Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2017, 08:35 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magredvet View Post
If you need to replace the CCC2, I just found one on ebay, from "big daddy rv parts" for $71, with free shipping.
I bought mine to do some diagnostics, but for $71 I'll keep it as a spare....
Thanks. I checked him out, but he only has it in black. I know the pic shows that color, but mine is white. I'll find a white one.
Thanks again
__________________

__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-10-2017, 08:38 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
Probably. Further diagnostics would require going on the roof, removing shrouds from Unit 1 and Unit 2, setting the dipswitches to swap Unit 1 and 2, and resetting the CCC2. If the CCC2 now indicates correctly on Zone 1 (which is now Unit 2 with it's remote sensor), the likely failure is the CCC2 integral sensor.
Thanks for the help. I'm going to order a new thermostat and hopefully I can avoid going on the roof until next year.

Thanks, I'll post findings when I know
__________________

__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 05:20 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Well, my new Thermostat came today. Plugged it in and initialized it, still reads 32 degrees in zone 1. I'll delve into it further when I get to Florida in a week. (Warmer weather) We're leaving Branson, MO tomorrow.
I'll let everyone know what I find.
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 08:21 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjlunda View Post
Well, my new Thermostat came today. Plugged it in and initialized it, still reads 32 degrees in zone 1. I'll delve into it further when I get to Florida in a week. (Warmer weather) We're leaving Branson, MO tomorrow.
I'll let everyone know what I find.
I think you will need to get on the roof, pull the shroud of the front unit, and look to see if you have a cable plugged into the remote sensor socket ... maybe you actually have one.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 03:06 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
I think you will need to get on the roof, pull the shroud of the front unit, and look to see if you have a cable plugged into the remote sensor socket ... maybe you actually have one.
I'll check it out in a couple weeks. I want to wait until we get to our friends where we can dig into it.
Thanks and I'll post when we find the issue.
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 05:44 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
I think you will need to get on the roof, pull the shroud of the front unit, and look to see if you have a cable plugged into the remote sensor socket ... maybe you actually have one.
Just to keep you updated, I WILL need to go on the roof. It seems "007" is right, Vibration is our friend?! Stopped for tonight, after bouncing down Hwy 65, in Conway, AR. Checked the Thermostat (hoping for a change) and low and behold it had fixed itself! Gotta love these Newmars! Will be on the roof when we get to Florida to check all connections.

Thanks again for your help.
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:06 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjlunda View Post
Just to keep you updated, I WILL need to go on the roof. It seems "007" is right, Vibration is our friend?! Stopped for tonight, after bouncing down Hwy 65, in Conway, AR. Checked the Thermostat (hoping for a change) and low and behold it had fixed itself! Gotta love these Newmars! Will be on the roof when we get to Florida to check all connections.

Thanks again for your help.
If it turns out you have a remote sensor plugged in, see if you can find it. There have been instances of an installer dropping the end into a duct (usually the warm side) rather than installing it on the interior wall.

You may want to start another thread with a title like "Where is my sensor" to see if another owner of your model can offer advice on location.

BTW, I have 4 sensors ... 1 near cockpit, 1 aft of long slide, 1 in hall bath (HydroHot), and 1 aft in bedroom.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:16 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
MCJones's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Western NC -Cherokee area
Posts: 370
Our 08 had some A/c issues last year. For us the entire problem was solved by cleaning the contact points of the communication wires ( much like phone wire connectors). It is the first thing I caution people to look into before spending a lot of money. hope this might help -mark
__________________
Mark
08 Dutch Star 4354, 2017 Wrangler JKU w/rv brake2, blue ox tow bars, Rockhard front bumper with tow fittings.
MCJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 11:56 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Magredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjlunda View Post
Just to keep you updated, I WILL need to go on the roof. It seems "007" is right, Vibration is our friend?! Stopped for tonight, after bouncing down Hwy 65, in Conway, AR. Checked the Thermostat (hoping for a change) and low and behold it had fixed itself! Gotta love these Newmars! Will be on the roof when we get to Florida to check all connections.

Thanks again for your help.
Just to let you know, that in my case, the inside temp will occasionally read right, and the unit will function ok. Very next day it's back to misbehaving.
Since I just had the unit replaced, I am now beginning to suspect the comm cable connection. I am going to try and get on the roof this weekend, and fix it for good. I have a spare thermostat, and will get a spare comm cable (as suggested by (bruceisla), and if it works, then I'm going to try and clean the ends and reseat.
I'll let you know if it fixes my issue, and it'll give you somewhere to start.
I completely replaced the remote sensor, and it didn't cure my issue.
__________________
2015 Dutch Star 4381
Workin on the road
Currently Houston Tx
Magredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 12:52 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magredvet View Post
Just to let you know, that in my case, the inside temp will occasionally read right, and the unit will function ok. Very next day it's back to misbehaving.
Since I just had the unit replaced, I am now beginning to suspect the comm cable connection. I am going to try and get on the roof this weekend, and fix it for good. I have a spare thermostat, and will get a spare comm cable (as suggested by (bruceisla), and if it works, then I'm going to try and clean the ends and reseat.
I'll let you know if it fixes my issue, and it'll give you somewhere to start.
I completely replaced the remote sensor, and it didn't cure my issue.
You may want to just buy the telco connector crimping tool and some new connectors. Simple tool to replace a connector and you only need to cut off about an inch of the cable. You can get them locally at Loews/HD.
https://www.amazon.com/TOOTO-Crimpin...+tool+ethernet
.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 03:06 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Thanks for the suggestions. It may be a couple weeks, but will get back to all on this subject.
Thanks again
__________________

__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Dometic 5-button Comfort Control Center Thermostat Vanwill Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-09-2015 08:54 AM
Dometic duo therm comfort control thermostat not cycling joeplazek Monaco Owner's Forum 13 10-05-2013 09:18 PM
DuoTherm Comfort Control Thermostat omegacanuck Newmar Owner's Forum 14 05-25-2013 06:31 PM
Comfort Control Thermostat rivrduk National RV Owner's Forum 11 11-22-2011 12:55 PM
Comfort Control Thermostat - how does it work?? Darryl MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 06-11-2008 08:15 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.