RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2018, 05:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tjZ06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 227
How well does your DSDP or similar run on 30-amp Shore Power?

A few of the places we camp regularly only have 30-amp hookups. I have a 40' DSDP, so I only have 2 AC units, but I did opt for the 2 x 15k BTU units.

I find that 30-amp Shore Power will just barely run both ACs, but as soon as the chassis battery charger kicks on there's not enough juice to run them all and the ACs start cycling off and struggling to restart.

FWIW I do set the Shore Power setting down to 30-amps, you'd think it would do a better job controlling the accessories to keep below the 30-amp peak. I suppose I can turn down the max charging rate on the charger itself, but I believe that needs to be done at the charger and seems like a PITA to mess with all the time.

Are y'all seeing the same?

-TJ
__________________

__________________
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
tjZ06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2018, 06:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9,758
50A RV on 30A........that is 15A on each leg
15K A/C......high cool is 14.8 amps
__________________

__________________
Is it time for YOUR medication or MINE
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 06:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tjZ06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
50A RV on 30A........that is 15A on each leg
15K A/C......high cool is 14.8 amps
Good data to have. We pretty much went to just running one AC which seemed fine with the charger running. Even in 90 degree temps and direct sun most of the day my mostly black coach stayed pretty cool with just 1 AC. The Newmar insulation is no joke! I didn't even have my Magneshades up.



-TJ
__________________
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
tjZ06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 06:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
WoodyS's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjZ06 View Post
I find that 30-amp Shore Power will just barely run both ACs, but as soon as the chassis battery charger kicks on there's not enough juice to run them all and the ACs start cycling off and struggling to restart.
You're running TWO 15k BTU air-conditioners on 30 amps? Wow! I can't even do that with two 13.5k BTU air-conditioners. It's just too many amps -- particularly when the units cycle on. When they first start up, they draw a lot more amps for a few seconds.

When we have to run on 30 amps, or in our 5th Wheel trailer which only has one 15k BTU air-conditioner, we close off the half of the coach we're not using (bedroom/bathroom during the day, front at night), and turn that thermostat off also. This way we're only cooling half the coach at a time.
__________________
Woody & Sandy
2003 Chinook Cascade
2008 Newmar Kountry Star 3623
WoodyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 06:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 35,860
I purposely ordered our previous '02 4090 DSDP with 13.5 heat pumps, dual pane windows and the optional polar roof insulation. Never had a problem running both heat pumps on 30 amps and even in Yuma didn't have any trouble keeping the rig comfortable.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 07:27 PM   #6
JMH
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 776
Just a thought, if the park allows it run your generator during the hottest part of the day so you can cool your coach down. This will help keep you coach cool when you switch back to 30amp shore power.
JMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 06:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lake McClure, CA
Posts: 703
I haven't used it yet but it should help when I am on 30a. It's made by Progressive Industries and called a "cheater box". Plug your 50a in it and plug one of the 30a in the park. Most parks I have seen have a 20a next to it. With a 30a to 20a adaptor. I will plug that in the 20a and have a total of 50a instead of 30a. Gives me 30a on one leg and 20a on the other. I will have to manage the load myself which is not hard.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1727.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	385.3 KB
ID:	212402  
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan Chassis
2016 Jeep Cherokee, 1952 Willys CJ3A
10 fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 07:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10 fan View Post
I haven't used it yet but it should help when I am on 30a. It's made by Progressive Industries and called a "cheater box". Plug your 50a in it and plug one of the 30a in the park. Most parks I have seen have a 20a next to it. With a 30a to 20a adaptor. I will plug that in the 20a and have a total of 50a instead of 30a. Gives me 30a on one leg and 20a on the other. I will have to manage the load myself which is not hard.
That will not work if the 15/20 amp receptacle is GFCI protected. Instant trip.

The store bought cheaters even say that on there packaging.

If you have 2, 30 amp receptcals, then you got something.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 05:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lake McClure, CA
Posts: 703
I haven't paid attention if the 20amps have been gfci or not because I haven't needed it. Will look at the next hook up. Having 2 30a would be great but have never seen that.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan Chassis
2016 Jeep Cherokee, 1952 Willys CJ3A
10 fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 06:17 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjZ06 View Post
A few of the places we camp regularly only have 30-amp hookups. I have a 40' DSDP, so I only have 2 AC units, but I did opt for the 2 x 15k BTU units.

I find that 30-amp Shore Power will just barely run both ACs, but as soon as the chassis battery charger kicks on there's not enough juice to run them all and the ACs start cycling off and struggling to restart.

FWIW I do set the Shore Power setting down to 30-amps, you'd think it would do a better job controlling the accessories to keep below the 30-amp peak. I suppose I can turn down the max charging rate on the charger itself, but I believe that needs to be done at the charger and seems like a PITA to mess with all the time.

Are y'all seeing the same?

-TJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10 fan View Post
I haven't paid attention if the 20amps have been gfci or not because I haven't needed it. Will look at the next hook up. Having 2 30a would be great but have never seen that.
Most CG pedestal 20a are GFCI.
Some tap the 20a off the 30a.
Either will negate the 30a/20a cheater box benefit.

Sometimes you may find a pedestal with two 30a or two colocated pedistal. Usually meant one each for two adjacent spaces. A 30/30 cheater box could work in such a pedestal setup, if the adjacent space is vacant. I suppose a 30a extension cable found be run from an adjacent spaces pedistal and the cheater box used.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 08:49 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
DrPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 902
living life in the 30 amp lane...

Not to toot a horn, but over the last year I have been compiling my experience using 30 amp pedestals. Please see this thread:

Living Life in the 30 Amp Lane...
__________________
Phil and Laura (and Sam too!)
2017 DSDP 4369 on Spartan K2
2017 Unltd Rhino Rubi Recon Toad
DrPhil is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 09:49 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,397
Also when an AC units starts up there is a load spike. When it starts up after running a while and then cycles off and then back up there is more load than a cold startup due to residual pressure in the compressor lines. There are soft start devices that can be installed to help reduce these overall startup loads.
__________________

__________________
Gary 2017 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan
HWH Active Air Centramatic wheel balancers
Box Elder, SD and the road
ghaynes754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does your generator run 100% of your coach? WyoFree Class A Motorhome Discussions 56 12-14-2017 09:53 AM
House Batteries Removed & Shore Power & Battery Disconnect switches on Run? CoachStreamr Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 7 10-16-2017 11:26 PM
How well does your DSDP level? tjZ06 Newmar Owner's Forum 17 11-10-2016 07:44 PM
How Well Does The ISL9 450's Run on B20 BioDiesel IRVDoU Cummins Engines 1 01-15-2015 08:26 PM
Well, well, well .. I have mices. fredaevans Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 06-17-2012 08:57 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.