Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-07-2017, 01:11 AM   #1

Evaluating Camp Sites for Leveling Jacks

My travel trailer had manual jacks so I am new to the auto leveling jack systems. My parents said be careful of unlevel campsites because they can cause the front windshield to pop out in extreme cases. I was also told that the tires should not be raised off of the ground. On a trip from IL to FL every time I used the jacks all 4 tires were still on the ground. Ironically last week at my home campgrounds I thought the site was fairly level but after the jacks set up the front tires were off the ground maybe 2 inches. While I was watching the front jacks I noticed the jacks were extended much more than normal.

Is there a way the system can tell you if the site isn't suitable before the jacks extend? Or how do you evaluate or assess a site to see if it is usable?

Is it true the windshields can pop out?
rowekmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!