RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2016, 06:29 AM   #1
Member
 
cstar5634's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 53
Dometic CCC2 Thermostat "E1" Error Code Repeating

The subject thermostat in my 2015 Ventana (all electric) keeps going into "E1" Communications error code in both heat pump and hydronic heat modes. Took the coach to Independence RV in Orlando who found phone type connections on roof A/C units were clogged with wood and Styrofoam chunks so they replaced these connections. Heat pumps worked for a few days (we're currently in Southern Florida), but woke up this morning with E1 code again. This has been an intermittent problem since we've owned the coach but failures are now much more frequent. Considering whether to take it back to Independence or back to the factory to try to get this resolved once and for all.

Writing this to see if there are others in this forum community that might have dealt with this same issue and what their ultimate solution was.

Thanks for everyones input.
__________________

__________________
Dave & Judy
2015 Newmar Ventana 4003 - All Electric - 400 ISL
2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee
cstar5634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-29-2016, 07:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 408
Replacing the RJ11 com cable ends was a good attempt by Independence RV at curing the problem.


Since that failed to repair you are looking at replacing your com cable from #1 a/c (front) to CC2 thermostat. Last year I replace all three Dometic Heat Pumps and had to run a new com line between #2 and # 3 Penguin II's due to a one open wire.

Try running a temporary RJ11 cable from CC2, out the window/door to #1 A/C. If this works you know absolutely it is that run. Other thing you need to know is that the pin out of the com cable is not just telephone cable it is special to com cable. See page 9 of attached PDF for your CC2 thermostat.

You can buy the loose RJ 11 ends and the crimping tool at Home Depot. Run the com cable all the way to your roof top control board. Do not use the short com cable connector at A/C. It has reverse pin out that corrects the normal Newmar installed telephone run. If you do not want to make your own com cable you can run telephone RJ11 cable to the short connector to you # 1 A/c control board. It is harder to put in words just than show you but it is all I have to communicate with you.


Here is the $79 Klein VDV Scout Pro 2 Tester Kit
testing tool. Bought at Home Depot. Found that found the open wire. It shows pin out too.






Crimper:



Good Luck!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Page 9 only CCCII.pdf (830.5 KB, 64 views)
__________________

shaman52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 09:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,400
I bought the Klein tester so that I had a faster way to check Ethernet and coax cables. Great tool that is easy to use and will find any issues with your wiring.
__________________
Gary 2017 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan
HWH Active Air Centramatic wheel balancers
Box Elder, SD and the road
ghaynes754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Analog Thermostat Compatability Cougarkid RV Systems & Appliances 10 12-19-2016 05:42 AM
Dometic A/C Thermostat Replacement Problems tredavon2100 RV Systems & Appliances 5 10-29-2015 12:53 AM
R Pod / Dometic - Bypass AC and run thermostat directly to furnace? Bradley1 RV Systems & Appliances 6 04-02-2015 05:03 PM
Replacing Dometic 5-button Comfort Control Center Thermostat Vanwill Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-09-2015 08:54 AM
Dometic Duo thermostat goes blank Bespos RV Systems & Appliances 9 02-16-2015 10:15 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.