Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2015, 08:23 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
SWag's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Algoma View Post
I don't think an HDMI cable from the front to the bedroom would work. Once you get to about 15' you need to add a repeater to boost the signal and I don't see Newmar wanting to bury that in the wiring.
John, I had Newmar add an HDMI cable from the front A/V cabinet to the bedroom cabinet as a special and it works fine. They don't use a repeater or any boost but it is a large diameter cable. HDMI can start to get a bit flaky beyond 50 feet.

Scott
__________________

__________________
Scott & Lise
2015 Dutch Star 4381 - HWH Active Air, SilverLeaf Glass Dash & Total Coach (For Sale)
2011 Chevy Traverse w/Blue Ox Aventa and M&G Brake
SWag is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-25-2015, 11:10 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
David D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 342
Our bedroom TV cabinet has a Hdmi cable Jack for the rear TV and it works great,it came that way. If you have HDMI cables to the front TV and the basement I Dont know why you would not have one in the bedroom as well.
__________________

__________________
Tin Man
2015 Dutch Star 4018
2016 Ford F-150 4X4
David D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 11:13 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
David D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 342
Sorry, misunderstood I se you have the cable but it is no good, the cable ends on Hdmi cables go bad very easy.
__________________
Tin Man
2015 Dutch Star 4018
2016 Ford F-150 4X4
David D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 11:29 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Algoma View Post
I don't think an HDMI cable from the front to the bedroom would work. Once you get to about 15' you need to add a repeater to boost the signal and I don't see Newmar wanting to bury that in the wiring.
With the right cable, you can go over 50' with no booster. For anything over 25' or so I would use a Redmere cable, probably one of these:

High Performance HDMI Cable w/ RedMere - Monoprice.com
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 11:42 AM   #19
EV2
Member
 
EV2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc8375 View Post
Ditto to above answers..... NO HDMI! Had I known, I would have had a cable installed on the build. Still working to add one, the conduit to the rear BR slide is to small for the end of the HDMI cable to fit thru.
Will your conduit allow two cat5 Ethernet cables? If so, have you considered this?

HDMI over Cat 5

Reviews are varied, but I have been using over 50 'foot runs where I installed Ethernet connectors after snaking cables at two different locations with perfect results.
__________________
EV2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 09:27 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 3,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWag View Post
John, I had Newmar add an HDMI cable from the front A/V cabinet to the bedroom cabinet as a special and it works fine. They don't use a repeater or any boost but it is a large diameter cable. HDMI can start to get a bit flaky beyond 50 feet.

Scott
It would have been wonderful if Newmar would have given us a list of special options we could order at build time for things like this. I knew we often used an outside tripod satellite dish when under trees so I ordered a separate cable connection in the utility compartment for this (hopefully this is what we'll get) situation (then found out my Winegard Carryout Dome won't work with the new TV technology). But as far as what or where I needed any HDMI connections (I was/still am dumb as a door nail when it comes to all this type ) I had no idea. I choose the roof satellite dish type at the suggestion of the salesman, not knowing all this SWM stuff wouldn't work with my current Directv receiver.
__________________
wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 09:49 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by drfish548 View Post
Wow, lots of good info. Thanks everyone. But I still am wondering: I have an unlabeled HDMI cable leaving my A/V cabinet(goes out the back, top outside side of the cabinet. I assumed (always a dangerous proposition, I know) that it ran to my bedroom tv, where there is an hdmi cable connected to it. I guess that connection could be from the hdmi jack by my tv. I'll check tonight.
If you're talking about a spare HDMI cable in the front overhead cabinet, I think you will find it ends in the farthest back basement compartment. On the passenger side, before the pegboard compartment.

At least that is where it comes out on mine.
__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 09:51 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagonmaster2 View Post
It would have been wonderful if Newmar would have given us a list of special options we could order at build time for things like this. I knew we often used an outside tripod satellite dish when under trees so I ordered a separate cable connection in the utility compartment for this (hopefully this is what we'll get) situation (then found out my Winegard Carryout Dome won't work with the new TV technology). But as far as what or where I needed any HDMI connections (I was/still am dumb as a door nail when it comes to all this type ) I had no idea. I choose the roof satellite dish type at the suggestion of the salesman, not knowing all this SWM stuff wouldn't work with my current Directv receiver.
For everything they will do would require it to be a book.

The option sheet had a remote sat dish connection. We added this to ours, works good.
__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 07:53 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 33
Parts of this thread relate to this subject...
Speaker Switches

As stated elsewhere on this thread, the professionals tell me that they do not use HDMI in walls or for long runs. There are too many failures with them so they use CAT6 with converters at each end. As my friend told me, there are no techs with hands small enough to replace a HDMI cable end. They can work with CAT 6 for repairs.
__________________

__________________
cmaxcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone install a wireless HDMI in their motorhome rccrafters69 Class A Motorhome Discussions 31 02-20-2015 09:42 AM
Wireless HDMI Adapters bdickson Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 10-26-2014 10:12 AM
Intellitec remote start of generator, front A/C & rear A/C not working in bedroom rlmorrison Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 1 08-14-2014 05:04 AM
Turn Signal Problem - 1999 Am Dream TwelveVolt RV Systems & Appliances 6 05-10-2014 01:53 PM
HD signal on all TVs HeavyH2O Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 11-05-2013 06:36 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.