RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 04:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sundre Alberta
Posts: 80
Hi, I'm not sure if this is a "silly" question-but should my brake lights come on when the jake is activated? They don't, so I was just wondering!! thanks, Colleen.
__________________

__________________
2006 Essex 41ft. Sundowner 27ft, 3 Horse Tlr. Amy, our shitzu/Yorky "Baby"
leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-24-2007, 04:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sundre Alberta
Posts: 80
Hi, I'm not sure if this is a "silly" question-but should my brake lights come on when the jake is activated? They don't, so I was just wondering!! thanks, Colleen.
__________________

__________________
2006 Essex 41ft. Sundowner 27ft, 3 Horse Tlr. Amy, our shitzu/Yorky "Baby"
leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jetsmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pelican Lake Motor Coach Resort, Naples, Florida
Posts: 1,549
Hi! Yes they should. Spartan has an update that will solve it. It is done by a computer adjustment by a Cummins Tech. they just did it for us. paul
__________________
2018 King Aire 4553
2018 Cadillac Escalade
Jetsmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sundre Alberta
Posts: 80
Wow! That sure was a quick reply Thank you & now I don't feel so "silly". Colleen.
__________________
2006 Essex 41ft. Sundowner 27ft, 3 Horse Tlr. Amy, our shitzu/Yorky "Baby"
leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Crossville,TN USA
Posts: 437
Colleen, yes brake lights are supposed to come on when engine brake is activated. think of it this way-the guy behind you wants to know you are slowing down and he does not care which brake system you are utilizing. Hope the suggested Spartan works.

For future reference the easiest ways to keep check as to whether the engine brake is activating brake lights is to use them at night and watch for the reflection/glow in your back up monitor. Ken,'04 DSDP...
Ken Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:49 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
sjcaldal11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 282
In my 2006 MADP Yes. In my 2008 MADP No. What's up with that?
Thanks,Daryl
__________________
2019 MADP 4551
2015 Grand Cherokee Overland
sjcaldal11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:16 AM   #7
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,909
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> In my 2006 MADP Yes. In my 2008 MADP No. What's up with that?
Thanks,Daryl

</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Spartan has an update that will solve it. It is done by a computer adjustment by a Cummins Tech. they just did it for us. paul </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 06:24 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,802
Daryl, The non activated brake lights with Jake was a slip up by Spartan or Newmar when the spec's were set for the Cummins engines over a period of time. Some models are probably still coming that way. As I understand it, Spartan has to pay Cummins every time they reprogram one.

The activating brake lights with the Jake operation is not legally required to my knowledge in any state. It does however make sense and I believe adds an element of safety. This is particularly true for units equipped with the two speed Jakes as the high can cause quite heavy decelleration.

Peter
__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 08:13 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
sjcaldal11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 282
Thanks, Guys I've had such great luck with this coach ( Knock on Wood )I feel lucky. I'll have to have the computer update done, I think it is a good feature. Paul with a build date in early July do you think I have the latest update to the fan belt? I do feel some vibration under heavy Jake braking.
Thanks, Daryl
__________________
2019 MADP 4551
2015 Grand Cherokee Overland
sjcaldal11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 10:21 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sundre Alberta
Posts: 80
We do have the two speed jake & until a few days ago I had just assumed that the lights came on! I will be getting the "fix" asap. I wonder why this was not mentioned when we were at Newmar in Oct & actually had cummins tech updating the computer for an abs brake warning light that came on? Should I be calling anyone before having this done,eg spartan,Newmar? thanks.Colleen.
__________________
2006 Essex 41ft. Sundowner 27ft, 3 Horse Tlr. Amy, our shitzu/Yorky "Baby"
leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 11:00 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,802
Colleen, First, are you sure yours is not activing the brake light? If not, not a big deal. Contact Spartan and find out where near you you can get it looked after.

Peter
__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:57 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sundre Alberta
Posts: 80
Peter. Yes I'm sure as I had someone follow me & check when I activated both high & low jake. The only time lights came on was when I put my foot on brake pedal. I will contact spartan in the next day or so. By the way as far as I know it is also not a legal requirement in Alberta but as mentioned should be a safety one. Colleen
__________________
2006 Essex 41ft. Sundowner 27ft, 3 Horse Tlr. Amy, our shitzu/Yorky "Baby"
leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:03 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,802
Colleen, You can probably have it done in Canada by a Cummins dealer as it is only an ECM flash (2 minutes) but requires Spartan's okay as I believe they are on the hook for it.

Peter
__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:26 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sundre Alberta
Posts: 80
Peter. I should be able to get it done in Red Deer, which is only an hour or so away!! : So thanks everyone. Colleen
__________________

__________________
2006 Essex 41ft. Sundowner 27ft, 3 Horse Tlr. Amy, our shitzu/Yorky "Baby"
leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jake brake position doc Damon 10 01-02-2009 05:08 PM
Jake Brake dan&donna Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 10-22-2007 05:40 PM
Toad brake with Jake brake Roadking Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 12-18-2006 05:24 AM
Jake Brake Operation Bill Z. Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 10-09-2006 10:17 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.