Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2011, 03:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
ebprod's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 158
Outlet problem

We finally got the Kountry Aire we just bought to our home. All the outlets work when running the generator. When plugged into shore, the outlets near the ceiling for the TV's, and all the outlets from the bathroom back don't work. The appliances work as they should.

I've checked the fuses and breakers under the bed. What am I missing?

-Joe
__________________

__________________
Joe and Anita
2001 Damon Ultrasport
2010 Chevy Equinox
ebprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-16-2011, 04:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 799
I would first check the outlet to see if there is 110 volts on both legs. You could be missing one leg. If the power at the outlet is correct I would next check the Automatic Transfer Switch to see if one leg is being dropped across it.

Or your electric cord could be missing a leg due to a loose wire at the plug.
__________________

__________________
2005 Dutch Star 4015
Cummins ISL
2007 Honda CR-V
Norm4015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 06:25 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Iron Man's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,053
Check all you GFCI plugs, I seen some trip when you plug into shore power. There may be several plugs to check.
__________________
John, Pam, Nicholas, Aria
NKK 16073L
2007 Essex 4502
2015 GMC Seirra
Iron Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 06:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ebprod's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 158
I noticed that the outlet in the bathroom doesn't test properly. Would that affect the other outlets?

Also, I don't think the converter is charging the batteries either. What should the display read when I press "read volts"? Mine is at around 12. My converter is a Intelli-power 1960a.

-Joe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Man View Post
Check all you GFCI plugs, I seen some trip when you plug into shore power. There may be several plugs to check.
__________________
Joe and Anita
2001 Damon Ultrasport
2010 Chevy Equinox
ebprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 07:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 299
It almost sounds like it's your converter but if your outlets/converter are working on generator it should also be working on shore power. If you have a 50 amp coach and are on 15/30 amp service using adapters, use a volt meter to make sure you adapeters are carrying current properly. My experience with transfer switches tell me if you are getting power on some switches/appliances on shore power you should also be getting power on all appliances/switches.
harleyman134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ebprod's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 158
Problem solved. It was the power cord adapters. I bought new ones and now everything is working as it should. The volts now shows 13.5- that's correct?

Thanks everyone, this forum has been invaluable.

-Joe
__________________
Joe and Anita
2001 Damon Ultrasport
2010 Chevy Equinox
ebprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 09:19 AM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27,808
I was just going to post your dog bone adapter well you beat me, congrats on your new Newmar enjoy and we are here for any other questions.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hazard Flasher Problem Ms. Jean Thor Industries Owner's Forum 17 08-28-2014 04:54 PM
O4 Sunrise slide 120 outlet problem Dsouthw524 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 03-26-2011 10:35 AM
Cluster problem TXredfish Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 04-24-2009 06:00 PM
Fuel Contamination Problem CampingCaptain Cummins Engines 5 04-07-2009 02:46 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.