RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2013, 11:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
How to change PCM in 2012 Newmar 2901

I need to have the PCM changed in my 2012 Newmar 2901 on a Ford chassie. The firewall seems to be built AROUND the PCM. How do we gain access to the mounting bolts? I would think there is a safty issue in cutting the firewall.
__________________

GIZZMO51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-05-2013, 02:26 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28,989
Welcome to the forum and irv2.
My mind is drawing a blank, the PCM, what else may it be called the ECM or TCM are you getting it upgraded, Brazels maybe able to help you can get a link in this thread.

FORD CHASSIS ----Looking at the front of this chassis you may have to come down from the dog house opening.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 04:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Floridakamper's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fleming Island, Fl
Posts: 818
On a 2012 wouldn't the chassis still be covered by the Ford warranty?
__________________
Bob & Leah, USN Retired
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q/SOLD
2014 Chevy Equinox LTZ/Blue Ox Tow Bar
Floridakamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 09:43 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Can't decide if it's Ford or Newmar. The firewall was installed by Newmar--The PCM is supported by a structural member installed by Ford.
GIZZMO51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 09:48 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007";1672764]Welcome to the forum and irv2.
My mind is drawing a blank, the PCM, what else may it be called the ECM or TCM are you getting it upgraded, Brazels maybe able to help you can get a link in [URL="http://www.irv2.com/forums/f23/brazels-ultrapower-tune-is-awesome-156323.html
this thread[/URL].

FORD CHASSIS ----Looking at the front of this chassis you may have to come down from the dog house opening.
PCM---Preformance Control Modulater??? It's the computer that controls EVERTHING!!! Ford recommends trying to "unbolt" and "slide" the firewall that was installed by Newmar. The ford dealer will try tommorrow. Might have to cut and rebuild the firewall. Hope this is not an issue later!
GIZZMO51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:44 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28,989
The ECM & TCM on a Workhorse can be removed from a cut out through the fire wall they are stacked over one another.
Looks like air filter maybe blocking your entrance through firewall, try removing the air cleaner.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:40 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
DandS's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 920
Don't know if this will help, but found following pic of PCM location on F53:

Click image for larger version

Name:	zz2a27dd54-2.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	43653
__________________
Dave
2010 Canyon Star 3647
2010 Ford Escape
DandS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 10:51 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28,989
Should be easy to find, thanks Dave.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 08:51 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Here it is 9-23-2013 and still have not been able to use our motorhome because of the PCM or PCE what ever. Ford from Dearborne is sending another PMC, preprogramed, with the understanding to NOT check or verify any settings untill Oct. 2 , 2013. This is a MAJOR problem with this chassic. They though that we where making this up. Now Ford is saying that there is 5 to 7 more chassis with the same problem. Just NO answer. We have not been able to use the motorhome from 6-6-2013. Just hoping this will fix it. We missed 2 trips that we had to pay for in advance. I am getting VERY frustrated.
GIZZMO51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,645
I think Ford should reimburse you for those trips. If they know it's their problem then they owe.
__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 06:36 AM   #11
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28,989
Have to agree with John seems like they are using your chassis for trouble shooting their, Ford, problem.
Going to place this thread in Ford Chassis Forum since you mentioned other chassis's are involved with this same problems.

GIZZMO51 is this a problem with just operation with engine control or also the transmission shifting also?
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 07:46 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
subford's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Easton, Ks
Posts: 2,385
What is the problem you are having with the Powertrain Control Module (PCM)?
What is the RV doing?
Engine will not start?
Transmission will not shift?
No Power?
__________________
Bill
1995 COACHMEN Santara 350FL on a 1994 Ford F53
subford@gmail.com
subford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 09:54 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIZZMO51 View Post
Here it is 9-23-2013 and still have not been able to use our motorhome because of the PCM or PCE what ever. Ford from Dearborne is sending another PMC, preprogramed, with the understanding to NOT check or verify any settings untill Oct. 2 , 2013. This is a MAJOR problem with this chassic. They though that we where making this up. Now Ford is saying that there is 5 to 7 more chassis with the same problem. Just NO answer. We have not been able to use the motorhome from 6-6-2013. Just hoping this will fix it. We missed 2 trips that we had to pay for in advance. I am getting VERY frustrated.
What is wrong with the PCM. I ask because most of the newer PCMs are all the same just with different base programming. Also 99% of the time techs say PCM because they are lost and the PCM does not actually fix the concern. We have a PCM guru here that never fix's a vehicle with PCM replacements but he still does. I guess it just buys him more time to make money on something else. The last actual PCM issue I had was several years ago.
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 06:57 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
mrv8outboard's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 325
I am curious on the drivability concerns you are having. What are the symptoms? PCM's are rarely the cause of an issue, but there are still some that fail. The PCM's are all pretty much the same, have to be flashed with the proper information acquired using the vehicles VIN. The later model vehicles I have seen alternators do weird things to PCM's also.
__________________

mrv8outboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newmar



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.