RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2014, 04:11 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 4,042
Item covered in DS Navigational system

I'm trying without any luck to get the Trip Tek computer system on a new DS order form as Newmar doesn't use it anymore nor wire for it.

My only other choice is the Touch Screen Navigation System as an option on the DS. Can anyone with this system give me a list of the information displayed and if it can even be read or changed while driving? Or would this information be available anyplace on the Internet?

The Trip Tek displays engine/tranny temps, turbo pressure, oil pressure, tranny gear in and gear being asked for, MPG and MPH & gallons used for day- leg- trip, time/miles travelled and if set also miles/time to go to destination . The change pad is easily reached by the driver and the screen is very clear large and easily read while driving with just a glance.

Not sure if the Navigation system is a good replacement but may have no choice.
__________________

wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-21-2014, 04:23 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28,889
You go to COM_NET----SELECT= TECH INFORMATION---SELECT= CHASSIS---SELECT Miscellaneous Motorize, you have all the tabs for triptek.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 05:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
SWag's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 887
Wagonmaster2, have you considered using the Silverleaf VMSpc system? It provides all that information you have listed, I had it in my Ventana and it worked very well. I'll install it in my Dutch Star as well.

Here's the screen layout I used for my Ventana, I used a Microsoft Surface Pro tablet for the display. The ?? will display the transmission readouts when the system is reading the engine data. The display is user configurable so you can set it up to your preferences. The tire pressure data comes from the integrated PressurePro TPMS, I like this setup because it doesn't require an additional display on your dash to view your tire pressures.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VMSpc Display - Cummins ISB 340 - Ventana LE.png
Views:	73
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	79600  
__________________
Scott & Lise
2015 Dutch Star 4381 - HWH Active Air, SilverLeaf Glass Dash & Total Coach
2011 Chevy Traverse w/Blue Ox Aventa and M&G Brake
SWag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 05:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
spinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston, TX, 77069
Posts: 2,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagonmaster2 View Post
I'm trying without any luck to get the Trip Tek computer system on a new DS order form as Newmar doesn't use it anymore nor wire for it.

My only other choice is the Touch Screen Navigation System as an option on the DS. Can anyone with this system give me a list of the information displayed and if it can even be read or changed while driving? Or would this information be available anyplace on the Internet?

The Trip Tek displays engine/tranny temps, turbo pressure, oil pressure, tranny gear in and gear being asked for, MPG and MPH & gallons used for day- leg- trip, time/miles travelled and if set also miles/time to go to destination . The change pad is easily reached by the driver and the screen is very clear large and easily read while driving with just a glance.

Not sure if the Navigation system is a good replacement but may have no choice.
Wagonmaster i can't remember if you did not want to use a vmspec (silverleaf) monitoring system or not. If you are committed to a Trip-tek you may want to cam the vendor. I have worked with him in the past and he is a very nice person to work with
Steve
__________________
Steve Pinn
2008 Newmar Essex-4514
2014 Ram Laramie ecodiesel
spinn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 09:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 4,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWag View Post
Wagonmaster2, have you considered using the Silverleaf VMSpc system? It provides all that information you have listed, I had it in my Ventana and it worked very well. I'll install it in my Dutch Star as well.

Here's the screen layout I used for my Ventana, I used a Microsoft Surface Pro tablet for the display. The ?? will display the transmission readouts when the system is reading the engine data. The display is user configurable so you can set it up to your preferences. The tire pressure data comes from the integrated PressurePro TPMS, I like this setup because it doesn't require an additional display on your dash to view your tire pressures.
Hi Scott. I've seen lots of references to the Silverleaf but have never seen a readout like you've shown. Is this system a complicated product to install, does it take pre-wiring, or does it have to be installed by a dealer?
wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 10:22 PM   #6
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 11,819
"wagonmaster2".....I also use the VMSpc on a laptop. You can actually download the program from SilverLeaf for free and design the gauges in any configuration you want. There are literally 100's of way to set it up. They make their money buy selling you a proprietary cable that connects to your OBD port under your dash and to your computer via a USB connection ($300.00).

Here is mine mounted in my Dutch Star. I had the same set up running in my Diplomat for over five years. I think the VMSpc program may offer more items to monitor. The VMSpc program looks at everything the Cummins computer looks at and reads right off the Cummins computer. The only thing it won't show is exhaust temps because Cummins doesn't look at exhaust temps.

You can do your own install, if you make a bracket for a laptop or tablet. Connecting the cable tales only a few minutes.


__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 10:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 4,042
Does all this take a lot of computer savy? I'm about as computer illiterate as they come. I can surf, do e-mails, and shop on the internet but when it comes to downloading programs everything has to go precisely as the instructions indicate, which many times instructions need some extra doings, or I'm sunk. I don't know about folders/files or cut & paste. I'm good at following instructions but the instructions definitely have to fit my computer.
wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 01:56 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
spinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston, TX, 77069
Posts: 2,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagonmaster2 View Post
Does all this take a lot of computer savy? I'm about as computer illiterate as they come. I can surf, do e-mails, and shop on the internet but when it comes to downloading programs everything has to go precisely as the instructions indicate, which many times instructions need some extra doings, or I'm sunk. I don't know about folders/files or cut & paste. I'm good at following instructions but the instructions definitely have to fit my computer.
It is pretty easy to set up and use Wagonmaster and requires no ongoing maintenance.
__________________
Steve Pinn
2008 Newmar Essex-4514
2014 Ram Laramie ecodiesel
spinn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 08:53 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,645
I use Silverleaf as well, but I have it on my Ipad.

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0961.JPG
Views:	89
Size:	117.2 KB
ID:	79636

It's just plug and play. Into the diagnostics port right here (the black cap).

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6796.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	129.4 KB
ID:	79637


Do not unplug the white plug.
__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 09:43 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Romeo's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 1,165
Here is my VmsPc setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vmspc-pic.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	156.8 KB
ID:	79696   Click image for larger version

Name:	VmsPc-3JPG.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	148.0 KB
ID:	79697  

__________________
Ron... WB7DJV
2000 38' Dutch Star | 2006 Grand Cherokee | SilverLeaf VmsPc Engine Monitor | TST TPMS
FMCA, NKK
Romeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 11:11 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 4,042
That sounds and looks pretty good. What kind of bracket have any of you made to hold it in front of you, and can you watch it while driving? Being smaller, does a notepad work better than a laptop and are you sort of just balancing it between the dash and windshield?
wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 07:35 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
SWag's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 887
Here's how I had it installed in my Ventana, will do the same in my Dutch Star soon.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0140.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	224.0 KB
ID:	79911   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0152.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	159.9 KB
ID:	79912  

__________________
Scott & Lise
2015 Dutch Star 4381 - HWH Active Air, SilverLeaf Glass Dash & Total Coach
2011 Chevy Traverse w/Blue Ox Aventa and M&G Brake
SWag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 11:08 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Romeo's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 1,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romeo View Post
Here is my VmsPc setup.
In my example, the dash is wide from the steering wheel to the windshield and slopes down from the gages to the windshield so I have plenty of room to set the " 10" netbook" on the dash up against the windsheild without it obstructing my view, yet in such a position that I can see it without taking my eyes off the road.

It also works a an "lane aiming" device; if I keep the width of the screen between the highway lines, I'm centered in my lane. It really helps when driving between those cement barriers that are only wide enough for one vehicle that they use in construction zones...
__________________
Ron... WB7DJV
2000 38' Dutch Star | 2006 Grand Cherokee | SilverLeaf VmsPc Engine Monitor | TST TPMS
FMCA, NKK
Romeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 06:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,645
Mine is in a Ram suction cup mount attached to the top of the instrument pod. I can view it just the same as my GPS.
__________________

__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Fresh Water Auto-Fill System Dr4Film RV Systems & Appliances 9 12-22-2015 09:22 PM
No Power to Back Up Camera Monitor System GLSherod Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 8 07-13-2014 01:04 PM
Remodel large Schwintek slide system ChallengerRN RV Systems & Appliances 3 07-10-2014 10:52 AM
Bigfoot Leveling System -- Options VAParrothead Class C Motorhome Discussions 18 01-24-2014 06:23 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.