RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2019, 11:56 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Fuse blows with no switch activation

2011 Essex, fuse F12 in electronics bay has a problem. Where can I find a J3 plug wire termination schematic? Newmar refuses to provide any type of source data
__________________

Jeffreypont is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-02-2019, 05:00 PM   #2
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 3,150
Your subject is Fuse blows with no switch activation, which switch is suspect?Is f12 a self-re-setting CB?
__________________

__________________
Rick and Larrie Dee
1997 40' Newmar London Aire DP CTA 8.3 (Mechanical) 325 Spartan MM
Bringing her back to her glory.
'08 Jeep GC Overland.
RKins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 12:50 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
The fuse isn't resettable. Just a standard 2 pole 7.5 brown fuse. F12 controls my 2 visor shades and 2 sun shades, which none work
Jeffreypont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 03:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lake McClure, CA
Posts: 703
I would start with disconnecting power (or unplug) at the shades and see if the fuse blows. Connect one at a time and see if the fuse blows.

Take pictures before disconnecting
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan Chassis
2016 Jeep Cherokee, 1952 Willys CJ3A
10 fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 12:55 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
So I have done that by disconnecting the accessory wires at the switches with no luck. When I disconnect J3 connector in the electronics bay the fuse does not blow. My problem seems to be the orange wire common to pin 5, J3 connector. That orange wire goes from the KIB circuit board, into the coach, back to the electronics bay and to the relay board via a connector. When I disconnect the connector at the relay board I still blow a fuse. So the short is between J3 connector, pin 5 to before the momentary switches.

Now, if I just had a schematic to show me where pin 5 terminates....
Jeffreypont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 04:08 PM   #6
ptw
Senior Member
 
ptw's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 844
This is the drawing I have for my 2017 Dutch Star.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7989.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	331.0 KB
ID:	248524  
__________________
Paul, Christy and Leap
2017 Dutch Star 4018, 2017 Jeep Wrangler
ptw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 09:53 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Thank you for the drawing. I have this drawing. Would you happen to have a drawing of where exactly pin 5 wire goes to? It's going somewhere before the switches which is where I think my problem is. Orange wire comes off of pin 5 but all 4 power wires are red
Jeffreypont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 05:29 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
So I found the smoking gun! J3 connector goes to KIB CONMNL12, located under the drivers left control panel. Board is shorted out. With the connector to the board disconnected F12 fuse does not blow. It sure would be nice to have access to the source data......
__________________

Jeffreypont is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse blows when dash air switch is rotated to ac Rickmd00 National RV Owner's Forum 8 05-06-2015 10:17 PM
Fuse Blows- "40A IGN A" fuse - HELP!! jntrox Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 7 08-05-2012 07:19 PM
Exhaust brake activation wagonmaster2 Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 18 12-22-2006 06:24 PM
Sirius Radio Activation Pushrod Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 10-28-2006 07:12 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.