RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2018, 06:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 250
Converting from 20 amp service

Our 20 amp. service is no longer functioning due to winter weather and flooding. I have to run a new line from the house to the RV. There is another 15 amp line on a different circuit which is close by. Can I merge the two lines to make a 30 amp circuit since both lines have the same neutral leg? I would use a Progressive unit before I hooked it up to prevetnt any damage. Any electrician out there to set me straight!!
__________________

__________________
Geoff & Laura Neumann
2015 Dutch Star 3736
2014 Jeep Grand Blue Ox Air Force One
rg neumann is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-11-2018, 07:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by rg neumann View Post
Our 20 amp. service is no longer functioning due to winter weather and flooding. I have to run a new line from the house to the RV. There is another 15 amp line on a different circuit which is close by. Can I merge the two lines to make a 30 amp circuit since both lines have the same neutral leg? I would use a Progressive unit before I hooked it up to prevetnt any damage. Any electrician out there to set me straight!!
You would need both HOT legs on the same circuit or leg, otherwise you will have 240 volts and a big short circuit.

Not sure what your proposing will meet any electric code.
__________________

twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 07:31 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
just buy a 'dual' 30a to 15a dog bone/adapter and use extension cords to the different outlets, same diff, and a better safer way to accomplish it
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 07:32 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,645
If you only need 110 for the converter, to keep batteries charged and your refrigerator operating a 15 amp service is ample, until you can install correct 30 or 50 amp service.
This link should help you.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 05:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Winemaker2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Western NY
Posts: 2,403
Can you just add a new 30A breaker, wire a new circuit and a 30A 120V outlet? They are not all that expensive.
__________________
Don & Marge
'13 Newmar Ventana 3433 - '14 CR-V TOAD
'03 Winnebago Adventurer 31Y - SOLD
Winemaker2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 05:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterT View Post
just buy a 'dual' 30a to 15a dog bone/adapter and use extension cords to the different outlets, same diff, and a better safer way to accomplish it
The adaptor you propose would need 240 volt sensing, so if you pick the wrong second outlet it doesn't start sparking and trip a breaker.

It will also need relays in it, to protect the end, that is not plugged in, from being energizing by the end that is plugged in.

Then when you find two outlets in the house that are on the same leg, you need to hope they are on seperate breakers, otherwise your back to 15 amps.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 11:36 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,012
Since you have to run a new line anyway, bite the bullit and do at least 30amps. More amps would be better but then more costs.
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2015 Jeep Wrangler 2DR 4WD Sahara, Automatic, Hard Top
wildtoad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 11:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tranquil Jim's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Washington State or Western Montana, depending on the season.
Posts: 3,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by rg neumann View Post
Our 20 amp. service is no longer functioning due to winter weather and flooding. I have to run a new line from the house to the RV. There is another 15 amp line on a different circuit which is close by. Can I merge the two lines to make a 30 amp circuit since both lines have the same neutral leg? I would use a Progressive unit before I hooked it up to prevetnt any damage. Any electrician out there to set me straight!!
No! Not a good idea and would never meet code. If you ever had an insurance claim related to anything electrical, it could be an issue.

As someone else said, since you have to run a new line anyway, do it the correct way and wire it properly. In the long run, it will be far better...and, safer.

TJ
__________________
Jim (W7DHC), Diane & Mini Schnauzers, Lizzy & Ellie
2018 Mountain Aire 4047 + 2014 Honda CR-V "toad" w/AF1
Tranquil Jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 12:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
saddlesore's Avatar
 
Foretravel Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Home is Where WE PARK IT...
Posts: 4,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranquil Jim View Post
No! Not a good idea and would never meet code. If you ever had an insurance claim related to anything electrical, it could be an issue.

As someone else said, since you have to run a new line anyway, do it the correct way and wire it properly. In the long run, it will be far better...and, safer.

TJ
Personally I would just bite the bullet and go with a 50a/30a/20a line and box...The cost difference is minimal between the 50a over the 30a.
The other item to keep in mind is by going with the 50a/30a/20, It is just a "one and done" thing.
Who knows .. in the future you may upgrade your RV and will not have to go back and address upgrading power supply again..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1490 (1).jpg
Views:	15
Size:	209.3 KB
ID:	202411  
__________________
Foretravel with tag axle.
retired truckdriver with 5m miles
Home is Wherever We Park It.
saddlesore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 02:26 PM   #10
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by saddlesore View Post
Personally I would just bite the bullet and go with a 50a/30a/20a line and box...The cost difference is minimal between the 50a over the 30a.
The other item to keep in mind is by going with the 50a/30a/20, It is just a "one and done" thing.
Who knows .. in the future you may upgrade your RV and will not have to go back and address upgrading power supply again..

Agree.
__________________
2010 Newmar Dutch Aire DP 4304-Cummins ISL 425hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 07:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Brews Cruise's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 541
Don't Do It!!!
If both hots are on the same leg, the currents will Add on the neutral. This will overload and overheat the neutral, creating a very dangerous situation. Insulation degradation and a Fire Hazard too. Not worth it! As someone else posted, if the two hots are on opposite legs, you will have 240 volts between them. Good way to burn up anything connected to it that is not rated 240 volts. Not only would either of these be a serious violation of the National Electrical Code. They would also be extremely hazardous to life, safety, and health.
Best bet is to run a brand new circuit from the panel. You can then have a 30 amp circuit. Just make sure the panel has the capacity and the space for an additional circuit breaker. Even better if you can go for the 50/30/20 amp line and box as suggested by Saddlesore. Again, make sure your panel has the amperage capacity and the additional circuit breaker space.
Find a Good electrician. If you find an "electrician" that says you can do what you are asking, run the opposite direction as fast as you can!
BTW, I am a retired electrician with 47 years in the trade prior to retirement. Stay safe!!
__________________

__________________
Ken & Ara Brewer
2016 Newmar Canyon Star 3710; F53 26000 GVWR, 6-speed. 2014 V-6 Chevy Equinox Toad, Demco Tow Bar, SMI Duo braking.
Brews Cruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
coach 50 amp shore power not converting to 20 amp at box Savanah Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 08-06-2017 12:02 AM
Converting 50 amp to 30 kwayRN 5th Wheel Discussion 28 04-18-2016 07:27 AM
converting from 20 amp to 50 amp Jimdel41 iRV2.com General Discussion 6 01-22-2015 02:47 PM
Converting to 30 Amp donandmax Class A Motorhome Discussions 23 01-03-2012 08:57 AM
Converting 30 to 50 Amp Shore Service JohnITG iRV2.com General Discussion 21 12-13-2011 09:03 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.