, to keep from accidentally burning up the brakes, you should adjust the AF1 brake cable with the pedals all the way out, not to anyone's position. You don't want to forget and burn up the brakes. This way, all you do is set the pedals all the way out before towing, if you forget, no damage, just less brake activation.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 03:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
enjoyrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 573
Great idea Don. Thank you so much.
__________________
Rich NKK19266
2010 Dutch Aire 4317
2014 Grand Cherokee Summit Ecodiesel
enjoyrv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 07:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
enjoyrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 573
Step 6 of the Air Force One installation instructions say exactly as Dutch Star Don stated. Guess it would help to read them.
__________________
Rich NKK19266
2010 Dutch Aire 4317
2014 Grand Cherokee Summit Ecodiesel
enjoyrv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 07:00 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Iron Man's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,063
May not be the air force 1 . Check the brake switch on the Flex. We have a Flex and it would not go out of third gear and I noticed the brake lights were on. The computer thinks the brakes are applied and the traction control is being activated. Seems to be a common issue and Orileys had the switch in stock.
__________________
John, Pam, Nicholas, Aria
NKK 16073L
2007 Essex 4502
2015 GMC Seirra
Iron Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 10:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rlott2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: BC, Cariboo, Lower Mainland.
Posts: 1,839
On my 2013 flex I manually shut off all drive assist before towing( adaptive cruise, collision avoidance, blind spot etc) , over kill Iím sure. I donít have a battery disconnect, just a 12v ( with diode)from the RV to charge toad battery. I have invisibrake ( different I know) and there was a problem with feedback over the umbilical socket on the toad. Crc electric cleaner solved that problem.
__________________

__________________
2008 KSDP/2013 Flex
2nd year Fulltimers and still loving it.
rlott2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How hard is it to add the air line for the air force one? TMan59 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 9 04-18-2017 09:46 AM
Dynamax Customer Satisfaction with Force, Force HD, or DX-3 petrel Class C Motorhome Discussions 0 09-11-2015 07:58 AM
Air Force One bdpreece Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 32 03-05-2009 05:49 PM
Installing Air Force One footdoc Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 01-01-2009 06:20 PM
SMI Air Force One BobGuy Monaco Owner's Forum 8 12-09-2008 03:59 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×