Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2017, 06:15 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Need thoughts on Newmar installing satellite coax

I have 2016 VT and when I can't use the roof dish I set up the tripod satellite and feed the antenna through the driver's window to the A/V compartment.

I tried to use the cable in connector in the power compartment but that did not work.

In the tech forum I posted about this and the response was too many splitters etc for a sat connection to work.

Now...Newmar is quoting $1K to run a dedicated line from the power compartment to the A/V compartment just so I can avoid running the coax through a window. I am seriously considering doing this as the wife HATES when the wire is coming in the window and hanging through the interior to the compartment.

We have to go there for some other work anyway.

I am not good at DIY so before I fork over the cash does anyone have another idea?
__________________

__________________
2016 Newmar Ventana 4369
2014 Honda CRV AWD Toad
Full timing since 2016
RMD3819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-20-2017, 06:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMD3819 View Post
I have 2016 VT and when I can't use the roof dish I set up the tripod satellite and feed the antenna through the driver's window to the A/V compartment.

I tried to use the cable in connector in the power compartment but that did not work.

In the tech forum I posted about this and the response was too many splitters etc for a sat connection to work.

Now...Newmar is quoting $1K to run a dedicated line from the power compartment to the A/V compartment just so I can avoid running the coax through a window. I am seriously considering doing this as the wife HATES when the wire is coming in the window and hanging through the interior to the compartment.

We have to go there for some other work anyway.

I am not good at DIY so before I fork over the cash does anyone have another idea?
Newmar does not have the lowest prices but their work is good, so if you're going there anyway it's probably worth it. If you're in the southwest in winter (Quartzite, Slab City) you can probably get similar quality work done more cheaply but you do have to do your homework regarding the vendors/service people.

There should be a way to re-purpose the cable TV wire for this, you will have to trace the wire (which can be done with a DMM and a jumper), find and eliminate the splitters and possibly put the satellite receiver in the first cabinet it goes to even if it is in the bedroom. On our coach the cable TV wire comes directly to the A/V cabinet up front but it's a 2008 and they've changed the wiring drastically since then for HDTV and HDMI, etc.
__________________

__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 07:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMD3819 View Post
I have 2016 VT and when I can't use the roof dish I set up the tripod satellite and feed the antenna through the driver's window to the A/V compartment.



I tried to use the cable in connector in the power compartment but that did not work.



In the tech forum I posted about this and the response was too many splitters etc for a sat connection to work.



Now...Newmar is quoting $1K to run a dedicated line from the power compartment to the A/V compartment just so I can avoid running the coax through a window. I am seriously considering doing this as the wife HATES when the wire is coming in the window and hanging through the interior to the compartment.



We have to go there for some other work anyway.



I am not good at DIY so before I fork over the cash does anyone have another idea?

What dish do you have on the roof ?and what provider do you use? is it HD?
__________________
2016 6spd 26k F53, NM CS 3710
Front Sumo springs, SS rear track bar, Hellwig frt & rear bars, CHF Rear. Safe T Plus stabilizer
Stuart W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 07:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ron Postma's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: On the open road
Posts: 260
So you are saying they did not run a dedicated coax for satellite use. My 2005 Monaco gas coach had one, and my 2014 Winnebago Tour has one also. One thing you could do is remove the stock splitters and replace them with satellite diplexer units. These will allow you to simultaneously send satellite signals and terrestrial TV signals on the same piece of coax. Check out this site Satellite Diplexer: Signal Combiner and Splitter. This will cost you less than $50.00. Much better than $1000 If you have any further question or need help PM me.
__________________
2014 Winnebago Tour 42QD
2007 Honda CRV Toad W7REP
WiFiRanger Elite AC Pack
Ron Postma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 07:43 PM   #5
Member
 
RockyMtnRide's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
How many splitters are you talking about and are they diplexers or straight splitters. Satellite systems don't like to share coax without a diplexer on both ends to in essence split the signal. I use a single coax from the front of my coach to the bedroom with diplexers on both ends and share the coax for both OTA signals and my Dish signal
Didn't work at all with a common splitter.
__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat
2017 JKU Sport Toad
and a garage full of Harleys
RockyMtnRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 07:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
siggyd's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 602
Why don't you run a coax from under the front hood through the "fire wall", then up the drivers window side to the overhead cabinet ?
That is how I would route an outside dish. I don't know where your receiver is located.
Siggy
__________________
Siggy & Ursula.
2011 Newmar DSDP 4020 (no Tag, no DEF, 07 emission),
FTL XCR ,ISL 400,2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited, 4x4, V6, Active Drive II, BrakeBuddy
siggyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 10:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by siggyd View Post
Why don't you run a coax from under the front hood through the "fire wall", then up the drivers window side to the overhead cabinet ?

That is how I would route an outside dish. I don't know where your receiver is located.

Siggy

I agree, I have considered doing this. My system is above driver
__________________
2016 6spd 26k F53, NM CS 3710
Front Sumo springs, SS rear track bar, Hellwig frt & rear bars, CHF Rear. Safe T Plus stabilizer
Stuart W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 06:57 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
GlenStMary's Avatar
 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Augustine, Fl.
Posts: 25
An easier route for external SAT cable

I experienced the same issues as the original poster, and this is how I solved the problem. I simply purchased, at Lowes, one of their plastic, stick-on cable connector boxes. I attached that to the wall of the bay below the drivers seat (the one with all of the fuse and electrical connections). That is where I connect my external SAT antenna cable.
Then I attached a quad shielded cable to that box connector and ran it up into the cab along with all the 12 volt cables and other stuff into the cabinet under the drivers side window. From there, it's an easy run up through the dash and up the front window pillar to the electronics cabinet. All I have to do when using the outside antenna, is to disconnect the roof antenna cable from the swm box and attach the cable from the outside antenna. I've been thinking about using an A/B switch, but so far we've only had to use the outside antenna once this year, and it only takes 1 minute to switch cables.
__________________
2014 Newmar Dutch Star
2012 Jeep Wrangler
GlenStMary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 07:37 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 193
Here is what i would do:
  • Close my eyes and visualize the run between the compartment and the A/V cabinet. Try to anticipate how that cable will be run through the coach, to include compartments, furniture, access panels etc. Also, consider what positions you will have to get into to run that cable, make sure it works, etc.
  • Open your eyes and write a check to Newmar.
  • Have a beer.

You can thank me later

John
__________________
2016 Ventana LE 4040
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
BlueOx BP w NSA ReadyBrute
pilotspike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 08:39 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart W View Post
What dish do you have on the roof ?and what provider do you use? is it HD?
We have DirecTV.

There is an in motion SD which works but we never use.

We had them install a Travlr on the roof which is our primary. It is HD.

Have a tripod HD dish.

Have a batwing for OTA stations.
__________________
2016 Newmar Ventana 4369
2014 Honda CRV AWD Toad
Full timing since 2016
RMD3819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 08:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlenStMary View Post
I experienced the same issues as the original poster, and this is how I solved the problem. I simply purchased, at Lowes, one of their plastic, stick-on cable connector boxes. I attached that to the wall of the bay below the drivers seat (the one with all of the fuse and electrical connections). That is where I connect my external SAT antenna cable.
Then I attached a quad shielded cable to that box connector and ran it up into the cab along with all the 12 volt cables and other stuff into the cabinet under the drivers side window. From there, it's an easy run up through the dash and up the front window pillar to the electronics cabinet. All I have to do when using the outside antenna, is to disconnect the roof antenna cable from the swm box and attach the cable from the outside antenna. I've been thinking about using an A/B switch, but so far we've only had to use the outside antenna once this year, and it only takes 1 minute to switch cables.
When you ran the cable up did you just fish it up there or was some panel removal etc required?
__________________
2016 Newmar Ventana 4369
2014 Honda CRV AWD Toad
Full timing since 2016
RMD3819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 08:51 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMD3819 View Post
We have DirecTV.



There is an in motion SD which works but we never use.



We had them install a Travlr on the roof which is our primary. It is HD.



Have a tripod HD dish.



Have a batwing for OTA stations.

I just was talking to Winegard about this, they recommend the switch in this diagram , you can google the part number to find it $75 to $90. If your using a HD dish you don't need the 2nd power inserter and SWM. I would go through the fire wall ( vertical wall in front of drivers feet) and run the coax into and then up the divers side pillar cover. The outside hook up location will always change based on your location so it is really irrelevant where it is located. Just need a longer coax cable Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1490107608.897912.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	155546
__________________
2016 6spd 26k F53, NM CS 3710
Front Sumo springs, SS rear track bar, Hellwig frt & rear bars, CHF Rear. Safe T Plus stabilizer
Stuart W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 01:30 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
GlenStMary's Avatar
 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: St. Augustine, Fl.
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMD3819 View Post
When you ran the cable up did you just fish it up there or was some panel removal etc required?
I removed the 9 screws holding the plastic cover over the pillar and once done there was plenty of room to hide the cable in the pillar. The whole job only took about 1 hour. The hardest part of the cable run was getting the cable from the electrical cabinet outside, up through the cabinet top and into the coach. I had to remove several screws from the drivers side transmission control console/drink holder cover so I could fish the cable up cleanly. It all went back together smoothly and all works
__________________
2014 Newmar Dutch Star
2012 Jeep Wrangler
GlenStMary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 02:34 PM   #14
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 7,828
"RMD".....As others stated, you don't need to run a cable all the way from the power bay. You just need a cable from the entertainment bay down to the front of the coach, either under the hood or in the electronics bay under the driver's window.

This is pretty easy to do. In the electronics bay, you'll see a group of wires in the upper left corner, exiting the bay. They are surrounded by expansion foam to insulate the opening. Take a wire hangar, punch it through the insulation until you feel it go through. Hook a new length of coax to it and pull the majority through of the cable through. Look under the hood or the front of the coach and you'll see the coat hangar you pushed through. Now look at the firewall on the driver's side. You'll see more wires and more foam. Push the hangar through that foam, it will exit under your dash. Once there, you can route it up the "A" pillar. Your "A" pillar is the pillar on the driver's side between the windshield and driver's window. It has a large plastic cover over it. The cover comes off with abut 6-8 screws. Once off, you'll see a bunch of wires behind it. Just continue your coax up that pillar and into the cabinet. This sounds like a lot, but very easy to do, even for a non DIY guy.

Attached is a photo of what's behind the "A" pillar.

Once done, you'll have a dedicated line for the Tripod satellite. You may want to buy a 100' of coax, using 10' to get into the entertainment cabinet and leave the other 90' rolled up in the outside bay for use as needed.

__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, newmar, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Coax to old coax conversion for rear tv. farnorth99 Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 05-09-2014 07:12 AM
Installing a Second Coax for a New DVR DavidC1225 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 04-20-2011 10:05 AM
Satellite coax location? lfain Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 04-05-2011 09:03 PM
Routing Coax for Satellite Dish Steve R. Excel Owner's Forum 13 10-26-2008 06:28 AM
Does anyone know if the factory Satellite wiring have 1 or 2 runs of Coax? RV 4 2 National RV Owner's Forum 10 07-02-2008 02:19 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.