RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2007, 07:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Latitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gilford,Ontario
Posts: 1,050
Monitor still says 'Waiting for AC'

Works on Generator, and Inverter but not getting power from shore power,


What should I check????


Rick
__________________

__________________
'05 Kountry Star 3910 ISC 330 Cummins '08 Jeep Wrangler Four Door Blue Ox
Latitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-13-2007, 07:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Latitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gilford,Ontario
Posts: 1,050
Monitor still says 'Waiting for AC'

Works on Generator, and Inverter but not getting power from shore power,


What should I check????


Rick
__________________

__________________
'05 Kountry Star 3910 ISC 330 Cummins '08 Jeep Wrangler Four Door Blue Ox
Latitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 10:34 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,948
Rick if you know where your transfer switch is open the cover and check the terminal connections for shore power cable with meter and at the same time if your getting voltage check the screw connections that terminate the leads for shore power cable. Disconnect the power cable when working on screw connections for tightness. If that all checks out check contact points, points may have to be cleaned try running dollar bill thru points, of transfer relay for shore power cable. When working in transfer switch be careful and not short the ckt board within switch it holds a charge even with power cord disconnected.
If you get no power to trans-sw from power cord do you have a dog-bone, 30 to 50 amp, connector in power cord connection may be defective.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 03:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Latitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gilford,Ontario
Posts: 1,050
007 Thanks Good maintenance for sure, As to the 'Waiting for AC' It is now working and I believe the issue was the Surge Guard also detects low Voltage and I think that is what was happening.
It is plugged in at home but we do have some hydro flucuations as we are out in the country.

Rick
__________________
'05 Kountry Star 3910 ISC 330 Cummins '08 Jeep Wrangler Four Door Blue Ox
Latitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:09 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,948
Your surge-guard is doing its job checking out reconnected line after disconnect, takes about two minutes.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
ajbjrvers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Medford, near Boston, Ma.
Posts: 466
TO; Latitude.

As 007 said the surge guard was checking things before re-conneting.

The best investment you can make , but you have to have the patience to wait or you can use the by-pass feature if you have to.

Thanks == AIME
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/500/thumbs/Nor_easter_Flag1.jpg
ajbjrvers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Latitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gilford,Ontario
Posts: 1,050
This was a much longer time than the usual 'Check' about 90 mins!!! However!! I did not look at the readout on the monitor SO I am not positive of what was going on. But it is all good now and as I said I believe it was a period of low Voltage.

Rick
__________________

__________________
'05 Kountry Star 3910 ISC 330 Cummins '08 Jeep Wrangler Four Door Blue Ox
Latitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM
Will a 50 amp surge protector work with a 30 amp system CWIL 5th Wheel Discussion 5 08-21-2008 03:34 PM
30-amp dog-bone with 50-amp shore power jeeprubi RV Systems & Appliances 11 02-14-2008 04:10 AM
update-plugged into 50 amp, board reads 30 Motorhome05 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 09-23-2006 07:22 AM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 11:28 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×