RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2018, 01:34 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 210
Heat pump location

I have two Dometic Penquin A/C units and one of them has the heat pump, the heat pump is on the front unit so I can select on my thermostat for zone 1,,furnace or heat pump, not both. Is it normal to install the heat pump on the front, If it was on the rear I could select furnace on zone 1 and heat pump on zone 2 and heat the inside a lot quicker. Not a big deal but wondering if this is done for a reason.
__________________

__________________
Bill And Jeanne Anglin, Eagle River, Alaska.
1999 Dutch Star 3884, Freightliner, Cat 300, Jeep Liberty Toad.
nutcker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-29-2018, 04:28 AM   #2
Member
 
RJShiflet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 97
Our Cardinal has three A/C units - one of which is a heat pump. The heat pump is located on the back of the trailer. Not sure why they put yours in front.
__________________

__________________
Robert & Estha Shiflet
'17 Cardinal 3456RL - '17 Ford F350 Lariat Ultimate - DRW w/B&W OEM Companion hitch
RJShiflet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 06:28 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,096
We have three units. Front and rear are heat pumps. 2011 Tiffin Phaeton.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 12:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,219
Newmar normally wires the furnace to zone 1. It's physically wired to the front unit. I have added wiring so I can control the furnace from zone 2 and changed the DIP switches on the rear heat pump so furnace can be selected. I just went out and tried and I can use heat pump on zone 1 and furnace on zone 2!

The way I did this is to wire from the furnace connection on the front board to the furnace connection on the rear control board. I ran the wires on the roof, it would be better to run them through the ducts, but this would require removing and replacing the units which I had not done at the time. You'll need two wires as there are two furnace connections. The Penguin manuals are available on the internet, also probably in 007's "Quick Tips", I'd point you to one except I don't know what models you have.
__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410, now at a new home
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 01:05 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,027
Your ceiling duck system goes from front to back of coach so all AC/HP will be feeding the whole coach for heat or air.
More information for Newmar Owners.
All links below in my signature have info also.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 07:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Packing up!
Posts: 6,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcker View Post
I have two Dometic Penquin A/C units and one of them has the heat pump, the heat pump is on the front unit so I can select on my thermostat for zone 1,,furnace or heat pump, not both. Is it normal to install the heat pump on the front, If it was on the rear I could select furnace on zone 1 and heat pump on zone 2 and heat the inside a lot quicker. Not a big deal but wondering if this is done for a reason.
As mentioned, you could reroute the furnace wiring from front A/C to rear A/C and change the dipswitches.

There is no particular reason for front or rear having the heatpump. However, the heatpump is a bit noisy and less annoying to sleepers when it is the front unit. Typically, sleepers prefer a slightly cooler room anyway. A heatpump only works to about 34 degrees outside temp so, if you are trying to get fast heat on a cold day, the furnace alone will probably be your best bet. Not sure I'd bother with the wiring change.

One other thing ... if you are on a 30 amp pedestal, the rear unit may not function.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 09:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tetonchief's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SW FL
Posts: 525
My Canyon Star has two units, both ac/hp and are controlled by a duotherm thermostat. I can choose from cool, auto, hp, furnace, fan and off for both zones. I do have the ducts that run full length of coach so if only one unit is operating the opposite zone still receives air flow (although reduced) if on cool or hp. The dual furnaces are controlled by the thermostat but the ducting for those are on the floor and in the basement.
My point is, your coach may have been ordered with only one unit having a hp, or maybe when a unit needed replacement the owner decided just ac was a cheaper alternative.
__________________
Don Kostyal
CMSgt, USAF ret.
2012 Canyon Star 3856//2009 Scion xB
Tetonchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 09:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 35,243
Our 2000 DSDP had two heat pumps, our 2002 DSDP had two heat pumps, present CC has three 15k heat pumps.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 01:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 210
A lot of good information here, thanks for all the replies to my question. I like the idea of moving my furnace control to zone 2 and think I will look into doing that. This is my first heat pump and I was amazed at how much heat those things put out, even if they don't work at really low temps. In Alaska we tend to focus more on heat and less on A/C. Thanks again everyone.
__________________
Bill And Jeanne Anglin, Eagle River, Alaska.
1999 Dutch Star 3884, Freightliner, Cat 300, Jeep Liberty Toad.
nutcker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 02:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Packing up!
Posts: 6,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcker View Post
A lot of good information here, thanks for all the replies to my question. I like the idea of moving my furnace control to zone 2 and think I will look into doing that. This is my first heat pump and I was amazed at how much heat those things put out, even if they don't work at really low temps. In Alaska we tend to focus more on heat and less on A/C. Thanks again everyone.
The furnace control lines are normally 2 blue wires. One is 12vdc FROM the furnace and the other is the RETURN to the furnace. The board in the A/C acts as a switch and connects the 2 wires together to enable the furnace. Be aware that shorting the 12vdc furnace wire will blow a fuse somewhere.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, heat, heat pump



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To heat pump or not heat pump Bruce and Jenna Excel Owner's Forum 17 04-15-2009 10:20 PM
Location, Location, Location! Endeavor2BnC Excel Owner's Forum 34 03-11-2009 07:58 PM
Heat pump heat down to what temp? Bruce and Jenna RV Systems & Appliances 2 11-28-2008 03:39 AM
Heat: Gas & Heat Pump together? SCVJeff Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 05-23-2007 06:11 PM
Location, Location, Location - Low Spot Drain - Battery mickey53usa Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 11-06-2006 10:06 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.