RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2019, 06:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 136
Dometic Penguin 2 Install issues

I have a 2005 Newmar Dutchstar. Last summer our front AC unit totally failed so we had to replace it with the Dometic Penguin 2 641816C. We had a trip to Florida upcoming so were under a time crunch. The guy who installed it was a pretty new RV tech, but beggars can't be choosers. We determined that we had to get the CCC2 Thermostat. Our rear AC/Heat pump was always the better one but unfortunately wasn't compatible with the CCC2 thermostat. We even purchased a board for the rear unit so it would work but it never did, to say the least our week in Florida in June with just one AC unit was tough.


We saved our pennies and purchased a Dometic Penguin 2 65186C heat pump. This weekend has been dedicated to that install. The problems are as follows:


When I try to reset the CCC2 thermostat by simultaneously pressing the MODE and ZONE buttons the "Init" never shows. It used to until I added the second system.


When the front AC and CCC2 was installed the furnace never showed up, on the old system using the CCC thermostat I had access to it.


I suspect it's a DIP switch setting on the units. On the front unit which is Zone1, all the DIP switches are set to off. The rear unit, Zone2, has DIP2 set for Zone2, DIP7 for Heat Pump, and DIP8 for furnace (just a guess on my part). The unit arrived with DIP7 already set.


I know it communicates successfully with the CCC2. When I first set it up I didn't have DIP2 set for Zone2. As a result I had an error code of E1, switching DIP2 to on resolved that issue.


I'm not sure what the DIPs should be set to on the front AC. Or if I'm way off base any help would greatly be appreciated.


Thanks,


Mitch
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Dutchstar 4010, Spartan Chassis
Blue Ox Avanta LX towbar, AF One Brake System
2013 Ford Fusion
Mitchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-17-2019, 06:49 PM   #2
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 12,414
I can't be much help, but I would guess the front unit should have the Furnace Dip Switch turned on for starters and the rear Furnace Dip Switch off.

Check page 5 of this document....http://bryantrv.com/docs2/temp/ccc5-2.pdf

Found another post.....Read post #11 A/C dip switch
__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 06:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 136
Thanks, I'll do that first thing in the morning, wasn't sure which one it should be set on. It does make sense that it should be on the front AC, I'm not sure how it communicates with the furnace. I'll pull the cover off and see what wiring is going on in there.


Thanks
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutchstar 4010, Spartan Chassis
Blue Ox Avanta LX towbar, AF One Brake System
2013 Ford Fusion
Mitchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:16 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
veraken's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,325
Here are a few pdfs which may help you. See page 12 of install pdf
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Dometic CCC 2 Operating Instructions.pdf (539.2 KB, 6 views)
File Type: pdf Dometic Comfort Control II Troubleshooting.pdf (37.3 KB, 9 views)
File Type: pdf Dometic CCC2 Installation.pdf (2.20 MB, 8 views)
__________________
Vera & Ken
1998 Holiday Rambler Imperial, RR8S Chassis
Cummins 6C8.3 mechanical engine, 325HP, 3060 Allison
Towing 2014 Ford Explorer
veraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Packing up!
Posts: 6,758
This is a topside board that matches a CCC2 thermostat. Normally, switch 1 (External Stage) is off, Switch 2, 3 or 4 will be set ON to match unit zone number, Stage OFF, Heat strip OFF, Heat Pump ON, normally Furnace will be ON in unit 1 and OFF in unit 2, Dehumidify OFF, normally Gen Start OFF.

Unit 1 is selected by having the first 4 switches OFF. In other words, if you DON'T select zone 2, 3, or 4 it will default to zone 1.


Unless things have recently changed, there is NO Adapter Board available for an older Duotherm/Penguin that will make it work with a new CCC2.


__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 04:51 PM   #6
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 12,414
"bruceisla"....One of the links I posted above was yours.....glad you jumped in, seems like you have a handle on this. Hopefully the OP can get it going.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Packing up!
Posts: 6,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
"bruceisla"....One of the links I posted above was yours.....glad you jumped in, seems like you have a handle on this. Hopefully the OP can get it going.

Gettin' hot already !! .... changing A/C filters tomorrow.

....leaving Florida April 1 ....
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 136
I appreciate everyone's input.


Here's where I'm at now:


On unit 1, the rocker switches are all off except the furnace, it's now set to one.


On unit 2, rocker switch 2 is on so it identifies it as Zone2. And switch 7 is set for the heat pump.


My main concern right now is that I can't do a system reset on the CCC2 by pressing the MODE and ZONE buttons simultaneously. It will not do a system reset. I think if I can figure that out that things just may work. I can control the AC on unit1, not that AC is needed right now, my point is that I see no errors on the display.


Thanks for all your help,


Mitch.
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutchstar 4010, Spartan Chassis
Blue Ox Avanta LX towbar, AF One Brake System
2013 Ford Fusion
Mitchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Packing up!
Posts: 6,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchone View Post

When I try to reset the CCC2 thermostat by simultaneously pressing the MODE and ZONE buttons the "Init" never shows. It used to until I added the second system.

Mitch

The CCC2 must be OFF when you do the reset.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 136
Based on a troubleshooting document for the CCC2, I tried to enter the diagnostics mode by pushing Program/FAN/C/F buttons simultaneously and once again nothing happened.


However, some good news. The furnace did show up on the mode section and it does work, so it seems as if everything on system1 is good to go.


Thanks
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutchstar 4010, Spartan Chassis
Blue Ox Avanta LX towbar, AF One Brake System
2013 Ford Fusion
Mitchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 05:55 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 136
When you say OFF, I assume you mean the menu selection in mode. Unless you mean Power Off, which is something I haven't tried.


Thanks
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutchstar 4010, Spartan Chassis
Blue Ox Avanta LX towbar, AF One Brake System
2013 Ford Fusion
Mitchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 06:08 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 136
I'm actually a very good reader, except when it counts, evidently.


I turned the System OFF and pushed the appropriate buttons and it actually picked up the second zone, I tested the Heat Pump and it actually worked.


All problems solved, now all I need to do is bolt it down. What size lag bolts should I use. The ones I took out of the old unit seemed a bit on the skinny side, but it held it on there quite well.


Thanks so much for everyone's help, I've definitely put way too much effort into something that should have been solved early Sunday if I would've tried shutting off the system.


Thanks again
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutchstar 4010, Spartan Chassis
Blue Ox Avanta LX towbar, AF One Brake System
2013 Ford Fusion
Mitchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:51 PM   #13
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 12,414
Glad to see you got it working. Use the bolts it came with and snug the unit....don't overtighten or you'll crush the foam gasket.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 04:33 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Packing up!
Posts: 6,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
Glad to see you got it working. Use the bolts it came with and snug the unit....don't overtighten or you'll crush the foam gasket.

And don't forget the special dogleg gasket !!!!
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, install



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Penguin II Install Fail TechWriter Newmar Owner's Forum 2 07-23-2018 09:07 PM
Replace older Dometic Penguin Heat Pumps with Newest Penguin II Units. shaman52 Newmar Owner's Forum 25 07-21-2017 06:58 AM
In search of penguin II HP install manual owr Newmar Owner's Forum 3 03-06-2017 05:32 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.