RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 04:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
footdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,002
is there a way to run BOTH, or not necessary or possible? If Im hooked to 50 amp, I want to be WARM. Will the HydroHot do it on electric alone or will I need the extra 40 degree output from the diesel IF the temps are in the 30s. Im a suthern boy now and my blood is thin!! Thinking about the Tenn mountains this winter
__________________

__________________
2006 Mountain Aire 43 and 05 Honda Pilot
Air Force One..Real Whirlpool Fridge !
3 sugar gliders, long hair daschund and short hair wife for security
footdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-01-2006, 04:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
footdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,002
is there a way to run BOTH, or not necessary or possible? If Im hooked to 50 amp, I want to be WARM. Will the HydroHot do it on electric alone or will I need the extra 40 degree output from the diesel IF the temps are in the 30s. Im a suthern boy now and my blood is thin!! Thinking about the Tenn mountains this winter
__________________

__________________
2006 Mountain Aire 43 and 05 Honda Pilot
Air Force One..Real Whirlpool Fridge !
3 sugar gliders, long hair daschund and short hair wife for security
footdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 06:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,831
Put both on. The diesel is needed when cooler temperatures arrive. The electric heater is only 1500 watts, no where near the BTU output of the diesel burner.
__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 03:08 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
footdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,002
Nut, you missed my question....is it possible to run BOTH heat pump AND Hydrohot at the same time??
thanks
__________________
2006 Mountain Aire 43 and 05 Honda Pilot
Air Force One..Real Whirlpool Fridge !
3 sugar gliders, long hair daschund and short hair wife for security
footdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 03:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,831
Certainly not in the same zone and maybe not within the coach. I've never tried it. Give it a whirl. The Hydro Hot overrides the AC. If you turn one AC on and then select another zone for Hydro Hot, the AC will automatically shutdown. I suspect the same may be true using the heat pump. In either mode, temp be reasonable for heat pump, both will give you all the heat you want.
If you are using Hydro Hot be sure you turn on the fans upfront and in the bathroom.
__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 03:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
footdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,002
I know about the front switch but dont think I have a bathroom fan switch...I have a register under the sink that blows now, and one on the back wall of the bedroom...the other 2 are by the fridge and up front..4 total for 2 zones
__________________
2006 Mountain Aire 43 and 05 Honda Pilot
Air Force One..Real Whirlpool Fridge !
3 sugar gliders, long hair daschund and short hair wife for security
footdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 03:36 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,831
Larry, Perhaps the bathroom fan is only required in the 45' unit.

Peter
__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:20 AM   #8
Administrator Emeritus
 
rebelsbeach's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 10,033
I know the answer to this one from personal experience....The furnace will not come on in ANY zone if heat pump is selected in ANY zone....Same with A/C.

I had the heat pump on some time ago and forgot it had been selected,when I wanted to put the A/C on in another zone several days later....A/C would not come on until I deselected the furnace or vice versa.

(Virginia weather...go figure.)
__________________
2019 Grand Design Solitude 380FL fifth wheel
2017 40' Renegade Verona LE LTS (traded)
2018 F150 King Ranch Crew Cab Diesel
rebelsbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jetsmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pelican Lake Motor Coach Resort, Naples, Florida
Posts: 1,549
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">If you are using Hydro Hot be sure you turn on the fans upfront and in the bathroom. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Hi Peter! When you say the fans up front, do you mean the ones with the switch on the Hydro Panel? Not the ones for the windshield? Is there supposed to be a fan in the bathroom? Paul
__________________
2018 King Aire 4553
2018 Cadillac Escalade
Jetsmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:11 PM   #10
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,738
I thought all Hydro heater outlets had a fan with each unit.
Maybe a switch on bathroom wall.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,831
Paul, I am referring to the fan switch in the panel where the Hydro Hot switch is also. The one in the bathroom is with the light switch group marked "Heater". The bathroom switch may only exist on the Essex or at least a 45 ft. model I don't know.
__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:36 PM   #12
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,738
If your ever working around the pump area in the Hydro Hot unit be careful moving plastic tubing to pump, tubing is stiff and plastic connectors for tubing to pump will crack and your fluid will leak out slooowly. Had a friend who had this problem and the pump was a #%&@* to change.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 3,831
I agree, the semi hard plastic tubing can be damaged quite easily. If it ever did get damaged I would replace it with the more expensive heat resistant flexible type.
__________________

__________________
Peter - Doctor of Mixology
KADB 2013
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand of AC/Heat Pumps Tiffin Uses bcbounders Tiffin Owner's Forum 5 05-20-2009 11:23 AM
Heat pumps First time poster. Davestoy RV Systems & Appliances 27 01-10-2008 01:21 AM
Dometic heat-pumps, with 5-button Controller ronboc RV Systems & Appliances 9 08-07-2007 06:08 PM
Heat Pumps Dav5942 Newmar Owner's Forum 2 04-17-2007 02:58 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×