RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2019, 07:49 AM   #1
JMH
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 872
Oasis question

Checking to see if everyone with an oasis has this happen.

If you set the Air conditioners on (eg system is not in furnace mode) and you turn on a heat source for the oasis such as the burner to just get hot water, do all your oasis radiates heat up? Mine do on my new VTDP.

ITR says should not happen, Newmar says normal because heat travels convectively. Knowing at least something about thermodynamics, I question Newmarís answer.

I donít remember my 2016 VTDP doing this but my 2019 VTDP does.

If there is a fix please let me know.
__________________

JMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-23-2019, 08:10 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 28
Sounds like a Summer Loop issue. Do some searches for that term.

There is supposed to be a disconnect for the heat loop if the furnace is not turned on. Sounds like yours is still allowing it to circulate to the radiators.
__________________

__________________
2019 Dutchstar 4018
tim494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 08:24 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
RoamingNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMH View Post
Checking to see if everyone with an oasis has this happen.

If you set the Air conditioners on (eg system is not in furnace mode) and you turn on a heat source for the oasis such as the burner to just get hot water, do all your oasis radiates heat up? Mine do on my new VTDP.

ITR says should not happen, Newmar says normal because heat travels convectively. Knowing at least something about thermodynamics, I question Newmarís answer.

I donít remember my 2016 VTDP doing this but my 2019 VTDP does.

If there is a fix please let me know.


Toggle this switch
Attached Images
 
__________________
Dave & Lynn

2019 Newmar Dutch Star 3736
RoamingNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 01:28 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
I just had Bullseye RV repair here in Surprise AZ replace the summer pump and clean the burner nozzle and chamber. With the kit came a new fuel filter that was to replace the existing which we could not find. We did use the toggle switch when we needed hot water until the repair and shut the system down after use. Now on to the next problem.
__________________
Brad & Kathy_2016 Dutch Star 4041, 2019 Canyon Denali, Roadmaster and Air Force One.
'I guess retirement was for your Grandparents.'
Rt_snopud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 03:18 PM   #5
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rt_snopud View Post
I just had Bullseye RV repair here in Surprise AZ replace the summer pump and clean the burner nozzle and chamber. With the kit came a new fuel filter that was to replace the existing which we could not find. We did use the toggle switch when we needed hot water until the repair and shut the system down after use. Now on to the next problem.
If the fuel filter in question looks like a car oil filter, it should be located up next to the generator.
__________________
John & Deb
Full Time since 2016
2016 Dutch Star 4369
Webz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 12:42 PM   #6
JMH
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 872
Roamingny, checked the switch. It was the first thing ITR had me check. It is properly set (not in bypass). Same as my last coach that did not have this odd behavior. But thanks for the suggestion.

ITR says there is an isolation valve that supposed to keep fluid from flowing when the pump is off and suggested that might be bad.
__________________

JMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
oasis



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on oasis Beacher Newmar Owner's Forum 15 03-23-2014 04:57 PM
Oasis Water Heater Question jimfryar Newmar Owner's Forum 14 02-10-2014 06:26 PM
Oasis question The Okie Newmar Owner's Forum 9 01-07-2014 09:25 AM
Aqua-Hot/Oasis cost and retrofit question 275hooah RV Systems & Appliances 6 09-17-2013 08:29 PM
Oasis reservoir question? VACMAN Newmar Owner's Forum 1 05-20-2009 06:52 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×