Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2016, 03:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
Induction Cooktop

We have a 2013 DutchStar with a propane cooktop. Would like to remove that and the propane tank, replacing the cooktop with a True Induction 2-Burner inset.(1800W at full power) (Approximately $300) The factory wants over $7000 to do this conversation as they say it involves removing and replacing the entire countertop along with some electrical wiring. Has anyone done this themselves or had a "RV Renovator" type company do it? If so, please tell me about that. I'd be very interested in any "code violations" regarding the electrical. We have a microwave that certainly couldn't be on the same circuit. Thank you, George Bist (360) 670-9328 gcbist@gmail.com
__________________

__________________
George Bist is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-19-2016, 03:50 PM   #2
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,575
Welcome to the forum.

There are many threads concerning induction cook tops.

Before you make a major change have you considered a couple of portable inductions units such as the Nu Wave ?

I can understand wanting to keep a show piece RV that way but for real functionality the portable units are hard to beat.

We keep the cover on our propane stove and it is there for backup if ever needed. The portable units allow me to place them anywhere on the counter which is really helpful in utilizing the space. With a built in unit you are stuck with the location,

I did add a new outlet because two of them on the same circuit through the inverter would trip it.

The portables can be stored or stacked. I don't use the second one often but it sure is handy at times. They are terrific for using outside too.
__________________

__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 04:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Stripe34's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Fulltime since 16
Posts: 2,359
Blog Entries: 1
The true induction unit that Newmar puts in new Dutch Stars is a two burner, portable unit. Its frame is set IN to the counter, and Newmar makes flush countertop covers for it. All that work is likely the cause of the high price. I also bought a singe burner portable unit because I cook a lot. HTH!

- CC
__________________
CC, Paul, & Duckie (ACD)
'17 DSDP4018, Wrangler toad
Stripe34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 04:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gordon Dewald's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10,164
There are threads that discuss and show the installation of induction cooktops in existing counter tops. Several of the installations are very clever and look really good.
__________________
Gordon and Janet
Tour 42QD/inTech Stacker
Gordon Dewald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 04:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,497
I did it in my CC a couple months ago. Isn't that hard to do, most of the time it took was burning the 5.5 gal propane tank to empty it since I didn't want to just vent it into the air. Takes a long time to burn 4 gal or so with only a 10,000 and 12,000 BTU burners!
Relatively simple once that was done although I did have to cut some counter and fabricate some spacers and supports.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 04:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stripe34 View Post
The true induction unit that Newmar puts in new Dutch Stars is a two burner, portable unit. Its frame is set IN to the counter, and Newmar makes flush countertop covers for it. All that work is likely the cause of the high price. I also bought a singe burner portable unit because I cook a lot. HTH!

- CC
There is a very slight difference between the insert and the tabletop unit. I used the insert unit but even so it came with silicone feet on the bottom.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 06:53 PM   #7
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,295
George.....Here you go......I removed my propane cooktop, installed an induction unit and removed the propane tank.

Conversion to All Electric - Induction Cooktop Install

If you have questions, you can PM and I will give you my phone number. It was a pretty easy job, except removing the full propane tank.....couldn't get anyone to empty it.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 07:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,497
My propane tank is only 5.5 gal so pretty small, but they put it on top of the diesel tank with only a door to access it. I need to look it over closer when I get a chance as I would really like to get rid of it but not at the expense of dropping the 150 gal fuel tank.
If I had the 40 gal (32 usable) that Newmar put in our '02 DSDP I'd want it removed for the weight savings and storage space.
First picture is before and the second is when I just set the new cooktop in to judge clearance.
I thought about putting it flush in the cover but it was two pieces so I decided to just put it in place of the old one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	172.7 KB
ID:	147054   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	173.2 KB
ID:	147055  

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 07:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Stripe34's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Fulltime since 16
Posts: 2,359
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
George.....Here you go......I removed my propane cooktop, installed an induction unit and removed the propane tank.

Conversion to All Electric - Induction Cooktop Install

If you have questions, you can PM and I will give you my phone number. It was a pretty easy job, except removing the full propane tank.....couldn't get anyone to empty it.
Wow, REALLY nice job, Don!

- CC
__________________
CC, Paul, & Duckie (ACD)
'17 DSDP4018, Wrangler toad
Stripe34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 10:31 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
LJowdy's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,010
George, after getting all this information, both from here and the other site, are you still going to convert your stove top?
__________________
2016 Newmar Dutch Star 4369
Newmar Owners Club
USAF 1966-1969,- Law Enforcement 34 years, retired 2003
LJowdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 09:45 PM   #11
Member
 
idocdlw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
My propane tank is only 5.5 gal so pretty small, but they put it on top of the diesel tank with only a door to access it. I need to look it over closer when I get a chance as I would really like to get rid of it but not at the expense of dropping the 150 gal fuel tank.
If I had the 40 gal (32 usable) that Newmar put in our '02 DSDP I'd want it removed for the weight savings and storage space.
First picture is before and the second is when I just set the new cooktop in to judge clearance.
I thought about putting it flush in the cover but it was two pieces so I decided to just put it in place of the old one.
Nice...I have the same NuWave 2 burner unit. I love it and have not used my propane stove since acquiring. However, I did nudge one of my burner settings from "off" to "lite" while cleaning without realizing. The propane leaked out slowly over months and when I really needed it for my furnace, my tank was empty! Doh! Wish there was a very easy way to take out the gas burners to eliminate the possibility of a repeat.
__________________
Dawn, USAF (ret)
2013 Newmar Bay Star 3012
2015 Jeep Wrangler Sport
idocdlw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 10:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
LJowdy's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,010
Dawn, why not just install a shut off valve between the gas line and the burner?
__________________
2016 Newmar Dutch Star 4369
Newmar Owners Club
USAF 1966-1969,- Law Enforcement 34 years, retired 2003
LJowdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2016, 09:04 AM   #13
Member
 
GlenStMary's Avatar
 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Augustine, Fl.
Posts: 34
True Induction also makes a counter top 2 burner unit with a 4 foot power cord. We have one that we store under the passenger sofa and use outdoors for cooking. We also have the factory installed induction unit in the counter top, and can't tell the difference between the two. If you're looking for a quick/less expensive solution perhaps this may be the way to go
__________________

__________________
2014 Newmar Dutch Star
2012 Jeep Wrangler
GlenStMary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induction Cooktop v. Electric Cooktop Deek Newmar Owner's Forum 23 04-13-2014 12:19 AM
Induction Cooktop Recon4 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 10-24-2012 08:14 AM
Has anyone installed an induction cooktop? Suspinz RV Gourmet 1 10-04-2012 12:42 PM
Portable Induction Cooktop ChiefJohn RV Gourmet 6 09-10-2010 07:36 AM
Cooktop Information - Induction brucedelta Newmar Owner's Forum 3 03-26-2008 09:49 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.