RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 07:51 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Casselberry, FL USA
Posts: 109
OK, Need some help. When pluged into the power at 2 campgrounds now both 50 amp & 30 amp. I have no power in the coach. Called Newmar and my dealer which I am 3 days away from. Both said it sounded like the transfer switch. I have good power going in but the relay does not engage. My dealer sent me a new transfer switch over night and I installed it, but still no power. Any help would be appreaciated. Thanks
__________________

__________________
2005 36RD Vectra
2006 Honda CRV
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-14-2006, 07:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Casselberry, FL USA
Posts: 109
OK, Need some help. When pluged into the power at 2 campgrounds now both 50 amp & 30 amp. I have no power in the coach. Called Newmar and my dealer which I am 3 days away from. Both said it sounded like the transfer switch. I have good power going in but the relay does not engage. My dealer sent me a new transfer switch over night and I installed it, but still no power. Any help would be appreaciated. Thanks
__________________

__________________
2005 36RD Vectra
2006 Honda CRV
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 09:20 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 214
Had a similar problem but was accompained by a clicking noise ( relay would not engage) and was to to open the cabnet above the passenger seat and the rocker switch that has <span class="ev_code_RED">use</span> on top and <span class="ev_code_RED">disconnet</span> on the bottom - to push it to disconnect and hold for a couple of seconds and then return to use. It fixed my problem
__________________
2002 Dutch Star 3587 DP

Pushed by a KITTY KAT
wallynm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 09:30 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,113
Do you have normal power from your Gen or do you have same problem?
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 09:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Casselberry, FL USA
Posts: 109
Power from the generator works correctly. That is what we are using now.
__________________
2005 36RD Vectra
2006 Honda CRV
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 10:50 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,113
When you read incoming voltage on your 50 amp power cord into transfer switch connecting lugs are you reading correct voltage? Should be lugs in upper right corner of switch.
Bottom lugs below that are Gen inputs, top left is load wires to braker box inside for appliances.
There are straps between top load lugs to bottom relay lugs on left hand side.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 12:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Casselberry, FL USA
Posts: 109
Yes We have the correct voltage coming inti the coach. Have even tried different sites at campground??? It has been a real puzzle
__________________
2005 36RD Vectra
2006 Honda CRV
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 03:50 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,113
OK if you read voltage at 50 amp cable input, on the other side of that voltage, which is your load to ckt brakers, you should read the same voltage. If not that voltage is not going thru your new transfer switch. On all center posts will be your neutral white wires, on ground buss your green wires and bare copper wires. Than line wires will be red to red and black to black thru top relay. My Gen wires were in #12 orange romex cables two blacks split between both line inputs ,whites together on center post and bare copper to ground buss.
If all wiring checks out when you plug in line cord you should hear relays click when power is put thru trans -sw unless you have a surge-protector than there will be a 2-min delay than you will hear click.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 05:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Casselberry, FL USA
Posts: 109
Did all that and everything checks OK except the R1 relay does not click in. Made an appointment at the factory for the 28th.
__________________
2005 36RD Vectra
2006 Honda CRV
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 05:31 PM   #10
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,113
Sounds like the ckt board along side the relays open lead or bum board. Good luck they will take care of it.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent electrical problem - no mirror power or camera power born2camp Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 07-14-2008 03:45 PM
No AC power from Generator or Shore power Dale777 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 12-20-2007 01:46 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 05:23 PM
No Power Mirror, radio, temp, power window, and Jacks. RVDriver Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 08-02-2005 10:20 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.