Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2016, 02:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,879
Magnum AGS, Trying to find the fuse.

My AGS-N does not network with my RC50 remote. Magnum says my remote is a later version. I am replacing the AGS with the current version. The installation should be plug and play, but I am having trouble locating the fuse for it. The manual says there should be a 5A inline fuse. I can't find it anywhere in all my electrical drawings. There is a 7.5A fuse in the front chassis panel called "Gen Start", but I think that one is for the manual start switch Anybody ever looked for or found theirs? I would have assumed it to be in the 12V panel in the bathroom, adjacent to the AGS.
__________________

__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-07-2016, 04:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 405
Have you looked at the fuse panel behind your power cord take-up drum?

Fuse panel is hidden/protected by a rectangular black plastic cover with Velcro strips holding it place.
__________________

shaman52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 06:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
alan1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: little rock, ar
Posts: 291
fuse

You are in luck because I had to find mine in my 07 MADP. It is in the power cord compartment, but the fuse is labeled CB radio. I guess they tied it to any fuse that you did not have the item installed, as I didn't have a cb radio.
__________________
2016 Newmar King Aire 4553
2017 Ford Explorer toad
alan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 07:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan1 View Post
You are in luck because I had to find mine in my 07 MADP. It is in the power cord compartment, but the fuse is labeled CB radio. I guess they tied it to any fuse that you did not have the item installed, as I didn't have a cb radio.
How did you ever discover this? Unfortunately, I do have a factory installed CB radio (I never use). I don't suppose they used the same fuse for both.

Since you and Shaman both mentioned the same panel, I will start there.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 10:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
alan1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: little rock, ar
Posts: 291
It's easy just check every fuse you have until you find one that is blown.
__________________
2016 Newmar King Aire 4553
2017 Ford Explorer toad
alan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 02:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan1 View Post
It's easy just check every fuse you have until you find one that is blown.
Ha Ha! I just pulled a few fuses, thanks to you guys pointing me to the right panel. Sure enough it is on the CB Radio fuse. Since I have a factory CB, I'm not sure where it's fuse is located. Not sure why that was necessary since the panel has several empty fuse slots. I switched out the old for the new in about 15 min, ran some network tests, auto start / stopped the generator, and we're good to go. My ME-RC50 recognizes it and now I have control of the AGS through the remote.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 03:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,249
Scotty,

Looking at the AGS-N Manual I see up to 4 5 amp inline fuses. Pgs 16-18. Located on the Gen and Power terminal bar in positions 2, 3, 6 and 8 depending on configuration. Might be good to have spares and no where they are located.
__________________
Gary 2017 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan
HWH Active Air Centramatic wheel balancers
Box Elder, SD and the road
ghaynes754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 05:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,879
Gary, I was looking for the DC power supply to disable it, so I could change it out for a new AGS-N. You do bring up a good point about locating the other fuses. I carry a large assortment of fusses, but it doesn't help if you don't know where to look. I'm thinking maybe inside the generator, but not sure. I will take a look next time I'm in there.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 05:49 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
andyh's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 610
You can just pull the green connector off the current AGS and move it over to the new one without disconnecting any wires. Just make sure the voltage selector jumper and generator select DIP switch is set correctly before plugging it in.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Andy

2015 DSDP 4369 with HWH Active Air, 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee, Roadmaster tow bar, SMI AirForce One, Silverleaf VMSPc
andyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 08:31 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyh View Post
You can just pull the green connector off the current AGS and move it over to the new one without disconnecting any wires. Just make sure the voltage selector jumper and generator select DIP switch is set correctly before plugging it in.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
I realized this as I was finishing up.
__________________

__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGS Magnum to Dometic Temp Sensor Wire? cmaxcliff Newmar Owner's Forum 3 05-19-2015 05:08 PM
AGS Upgrade - Existing Wire Locations? cmaxcliff Newmar Owner's Forum 1 05-01-2015 09:23 AM
Can't find fuse for leveling system & lighter Goldwingit Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 04-11-2015 06:33 PM
Can't find the fuse JerseyRV Newmar Owner's Forum 4 03-08-2015 08:40 AM
Onan EC-30W vs Magnum Energy AGS Sky_Boss RV Systems & Appliances 14 06-15-2014 02:51 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.