RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2014, 10:53 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,259
Compartment lights

None of my compartment lights are working.
I don't see a main switch like I had on my Ultimate Freedom so I'm leaning towards a fuse. None labeled "compt lt" on panel in front compartment on driver side. Maybe behind power cord reel? Anyone experienced this?
__________________

__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-15-2014, 11:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
bonzocfi's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 436
Mine is located in front of the passenger console which is to the right of the armrest.
__________________

__________________
2005 Dutch Star 4009 - 2006 Toyota Tacoma or 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee

bonzocfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 12:14 PM   #3
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,142
"HHIDan".....I'm too new of a Newmar owner to know the similarities between the MA and my DS, but mine has a switch where "bonzocfi" mentioned. I discovered the fuse panel the other day in the power cord reel bay and I know that the quick look I took, there were entry step fuses there. Maybe related fuses, like the lights are there.

I think I will pull that panel again and make a list of what's there in the power bay to cut down searching in the future.

My Monaco also had an automatic light in the water bay so you didn't have to remember to turn the bay lights switch on inside when you needed a quick look or work in the water bay. My project today is to add a door activated switch.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 12:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,259
Went back to look at passenger console, I had been looking at the top of it from the inside of coach; looked at the front and nothing there.

And thanks Don also. I have door switches on all the doors. My entry step fuse is in that front compartment on driver side... However, no "comp lt" fuse. I suppose I will go look behind the reel.
__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 03:50 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,902
Will this link help you any?
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 04:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,259
Sure enough 007. That document refers to compartment lights as "wrap lights", and states the wrap lights fuse is in the "House Fuse Panel" and sure enough that's where I found a blown fuse!!
007, Did you ever work at Newmar?
__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 06:51 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,902
No but I have visited and been in Newmars since 98 and just have some good memory to keep me going.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 11:56 PM   #8
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,142
After reading this post last night, I decided to go out today, locate all of the fuse panels, and see what they operate. I recorded all of the fuses and circuit breakers in the power reel bay, the front driver's bay and the panel in the 1/2 bath. One of them was labeled "WRAP" and had no clue what that stood for. Now I can rename it.

Lastly, the Freightliner Manual shows a large fuse panel with things like the turn signal fuses and such. I can't find that panel! Anyone know where this panel is on a Dutch Star.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
After reading this post last night, I decided to go out today, locate all of the fuse panels, and see what they operate. I recorded all of the fuses and circuit breakers in the power reel bay, the front driver's bay and the panel in the 1/2 bath. One of them was labeled "WRAP" and had no clue what that stood for. Now I can rename it.

Lastly, the Freightliner Manual shows a large fuse panel with things like the turn signal fuses and such. I can't find that panel! Anyone know where this panel is on a Dutch Star.
The fuse documentation provided by 007 looks to be very accurate. Seems Newmar is consistent throughout their product lineup and throughout the years . Wonder if it makes a dif. yours Freight mine Spartan. Not to mention yours is '14.

My turn signals fuse is labelled Flasher and is in the gray bus box, mid column, 2nd from top. They are all nicely labelled. The green bus board contains fuses for both ignition and battery and the list is taped to the inside of the compt. on the right.

My two fuse panels in the front compartment looks like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2812.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	265.0 KB
ID:	58281   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2815.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	363.8 KB
ID:	58282  

__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:14 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,645
There 3 fuse boxes back in the chassis battery compartment as well.


Power cord compartment
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0621.JPG
Views:	351
Size:	216.5 KB
ID:	58299


Compartment under the driver seat
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6243.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	119.9 KB
ID:	58300


Chassis battery compartment
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6249.jpg
Views:	340
Size:	130.1 KB
ID:	58301


House battery compartment, a large fuse under each cover.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6363.jpg
Views:	264
Size:	117.3 KB
ID:	58302


Not pictured is the mid-bath fuse and breaker panel.

There are breakers on the genny and inverter as well.
__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 02:03 PM   #11
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,142
Thanks John, even though our coaches are only a year different, things are different in mine than yours. I think because you're all electric, my coach batteries are in a different location and configuration. No fuses in the battery bay except a large BUSS fuse.

My power cord bay is the same and I diagrammed and labeled those. The front run bay is the same and I photographed and enlarged the picture of the main board and the inside covers of the two fuse boxes on the sidewall.

My chassis battery bay is different. I have one large box in their, but the diagram on the exterior didn't look like it had fuses, but now that you showed me yours, maybe that's the last panel I'm looking for.

I knew my Monaco inside and out, but that took years of ownership to find everything.

I decided I want a quick guide (paper folder with photos of fuse panels) where I can look at all my fuses at once and then go to where the blown one may be.

I did find one fuse inside the KIB multiplex control box in the half bath. You have to open the box up (three screws) to access. There are also a couple under the dash behind the radio.

Once I find this last box and photo and diagram (if the photo isn't clear), I would be willing to share the enlarged photos and diagrams. The diagrams I'm doing in Word Perfect and are something I don't know how to add to a post. If it can be done and someone can tell me how, I'll add them and if not, I can email them.

These photos aren't great, but are what I'm using for my quick guide. The first two are the covered boxes on the side wall of the front run bay:






This one is against the back wall of the front run bay. it's a little harder to read and is one that I diagrammed in Word Perfect. I have the diagram and photo together in my quick guide:



This is the fuse panel in the 1/2 bath. It has several important fuses that you might typically look for like that "WRAP" fuse which is for the cargo lights.

__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:09 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
slabman's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fairview TX
Posts: 2,270
Mine are labeled "wrap"lights as well-the fuse panel is in the half bath next to the primary electrics. For some reason Newmar "cheaped out" in installing basement lighting, using one light in some instances to light up TWO bays! So I bought 8 more from the Newmar online store for under 6bucks....delivered! (In only two days!) they also sell the pin switch which operates with door opening. I also got a double light to replace that inadequate closet fixture and picked up some LED's to install in them. Sure makes a difference.

One thing I liked about their approach was to run hots to each fixture and use grounds activated by those switches to complete the circuit. This allowed me to light up several lights by opening any sequence of bay doors, thereby illuminating the entire basement space.
__________________
Slabman
2018 Newmar Ventana
2007 Lexus LX470 Toad
slabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:31 PM   #13
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,902
I am going to add this thread in QT's # 3 with the fuse and wiring link there now, lots of good pictures John and Don, thanks.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:36 PM   #14
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,142
I was use to my Monaco utility bay lighting up when I opened the door without having to turn on the basement lights. The Dutch Star has the lights, but you have to remember to turn them on. I added a second light to the utility bay yesterday, using a pin switch that comes on when you open the door. It's powered separately from the other lights.

"slabman" great minds think alike.
__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lights



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Luggage Compartment Lights '02 Fleetwood Expedition DaddyVon Fleetwood Owner's Forum 5 01-29-2014 10:26 PM
Cab Clearance Lights Out MSGulfCoast Monaco Owner's Forum 8 01-21-2014 05:36 PM
led clearance lights and tail lights 97cummins 5th Wheel Discussion 6 09-23-2013 12:55 AM
Wiring suggestions for docking lights Roll RV Systems & Appliances 5 09-09-2013 06:23 AM
Vanity Lights montiem Newmar Owner's Forum 5 06-06-2013 05:36 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×