Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-25-2019, 10:26 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Progressive Ind Smart Surge Protector 50-XL

Hi All! Newbie here again.

Since I have found my girl (2000 Newmar Dutch Star DP 3551, ISC 330 Cummins, Spartan MM, MH3000 Allison 6) I am trying to get her ready to take to Texas. I got her back from the Cummins Service Center yesterday, and today I'm trying to keep her alive. Right now it's -5, and in a few days it's supposed to be -10 in the day and around -30 at night. I've been just shutting her battery shutoff off, but today she wouldn't start, and neither would the generator (even though I drove home with 2 new AGM chassis batteries) I am trying to hook her up to the house to keep her batteries charged.

Since this is all new to me, I've been buying a lot of stuff. I have 15amp outlet in the garage. I have a 15amp 50' extension cord (10 gauge). I have 15 to 30, and 30 to 50 dogbones. And I have a Progressive Ind. SSP-50XL Smart Surge Protector.

That's all background.

Questions:
1) When I bought it I only looked for a 50am surge protector. I was looking at it just now, after I'd installed the cover for the female plug, and it says on the male plug "50A 125V/240V". Under the female plug it says 120/240V, 45 Amps, [3 other columns to research later], and IN (kA) 45. Did I get the wrong Surge Protector? Granted I'm confused, but I thought I understood that I don't want 125/240 and I did want 120V but not 240. What am I not understanding here?