Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-18-2017, 05:46 PM   #1

Cool Replacing Dometic Heatpump

I have a 2001 Dutch Star DP. I have read a couple of older threads that were very helpful, but I need a bit of reassurance before I embark on this path. First, I am a decent diy mechanic and handy man, but we just purchased our first rig this size a few weeks ago. So, I have skills, but need knowledge. This is a great place for that!

We currently have the original Dometic 59136.521 Heat Pumps that came with our unit 16 years ago and has been discontinued. The rear unit is blowing only warm air and went to that state quite suddenly 2 weeks ago. It was doing great up until that time. Did all the cleaning of coils, condenser, and vent filters to no avail. Voltage appears to check out fine as well. So, I am resigned to replacing it.

As I understand it, if I replace just the rear unit, I will need the Penguin 651816 model, a gasket kit, and an adapter board/kit to work with my older 5 button thermostat. My front unit would still work as usual. Am I missing anything?

Also, should I decide to go ahead and replace both units, would it be best to just upgrade the thermostat as well?
LewTippett is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!