RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2015, 05:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
CHIEFBEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
GFCI Circut No Power

My Kountry Star 3706 DP , the 110v circuit that is in the kitchen (2 separate outlets, street slide( 2 outlets) and behind passenger seat( 1 outlet) have no power. The GFCI outlet is in the kitchen and the best I can determine with a meter there is no power to this receptacle. All of the circuit breakers in the fuse panel, located in the bedroom, have been checked and are good, any ideas on where the source of the power to the GFCI in the kitchen might be located?
__________________

CHIEFBEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-27-2015, 05:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,831
Check the breaker/s on your inverter.....
__________________

__________________
2012 Essex 4544 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006 Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,518
Hi CHIEFBEN,
Your coach came standard without an inverter. The original owner could have optioned at 400 WATT inverter. A 400 WATT inverter is usually there to power a TV and other entertainment appliances.

If you are not the original owner, please determine if you have and inverter. Then find the circuit breaker. It could be a button breaker or a lever/switch breaker. This may fix the problem.

However, I would be surprised if the outlets you described are inverter powered unless the original owner installed a larger inverter and had the coach circuits rewired. If you have reset the GFCI's and still have no power, consider:

1. Check the actual wire coming to the GFCI. Do not check for power via the receptacle outlet. If there is power on the wire and no power at the receptacle the receptacle is bad.

2. Check to make sure you have power (via the wire) to each of the breakers.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 08:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bill Hunt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Waynesboro MS
Posts: 462
I had the same problem in my 2005 3720KSDP. I asked one of the tech's at the Tampa rally and he said check the inverter breaker in the electrical bay on passenger side behind rear wheels.
That was it. Breaker is on the left side of the inverter.
__________________
Bill & Sandy Hunt
2017 Ventanna LE 4037, 2014 F-150 4 door & Cricket
Newmar Kountry Klub, Peach State Krackers
Newmar Hoots looking for a roost
Bill Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 07:44 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,039
The small inverter for TV-DVD cabinet and one outlet near passenger seat has a GFI outlet on it that needs to be reset.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:29 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
CHIEFBEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks for the suggestions, however the Inverter outlets for the TV are working. I think a call to Newmar may be next step.
CHIEFBEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 04:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,831
In your original post , you stated that you had a voltage meter, start at the electric panel, check voltage on all the breaker's, then move on to the outlets, sooner or later ,you will find out where the voltage stops, and your problem starts.........you might have to pull outlets out of the walls to troubleshoot them, when you get close to the problem area.
__________________
2012 Essex 4544 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006 Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 06:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,518
Hi CHIEFBEN,
Please re-read post #3, item #1. Gut feel says the outlet is bad. I've replaced several of these in the past. Calling Newmar is a good thing to do, but you may have the solution right in front of you.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 10:43 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 647
There are other things on that 120Volt circuit, like a 120V appliance...is that working? The 120VAC breaker panel should be feeding 120VAC outlets, 120VAC lights, and 120 VAC appliances. If everything else 120 VAC is working that tells you that maybe GaryKD is right that your conclusion that no power was going to the outlet is rather that no power was coming out of the outlet???

If you have several 120VAC circuits, then you only need be concerned about that particular 120VAC circuit if all else is working, which limits your troubleshooting, assuming you have the info to differentiate the circuits.
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 04:03 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
CHIEFBEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks for all of the suggestions. Problem was the Shore Power/Generator switch. One leg of 50 amp circuit was not making contact. Hopefully I won't have to change Transfer switch.
__________________
2004 Newmar Kountry Star DP 3706, 2006 GMC Envoy, Blue OX Towbar
US NAVY/Farmer Retired
Me, Wife & Miss Liberty (German Short Haired Pointer) seeing the USA.
CHIEFBEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,831
Thank you for the update! Always nice to hear the out come of a problem......
__________________

__________________
2012 Essex 4544 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006 Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching Power Sources on an 85 Mallard wolf_7669 Vintage RV's 4 10-28-2014 03:16 PM
Adding more power vs safety to engine Smitty77 Cummins Engines 15 10-13-2014 09:06 AM
2003.Discovery help no ignition power Alanboss Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 03-28-2014 07:05 AM
No power to coach unless RV is running dvleemin Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 03-27-2014 08:33 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×