Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2017, 10:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Dometic Comfort Control Thermostat

I have encountered an issue in my 2006 Mountain Aire.

We have Hydro Hot for heat and the temp control for Zone 1 shows inside temperature of 32 degrees even though the temperature is 68.
Zone 2 works as it should showing 68 inside temp while set at this temp.

There are NO error codes.
Any Ideas?
Thanks

This is the control board only we don't have the dehumidify button.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dometic.png
Views:	35
Size:	162.0 KB
ID:	182425  
__________________

__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-09-2017, 10:37 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
cruzbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 1,489
Could try the 'initialize' procedure:


https://comnet2.newmarcorp.com/insta...2013DMCCC2.pdf
__________________

__________________
Bill, Kathi and Zorro; '05 Beaver Patriot Thunder
2012 Sunnybrook Harmony 21FBS (SQEZINN)
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
cruzbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 11:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Yeah, tried that. Wondering where the Zone 1 sensor is located?
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 11:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Magredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 139
Read my saga about my Dutch star, doing the same thing, mine started when I changed an AC unit. I've been chasing this for 3 months now. I replaced the thermistor..board and harness....no change. Bruceisla gave me some troubleshooting tips, and I have a new CCC2 thermostat coming tomorrow.
I'll let you know how it pans out. Please let me know if you solve it......it has been driving me nuts for months now !
__________________
2015 Dutch Star 4381
Workin on the road
Currently Houston Tx
Magredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 03:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjlunda View Post
Yeah, tried that. Wondering where the Zone 1 sensor is located?
Typically, Zone 1 is in the front. Mine is on the passenger side wall between the passenger seat and the slide wall ... about 5 feet up (I have 3 A/Cs). If you have 2 A/Cs, the Unit 1 (usually Zone 1) sensor could be anywhere between the front of the RV and roughly the midpoint of the RV.

Note: On Unit 1, if there is no remote sensor, it utilizes the sensor within the CCC2.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 03:18 PM   #6
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,502
In the coach's your age with the four button control the temp ssensor was in the control for temp in your living area.
The dip switch's in ac control board have to be set for furnace.
AC CONTROLS ARE IN QT's 1 & 2.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 03:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kamloops, BC. Canada
Posts: 836
Just replaced my AC's and had the same control thermostat installed.
We also have Aquahot.

Our AH has three zones, each zone has its own thermostat that controls
the AH heating.
We did not program the new comfort control into the AH. (simple is as simple does)
We found out that the "only" thermostat for the AC was in the kitchen area.
The rear AC temp was set for 70 and so was the front.
The rear kept running and the temp went down to 60.
The front ran until the temp was down to 70.
The AC's do not have separate thermostats wired into the control.
We foundwe needed to set the rear at 75 and the front at 70 to
have both runon auto. The inside temp then read 70.

Unless you have separate thermostats you will need to adjust your
front and rear. We have not tried the heat pumps yet as we prefer
using Aquahot.
__________________
luckyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 03:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjlunda View Post
I have encountered an issue in my 2006 Mountain Aire.

We have Hydro Hot for heat and the temp control for Zone 1 shows inside temperature of 32 degrees even though the temperature is 68.
Zone 2 works as it should showing 68 inside temp while set at this temp.

There are NO error codes.
Any Ideas?
Thanks

This is the control board only we don't have the dehumidify button.
Did this CCC2 thermostat ever work?
When was your Mountaine Aire converted to the CCC2 thermostat?

Just to clear up descriptions, the CCC2 is a thermostat and the actual "control board" is in the topside A/C unit.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 03:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckyd View Post
Just replaced my AC's and had the same control thermostat installed.
We also have Aquahot.

Our AH has three zones, each zone has its own thermostat that controls
the AH heating.
We did not program the new comfort control into the AH. (simple is as simple does)
We found out that the "only" thermostat for the AC was in the kitchen area.
The rear AC temp was set for 70 and so was the front.
The rear kept running and the temp went down to 60.
The front ran until the temp was down to 70.
The AC's do not have separate thermostats wired into the control.
We foundwe needed to set the rear at 75 and the front at 70 to
have both runon auto. The inside temp then read 70.

Unless you have separate thermostats you will need to adjust your
front and rear. We have not tried the heat pumps yet as we prefer
using Aquahot.
Do you mean thermostat (CCC or CCC2) or do you mean temperature sensor?
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 07:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Bruceisla, It's the one pictured in the original post, minus the dehumidify and outside temp buttons. Is that just a CCC or a CCC2? To answer the question, did it ever work, it was fine up to yesterday.
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 05:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjlunda View Post
Bruceisla, It's the one pictured in the original post, minus the dehumidify and outside temp buttons. Is that just a CCC or a CCC2? To answer the question, did it ever work, it was fine up to yesterday.
The thermostat you pictured (black with blue circular display) is a CCC2.

Have you located a remote sensor? It's about the size of a golf ball that was cut in half and has vent holes in it. If there is no remote sensor, the sensor within the CCC2 is used.


Here's the diagnostics for the CCC2:
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc2diagnostics.pdf

Is the HydroHot controlled by the CCC2?

I should have asked sooner .... when the Zone 1 is reading 32 inside, does the front A/C work correctly (you will need to turn off Zone 2 to determine if the front A/C is cycling). ?
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 07:25 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
The thermostat you pictured (black with blue circular display) is a CCC2.

Have you located a remote sensor? It's about the size of a golf ball that was cut in half and has vent holes in it. If there is no remote sensor, the sensor within the CCC2 is used.


Here's the diagnostics for the CCC2:
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc2diagnostics.pdf

Is the HydroHot controlled by the CCC2?

I should have asked sooner .... when the Zone 1 is reading 32 inside, does the front A/C work correctly (you will need to turn off Zone 2 to determine if the front A/C is cycling). ?
I have run diagnostics. Front air works, (compressor, fans, etc.)
It will not cycle (because the temp reads 32 degrees) for normal operation.

Hydro Hot is controlled by the Thermostat.
I have hunted in the living area for a sensor, but haven't seen anything that could be a sensor.
I have located the rear sensor. The rear air will cycle, however, we are currently in cool temps, so we are using the Hydro Hot.
If the sensor is in the CCC2, then I should be looking to replace it?
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 08:27 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Magredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 139
If you need to replace the CCC2, I just found one on ebay, from "big daddy rv parts" for $71, with free shipping.
I bought mine to do some diagnostics, but for $71 I'll keep it as a spare....
__________________
2015 Dutch Star 4381
Workin on the road
Currently Houston Tx
Magredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 08:31 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjlunda View Post
I have run diagnostics. Front air works, (compressor, fans, etc.)
It will not cycle (because the temp reads 32 degrees) for normal operation.

Hydro Hot is controlled by the Thermostat.
I have hunted in the living area for a sensor, but haven't seen anything that could be a sensor.
I have located the rear sensor. The rear air will cycle, however, we are currently in cool temps, so we are using the Hydro Hot.
If the sensor is in the CCC2, then I should be looking to replace it?
Probably. Further diagnostics would require going on the roof, removing shrouds from Unit 1 and Unit 2, setting the dipswitches to swap Unit 1 and 2, and resetting the CCC2. If the CCC2 now indicates correctly on Zone 1 (which is now Unit 2 with it's remote sensor), the likely failure is the CCC2 integral sensor.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Dometic 5-button Comfort Control Center Thermostat Vanwill Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-09-2015 08:54 AM
Dometic duo therm comfort control thermostat not cycling joeplazek Monaco Owner's Forum 13 10-05-2013 09:18 PM
DuoTherm Comfort Control Thermostat omegacanuck Newmar Owner's Forum 14 05-25-2013 06:31 PM
Comfort Control Thermostat rivrduk National RV Owner's Forum 11 11-22-2011 12:55 PM
Comfort Control Thermostat - how does it work?? Darryl MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 06-11-2008 08:15 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.