RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2018, 09:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Mark71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Chicago and Las Vegas
Posts: 265
In dash radio fuse

Suddenly my radio /nav component won't turn on (2018 DS 4018) I'm hoping it's only a fuse.

But where?

I searched the forum and found the following posting from several years ago.

I finally gave up and called Newmar and had Bruce on the phone. He looked up the wiring schematic and told me there were two more fuses where the power comes into the RV - where your Power Reel is. Right behind the reel, there is another hidden fuse panel fastened with Velcro.

The fuses number 3 and thirteen are for the radio/Nav system/Dash clock as well. The number 3 was blown.


Since it's night time, I won't look until tomorrow. Thought I'd send this out in case anyone knows the answer for sure.

THANKS
__________________

__________________
Mark
2018 Dutch Star 4018
Mark71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-26-2018, 04:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
NeHardRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Livingston, Texas
Posts: 116
Mark, Mine does the same thing from time to time. I am not sure what causes it but it is not the fuse. Try turning off the 12 volt master switch by the front door for a minute and then turn it back on. Then try turning the radio on. It should work then.
__________________

__________________
2018 Newmar Dutchstar 4327 K2
2018 Ram 1500 Rebel 4x4
NeHardRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 06:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,308
Hi Mark71,
Yep there is a fuse in the basement compartment where the power cord is located. Black panel held on with Velcro.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 09:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mark71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Chicago and Las Vegas
Posts: 265
NeHardRock

I turned off the power; put a few things away to kill 2 minutes; then turned power back on. Radio came on !!

Nice not to have to go figure out the fuse. Thanks for the tip. 😳

M
Mark71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 09:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Citra, Florida
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark71 View Post
NeHardRock

I turned off the power; put a few things away to kill 2 minutes; then turned power back on. Radio came on !!

Nice not to have to go figure out the fuse. Thanks for the tip. 😳

M
Stab in the dark here but if nothing else makes sense you might look for a auto reset CB somewhere.

This one is curious please keep us posted.
__________________
Good Luck and keep us posted please. "Q"
1999 Newmar, Mountain Aire 3768, V-10, CAI, Headers.
"Spending our kids inheritance one trip at a time"
Quincy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 10:34 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Stuart W's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: LA CA
Posts: 5,779
These modern coaches need an occasional reboot, I have to reboot for my kitchen slide sometimes
__________________

2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan!
2017 Jeep Wrangler Smoky Mountain
2016 Canyon Star 3710 SOLD
Stuart W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 11:15 AM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,301
If you have a Fregihtliner chassis there where problems in the dash area that FL. had to reprogram to clear the problem.
Have not heard about it lately so may not be your problem.
A Newmar search may give you more info, RESULTS.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 11:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
BodieJames's Avatar
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Shorewood, IL
Posts: 110
Thank you all for sharing. I had this problem today also. I went to go fuel up the coach and no radio. As soon as got back I jumped on IRV2 and did a search. Found this thread. Followed the steps of shutting off 12v with switch by front door. Waited 2 mins turned back on....Pesto! Radio works.

My DW likes all on this blog more than me. Thanks again.
__________________
Jim & Kathy
2018 Dutch Star 4369 K2
Toad- 2014 Honda CRV
BodieJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 07:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
LeslieGary's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Rolling Along!
Posts: 169
This thread was a lucky find for me—had the same issue with our xite radio and the two minute power switch reboot did the trick. I will remember this for future electrical quirks!
__________________
Leslie, Gary & Jack (German Shorthaired Pointer)
2018 Newmar 4362
2018 Grand Cherokee Limited
LeslieGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 03:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ken C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fulltime, Formally SF Bay Area
Posts: 294
We had the same problem several times with the Xite radio/Nav unit. 1st time I pulled the radio to access the fuse, removed the fuse from it's holder to check it which was OK. As soon as I put the fuse back in, the radio came on. Subsequent instances I just turned off the 12V power to restore the radio. I updated the radio data card a couple months ago and have not had a re-occurrence since.
__________________
Ken C
2018 Dutch Star 4052 Spartan
2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
Ken C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 04:42 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
LeslieGary's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Rolling Along!
Posts: 169
Interesting—our radio fault happened shortly after I updated the Nav card. I’ll have to check out updating the radio data card.
__________________
Leslie, Gary & Jack (German Shorthaired Pointer)
2018 Newmar 4362
2018 Grand Cherokee Limited
LeslieGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 06:28 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Stuart W's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: LA CA
Posts: 5,779
So far the feedback is 100% positive on the latest update fixing the freeze up. Good to hear
__________________

2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan!
2017 Jeep Wrangler Smoky Mountain
2016 Canyon Star 3710 SOLD
Stuart W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 09:41 PM   #13
Member
 
crockdar's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 67
Thanks NeHardRock! our “dead” radio is playing again. Appreciate the quick fix.
__________________
2019 Dutch Star 4369 - Spartan
2005 Jeep Unlimited Rubicon - Blue Ox Avail - M&G toad braking system
crockdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 09:48 AM   #14
Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Gig Harbor, Wash.
Posts: 33
Dead DS Radio

Whoever came up with the idea to kill all the battery power and turn back on to reset radio........Thank You !!! Worked like a charm. By The Way !!, when I first got my coach (2018 DutchStar) the passenger side slides would not work. The same trick worked for that as well. I got that one from the dealer but they didn't have a clue about the radio. They do now.
__________________

JD22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dash, fuse, radio



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SeriusXM Satellite Radio - adapter to built in radio or standalone radio? vsheetz Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 04-02-2017 08:33 AM
Dash Radio Fuse slabman Newmar Owner's Forum 5 06-28-2015 08:22 PM
Bedroom wall radio and outside wall radio Plane nutty Fleetwood Owner's Forum 8 08-27-2012 02:47 PM
dash radio fuse??? lp5151 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 7 08-24-2010 08:01 AM
2008 Providence Dash Radio Fuse cos80922 MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-17-2010 02:34 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.