RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2019, 07:17 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
TWINCAMSAM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Yorktown
Posts: 364
Hughes AutoFormer Install

Received my AF and have put together the install kit. Now trying to understand the connection. AF has cord w/plug for the input and an outlet for the out put. The adapter kit has a cord with plug and an outlet.

Now does the cord from the cord reel now go to the outlet from adapter kit? Then the AF plugs in there? The cord from adapter kit is connected to the surge protector and plugged into the AF?

If I understand all of the above to be correct then, between locations do you have the AF unplugged allowing you to first check out the integrity of the new power pedistal before connecting to coach?

Thanks before hand for any tips or advise.
__________________

__________________
Karen & Arthur
2014 Newmar MA 4369 Pulling our 2013 Ram 1500
TWINCAMSAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-20-2019, 12:34 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
TWINCAMSAM - Yes, you have it exactly right.

The socket in the kit is intended to go on the end of your power reel. Depending on the setup you have, it is usually possible to just remove the cord from the transfer switch/surge protector and put the socket on there. Then the 50A tail they give you in the kit with a plug on it connects to the transfer switch/surge protector where you removed the wire from to put the socket on.

Once done, you can then insert the Autoformer into the circuit, or plug the tail you just installed back into the new socket to bypass the Autoformer completely.

As for leaving it connected. It is up to you. I am not sure which Autoformer you bought, as they make one with built in protection (from low/high voltage and faulty wiring) and also one that just does surge and boosts the voltage. If you have the one with the built in protection, then it really needs to stay plugged in to be effective.

I have the original one without the detection circuitry, but I leave it plugged in all the time, and have never had a problem. It makes setting up so much easier, as you simply plug in the power cord and you are done. There have been many campgrounds that have had good voltage during the day and then in the evening the voltage has dropped and the Autoformer has boosted it automatically without me doing anything.
__________________

__________________
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4328 * Spartan K2
2016 Newmar Ventana 4369
2019 Jeep Wrangler JL toad
JPilot604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 02:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
NealC's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 4,079
As outlined above but I'll make it simple:

Shore Power (Pedestal) => Cord Reel => Cord Reel wired to AutoFormer internal mount receptacle

Hughes AutoFormer plugged in to internal mount receptacle

Coach is now plugged into AutoFormer from ATS (transfer switch)

If you needed to you could unplug the coach (ATS) from the AutoFormer and plug that into the internal mount receptacle and that makes a connection from cord reel direct coach.
__________________
Neal
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037, 1800W Solar, HWH Active Air
NealC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 07:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TWINCAMSAM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Yorktown
Posts: 364
Thanks guys-I just wanted to confirm what I was thinking was correct. But boy, itís tight in there. I reckon Iíll have to move the transfer/surge protector to make room.

Thanks again
__________________
Karen & Arthur
2014 Newmar MA 4369 Pulling our 2013 Ram 1500
TWINCAMSAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 08:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ftharrisiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 121
Here's the diagram I put together when I installed my Autoformer.

I also shifted the transfer switch up and moved the cable TV connections ot the roof to make room.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Hughes AutoTransformer Diagram.pdf (5.8 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Tom & Linda
2016 Dutch Star 4369
2016 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
ftharrisiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 08:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
TWINCAMSAM's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Yorktown
Posts: 364
Thanks tom!
__________________
Karen & Arthur
2014 Newmar MA 4369 Pulling our 2013 Ram 1500
TWINCAMSAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 06:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 2,052
Mine is set up like Tom's diagram, except I also put in a cheap surge protector between the power cord and autoformer. While the Autoformer has internal surge protection, it requires a trip to the factory to have it repaired in the vent of a surge. With plug in one in front of the autoformer, in the event of a surge, I can just unplug it and replace it with another $50 unit.
Ys, it's tight getting all the stuff in there.
__________________

__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hughes Autoformer Install 10 fan Newmar Owner's Forum 37 08-13-2018 08:35 AM
Hughes Autoformer Interior Install Franko Foto Entegra Owner's Forum 9 12-06-2016 10:40 AM
Hughes Autoformer & Mexico Greyhound RV Systems & Appliances 3 01-05-2009 03:48 AM
Hughes Autoformer >>>RV YACKMO<<< Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 09-28-2005 04:13 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.