Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-28-2019, 10:15 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
COLD!!! Starter? What have I missed? long post, quick questions

I'm going to do a thorough background on this post. Usually I am told I don't give enough information to answer my question. I'm a total newbie, so I'm learning. My questions are at the end of the post.

I've never owned an RV before, but I've been researching online for about 7 months. I thought I'd be good to go - but researching and doing seem to be two very different experiences!

Three weeks ago I bought and picked up my new-to-me 2000 Newmar Dutch Star DP 3351 RV in Green Bay WI, bought 6 new Michelin x line energy z tires, and drove it to Madison to take a day at the RV school that my inspector runs.

Then I parked the RV a few days at the Days Inn Madison while I started picking up supplies.

On the second day parked, when I went out to the RV to start her, she wouldn't start. I hadn't known to turn the battery switch down by the inverter off. I got it started finally - thank you Coach-Net. The guys that came to jump it got it started, but told me that the starter had been frozen and they'd needed to hammer it to get it to go.