RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2017, 03:18 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
wepinegar's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mound, MN
Posts: 183
Dish Satellite Set-up

I am having the Winegard Automatic Open Face Satellite installed on my coach. I have been using the Dish 211 receiver in my former MH and I need to get a new one. So what are you using with this satellite for best results and is there anything I need to be sure is installed by Newmar? It goes into production soon!

I use the Hopper & Joey at the stick house!

Thanks for any advice!
__________________

__________________
Bill & Becky Pinegar
2018 Newmar Ventana 3709
2016 Fiat 500 Sport
wepinegar is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-29-2017, 04:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,400
You could take the Hopper to the coach if you want to move it back and forth. If the Joey is a wireless then that could also be moved.

If you want something permenate then buy a couple of Wally's. They work well with the Winegard system. Pretty compact as well.
__________________

__________________
Gary 2017 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan
HWH Active Air Centramatic wheel balancers
Box Elder, SD and the road
ghaynes754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
TLGPE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CLEARWATER, FLORIDA
Posts: 978
Echo that. The Hopper is a better choice, as you already know, but either the Wally (211w) or the Hopper has the RF remote, which is a lot better than the 211z.

Tom
__________________
Tom & Jan ---- Westwing43 (RVM28)
2008 NEWMAR MOUNTAIN AIRE 4528
Pulling a 2014 CHEVY CAPTIVA
TLGPE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 09:19 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wepinegar's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mound, MN
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghaynes754 View Post
You could take the Hopper to the coach if you want to move it back and forth. If the Joey is a wireless then that could also be moved.

If you want something permenate then buy a couple of Wally's. They work well with the Winegard system. Pretty compact as well.
Thanks both of you - sort of what I thought - the Wally's apparently work independently - I am guessing there is no DVR function with the Wally?
__________________
Bill & Becky Pinegar
2018 Newmar Ventana 3709
2016 Fiat 500 Sport
wepinegar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 09:34 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
We_B_Tripn's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 1,020
You can attach a USB hard drive to a Wally to have DVR functionality. But it there is only one tuner in the Wally so you cannot record one show and watch another with the out of the box setup. There is also a one time fee for such functionality.

Bill
__________________
Bill and Dustee and the Kids
2018 Newmar Bay Star 3406
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
FMCA: F482061 | NKK: 22422
We_B_Tripn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 10:01 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wepinegar's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mound, MN
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by We_B_Tripn View Post
You can attach a USB hard drive to a Wally to have DVR functionality. But it there is only one tuner in the Wally so you cannot record one show and watch another with the out of the box setup. There is also a one time fee for such functionality.

Bill
Man they make it hard - I look at my coach as my second home and just want it to work like my stick house! And I really do not like moving things back and forth! But thank you because you are confirming exactly what I thought - but was hoping wasn't true! So do others get the Hopper and joey set up to solve this problem?
__________________
Bill & Becky Pinegar
2018 Newmar Ventana 3709
2016 Fiat 500 Sport
wepinegar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 10:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 198
VIP722k
Calpop45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 11:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wepinegar's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mound, MN
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by kortan01 View Post
VIP722k
That is what I have been using but it only has one tuner!
__________________
Bill & Becky Pinegar
2018 Newmar Ventana 3709
2016 Fiat 500 Sport
wepinegar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 1,282
We have hopper and joey for home and RV. Nothing to move that way. Tell dish itís for RV. Itís cheaper that way.
__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. Spartan chassis w/full disc brakes. 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 02:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wepinegar's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mound, MN
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stretch View Post
We have hopper and joey for home and RV. Nothing to move that way. Tell dish itís for RV. Itís cheaper that way.
That was the conclusion I was arriving at! Thanks! Do I need to have Newmar do any special wiring??
__________________
Bill & Becky Pinegar
2018 Newmar Ventana 3709
2016 Fiat 500 Sport
wepinegar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 03:04 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 1,282
dish

No need to call Newmar. IF the antenna was installed by Newmar it is installed with wire from antenna right at the proper compartment just call Dish and ask for the proper receiver for a Joey. BTW be sure Newmar installed the HD antenna.
__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. Spartan chassis w/full disc brakes. 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 03:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by wepinegar View Post
That is what I have been using but it only has one tuner!

No, the 722 has two tuners. In fact, ANY Dish receiver that the middle number is a "2", means it has 2 tuners. If you've been using a 722 and think it only has one tuner....I'm amazed.

I take both of my 722k(s) with me and connect one to the bedroom tv and the other to the living room tv. This gives each tv complete and separate connection, playing, recording capabilities and HD on both tv's. If you have one 722, then the 2nd tuner will only play in SD, so one of the tv's won't have HD.

Ron
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 03:38 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,401
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by wepinegar View Post
That is what I have been using but it only has one tuner!

No, the 722 has two tuners. In fact, ANY Dish receiver that the middle number is a "2", means it has 2 tuners. If you've been using a 722 and think it only has one tuner....I'm amazed.

I take both of my 722k(s) with me and connect one to the bedroom tv and the other to the living room tv. This gives each tv complete and separate connection, playing, recording capabilities and HD on both tv's. If you have one 722, then the 2nd tuner will only play in SD, so one of the tv's won't have HD.

Ron
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 04:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wepinegar's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mound, MN
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by lanerd View Post
No, the 722 has two tuners. In fact, ANY Dish receiver that the middle number is a "2", means it has 2 tuners. If you've been using a 722 and think it only has one tuner....I'm amazed.

I take both of my 722k(s) with me and connect one to the bedroom tv and the other to the living room tv. This gives each tv complete and separate connection, playing, recording capabilities and HD on both tv's. If you have one 722, then the 2nd tuner will only play in SD, so one of the tv's won't have HD.

Ron
You are right - that 722 number looked correct - but that is not the unit I have been using - it was the 211 - the doubled digits befuddled this experienced mind!!
__________________

__________________
Bill & Becky Pinegar
2018 Newmar Ventana 3709
2016 Fiat 500 Sport
wepinegar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite TV / Dish Playmaker Satellite Dish afsgtret Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 04-21-2017 09:56 AM
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.