RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2012, 04:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 134
Check engine light???

I forgot to put my gas cap on after buying fuel on my way home from Phoenix. Starting my engine Saturday, I noticed two icons appearing in the information panel. A yellow check mark in a box and a red engine symbol with a S included inside the icon. After reading some post I read that a loose gas cap not on tight might be a reason for this indication. Ordered a cap from Newmar and put it on and the same indicators appear. Is there a way that the system could be re-set to stop the check engind light from coming on? (I am assuming that is what these symbols mean)
__________________

jaywhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-30-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
87Rockwood's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lyons, GA
Posts: 769
Most of these engine check lights will reset after starting the engine "X" number of times with out any problems-15 times?
__________________

87Rockwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 04:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rick Long's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Some Place
Posts: 1,161
Send a message via Yahoo to Rick Long
It's usually so many miles at hi-way speed, so many at city speed and so many engine starts. BUT!!! get the codes read before you continue to drive it... it could be something simple or something SERIOUS!! We all know what happens when we assume.
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 32H
Many Places Full Time
No Dog * No Cat * No Co-Pilot
Rick Long is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 04:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
George Z's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,080
Since you know you did something that probably set the code and light,disconnecting The battery for a few minutes will usually clear the code. If it was the cap, problem is solved. If light comes back on problem is more serious and a code reader will be necessary.
__________________
Kathy & George Zimm
Mickleton, NJ
2006 Coachman Epic & 2013 Chevy Equinox Toad
George Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 06:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
87Rockwood's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lyons, GA
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Z View Post
Since you know you did something that probably set the code and light,disconnecting The battery for a few minutes will usually clear the code. If it was the cap, problem is solved. If light comes back on problem is more serious and a code reader will be necessary.
But you will have to re-set your radio settings....
87Rockwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 06:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
tyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ottawa ON Canada
Posts: 267
I was just going to suggest disconnecting the battery. While on the subject of gas caps, does anyone have a lock on theirs? It might be a good idea as gas prices keep good up. If I get a gas cap with a lock, does it have to be a Workhorse gas cap?
-----------------------
04 MACA 3778 / 08 CR-V
tyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,358
Hi tyka,
I have locking fuel filler caps on all my vehicles. Take the current cap into any auto parts store. They can be purchased in pairs. One key fits both filler caps.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DandS's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyka View Post
While on the subject of gas caps, does anyone have a lock on theirs? It might be a good idea as gas prices keep good up.
IMO, save your money. I have one but don't use it as it's a hassle to lock/unlock. If thieves really want your gas, they will cut your line anyway, so why bother.
__________________
Dave
2010 Canyon Star 3647
2010 Ford Escape
DandS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87Rockwood View Post
Most of these engine check lights will reset after starting the engine "X" number of times with out any problems-15 times?
That assumes that the code goes away. A fault code can be a passing condition or can indicate a current failure.

All of these things are OBD-II. Just take it by Autozone and have it scanned.. take the time to find the diagnostic port first... On my 99 Vacationer, I had to remove the steering column cover.
cb1000rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bonzocfi's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by DandS View Post
IMO, save your money. I have one but don't use it as it's a hassle to lock/unlock. If thieves really want your gas, they will cut your line anyway, so why bother.
True. But maybe, just maybe, they'll open the fuel door, see the locked cap and move on.
__________________
2005 Dutch Star 4009 - 2006 Toyota Tacoma or 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee

bonzocfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:59 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 736
Just found out how to make the "Check Engine" light go out.............

Pay $329 to have both 02 sensors replaced...
Sequim Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 07:13 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,885
Both going bad is somewhat unusual...
__________________

cb1000rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.