Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2018, 05:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Rockbridge, OH
Posts: 14
Home hookup

Brought home our 2015 Ventana 4002 DP a couple of weeks ago. Want to set up electrical hookup beyond the 15A outdoor I have now. I have more than enough capacity on my 250A home box. Wondering if I should go with a 30A (have 2 available 30A circuits now) or go to a 50A. I know that the 50A would have to be wired differently than a residential 50A. Is the 30A sufficient to keep the residential refrigerator running as well as the other stuff in then coach? Or should I go ahead and go the 50A route? We will be selling the house by the end of the year and going full time. I will be using my regular electrician for this and the circuits are close to where I would put the outlet. Your thoughts folks?
__________________

__________________
JohnnyBuckI is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-19-2018, 05:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Buly's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 451
We bought our DS 2015 about 9 months ago , same time the house was listed for sale. I installed 30A outlet, and it is fine for maintaining the coach in storage. I can run one AC if I have to. The rest of the time I run a dehumidifier to make sure thereís no chance of mold or mildew. Surprisingly, the dehumidifier collects lots of water. Iím glad it is there.
__________________

__________________
Buly, Doris and Dixie
2015 DS 4369 towing 2014 CRV
It is never too late to have a happy childhood!
Buly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
TonyMac's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 1,405
I have a 30a, wish I had 50a. When I plug in, if the house batts are low, the charger charges and takes up alot of the available amps, I think like 16a. Grrr. Obviously, 30a isn't enough to run 2 AC units. Grrrrr. But after the charges goes to float mode, it only takes about 2a and running the RV fridge takes about 6.


If 30 is good, 50 has to be great.
__________________
Cheers,
TonyMac
2006 Monaco Safari Cheetah 40PMT
TonyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 2,649
0A is more than enpugh to run a refer, keep the battery charged, and still run one AC unit. Personally I just see no reason to use anything more than a 20A circuit. Load up early or late avoid AC.
__________________
Don and Lorri
2007 Dodge 3500 dually
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 05:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rotten-Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Benton Harbor, Michigan
Posts: 702
If you're going to sell the house at the end of the year why do anything. The 15 amp outlet you have now will provide enough power to run the refrigerator and keep the batteries charged. Unless you plan on playing in it while it sits there that's all you need.
__________________
2000 DSDP3858
2007 Saturn Vue AWD V6
Rotten-Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 06:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 695
Iíve had my coaches hooked up to 30A behind my home for 12 years now with never a problem. The 30amp Service is plenty good enough to run a coach thatís not being lived in. Canít imagine needing 50amp unless you have visitors and use the coach as a guest house.
__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 06:33 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27,652
Didn't see where he was selling the house its yours to decide if your
renting coach out and your in hot area I would go with 50 amp, the 15 or 20 will do what is needed for batteries and fridge before trip.
What ever you do follow the instructions found in this link.

RV WIRED TO HOUSE SERVICE

If its not done correctly you can do great damage to the electronics in your coach.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 06:42 PM   #8
Senior Member


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,981
Should I put in 50 amps or 30
__________________
Mark
2008 Holiday Rambler Admiral 30PDD (Ford F-53 chassis)
2009 Honda Fit Sport
l1v3fr33ord1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:06 PM   #9
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by l1v3fr33ord1 View Post
Its up to you and what your going to use your coach for use.
If you want to have company add the whole pedestal.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:08 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotten-Red View Post
If you're going to sell the house at the end of the year why do anything. The 15 amp outlet you have now will provide enough power to run the refrigerator and keep the batteries charged. Unless you plan on playing in it while it sits there that's all you need.
Agree.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:21 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,139
Johnny 50amp residential outlet is the same setup as an rv outlet.
__________________
Gary 2017 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan
HWH Active Air Centramatic wheel balancers
Box Elder, SD and the road
ghaynes754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:46 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Tranquil Jim's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Washington State
Posts: 956
We have both 30A and 50A services wired at our S&B house but usually only use the 30A. If is fine for storage and maintenance, along with occasional guest use. It you plan on living in the coach and expect hot weather that will require heavy AC, then 50A is probably a better choice.

Whatever you do install, be sure to use a real weather resistant RV box and have it properly wired with adequately-sized cable.

TJ
__________________
Jim (W7DHC), Diane & Mini Schnauzers, Lizzy & Ellie
2014 Ventana LE 3436 + 2014 Honda CR-V toad
2018 Mountain Aire 4047 on order for June delivery
Tranquil Jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:13 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 21
You mind as well run the 50 if you run anything at all. I bought a service box with 50A as well as a 20A plug completely ready to go and only needed a home run to the panel, add 60A circuit breaker and it was ready to go.

I think the difference in cost for 30 vs 50 would be less than $100 - 150 based on where you live and the first time you try to run the AC and anything else you'll be happy it's there!!
__________________
Whiskey Tngo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:25 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,808
Different situation but relevant. I'm actually building a SB new house and did the electrical myself (yes in TN is is legal to do this). I had future plans for a 50 amp but decided to add an additional one on the side of the garage. Guess what, I've been hooked to it while I am completing all the finish work. Came in handy the temps in Jan went to 0F and I was running 3 cube heaters to keep the coach livable.

Adding a 50 amp actually may be a selling point to a future buyer. Cost differential is minimal from 30-50amp.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hookup from home? Anastasia iRV2.com General Discussion 7 09-03-2016 01:19 AM
Home for our home on wheels. sCarycary Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 04-07-2011 09:58 AM
New home for our new home on wheels sCarycary Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 02-07-2011 09:17 AM
Bushman is Home 5,780 Miles went under the Motor Home! Bushman512003 Canada Region 16 04-25-2007 02:01 PM
Home again Home again jiggity jig Chandler Bing Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 03-02-2006 04:49 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.